Holiday Inn Employee Reviews

Found 609 reviews matching the search See all 14,459 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Average restaurant management not knowlegable
Banquet Captain / Senior Host (Former Employee) –  North Vancouver, BC16 January 2019
At typical day a t work is team work to enhance the guest experience guest satisfaction is the key to repeat customers and attention to service details
Pros
Not needed a free luch
Cons
Long hours are no concern use to it
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workplace was okay
Third Cook (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON7 January 2019
Working hours are long, Chef was really knowledgeable. People were helpful. Menu items pretty easy to make and all from fresh ingredients. It was a fun experience
Pros
Discount at hotel
Cons
Busy location
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Helper
Cook/Helper (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC4 January 2019
Working at Holiday Inn was good always very busy and we all had fun while working with everyone.
The food was free and drinks, once in a while the chef will make us a wonderful dinner.
Pros
Free food
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great job
Night Manager (Current Employee) –  Vancouver, BC3 January 2019
Great company, great management a wonderful experience had a lot of fun and learned a lot.

Always busy at this location. Selling rooms all night long.
Pros
learned a lot
Cons
hotel was built in 3 pieces, 3 different kinds of heating and a/c systems and 2 fire panels
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Often overworked
Housekeeper (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ON2 January 2019
If you are good at your job and you know what you are doing you will be taken advantage of, you will be expected to pick up where other workers cannot whether that means doing an extra room or 5. You will not be given whimis training or be trained by someone who is properly taught to do so. Your opinions and concerns will not be recognized as important or even recognized at all. Your health is their last concern so expect to have to fight for a day off even if it’s a family emergency or a serious illness. Supervisors and management are entirely inappropriate and immature with the way conflicts and other issues are dealt with in the workplace.
Pros
Free awful tasting coffee
Cons
Immature management, overworked employees, 0 concern for they’re workers health
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast-paced position
Laundry Attendant (Former Employee) –  Nisku, AB1 January 2019
I appreciated my job ,I felt I worked to the best of my abilities, I liked the steadiness of the work and some of my coworkers were nice others were negative and gossipy so I tried to avoid them. the business was getting quite hectic, having more work then one person could handle for the pay that was offered.
Pros
the superviser was nice
Cons
gossipy people and being overworked
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Management, Inviting Exhibitor and Media Partner (Former Employee) –  Bali, Indonesia24 December 2018
many unexpected overtime, fun management culture and benefits for families visiting hotel. overall have a fantastic employee retention and recommended to work here
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Toxic
Guest Service Agent (Former Employee) –  North Bay, ON13 December 2018
This is a toxic environment to work in. The management only cares about themselves though they put on a good show. Be prepared to do the job of 3 people for the wage of 1.
Pros
None
Cons
Unappreciative management.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Stressful Place.
Sales Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB12 December 2018
Management is worst.
Worst customer service.
Poor place.
I won't recognize this old hotel with any person.
Poor and dirty rooms.
Prices for the rooms are high compare to the quality.
Not customer oriented hotel.
Pros
International discount on any Holiday Inn hotels
Cons
low salary and over work
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High expectations for a low quality Hotel, teribble managment, Very poors hours.
Housekeeper (Former Employee) –  Woodstock, ON10 December 2018
Although the housekeepers are very nice. Theyre little too nice and be careful. The job culture here is disorganized, unprofessional, and they just want there work done. Being a new housekeeper of course I'm gonna obey the rules and do the extra work they ALWAYS asked me to do. But it got ridiculous when I noticed I was only one barely getting help and or always having to stay longer to help other girls. I'm not sure if all holiday inn hotels do this but it so unfair when your trying to stand out be the best cleaner this and that and then you get told that you don't get tips until 3 months ? And that all tips are split "equal"? Yeaa right the managers/supervisor probably take half of your tips. They seem like very suspicious people. Athough the hotel is nice looking maybe because it just got redone but take a closer look around.. the managers have there kids run around at the hotels on the weekends all the time.. always hear them yelling being a noise disturbance to the guest trying to enjoy their vacation or maybe trying to get their work done because of their for business..
Pros
Decent coworkers
Cons
Short days, VERY controlling with your unpaid time.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report

Want to know more about Holiday Inn?

Ask a question
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work place
Guest Services Manager (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON9 December 2018
Good company to work for.
Hardworking team
Opportunities to learn
Fun team building tasks
Learnt a bit of revenue management
Good training opportunities
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
co workers and other staff always helped when done there shift
Housekeeping (Former Employee) –  Dieppe, NB4 December 2018
cleaning rooms such as bathrooms hallways, making beds was the hardest but i got the hang of it ,

i learned how to make friends , everyone was so friendly i also learned that u have a certain time to finish a room

Management was good .

hardest part of the job was knocking on the doors some guest dont like when u wake them up i had a few experinces with that
Pros
friendly people, friendly guest, hours were good, in all a good workplace
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Environnement de travail agréable
Entretien Ménager (Current Employee) –  Montréal, QC27 November 2018
Excellent équipe d'entretien ménager
Travail de 8:30 - 17h
30 min de repas non payée
30 min de pause payée mais on n'a pas le temps de les prendre
Les superviseurs sont gentis
14 chambres a faire par jour. Des fois difficile de faire les 14 chambres a temps
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was a good exprience
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON27 November 2018
it was a fantastic experience to work with such a great work environment and learn so many things all together from one place . Great benefit to learn from them
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great opportunity to sharpen your people and customer service skills
Front Desk Cashier/Telephone Operator (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC21 November 2018
Manage all aspects of guest accommodation
Upsell additional facilities and services, when appropriate

Ive learnt how to:
manage reservations
process payments
accommodate clients to my best abilities
upsell services and upgrades when available.
Pros
stable schedule, free gym membership for employees
Cons
Business closed
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent place to begin with
Auditeur de nuit (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC20 November 2018
- good place to learn
- usually quite flexible
- multicultural environment
- opens up door to better future jobs
- traveling possibilities
- `` cult `` culture
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is a good building block
Room Attendant (Current Employee) –  Kitchener, ON18 November 2018
I met new people of different cultures. On a regular day rooms need to be cleaned and beds need to be made, every now and then guests ask me questions to where find places nearby. I believe my experience was appreciated when hired.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do not go here Bad new assuming “Chef” I meant unprofessional guy.
Cook (Former Employee) –  Britannia and huriontario11 November 2018
He got fired from hotel. He will trash talk and laugh if you make mistakes. Very unprofessional. Talks bad about you from behind. Apply somewhere else not britannia and huriontario holiday inn.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work environment
Breakfast-Bar Attendant (Former Employee) –  Kamloops, BC6 November 2018
Workplace culture is receptive, I have learned excellent customer service and handle every type of guest patiently. The workplace environment is very friendly and courteous.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast- paced restaurant
Server (Former Employee) –  Yorkdale, ON30 October 2018
Very fast paced restaurant, especially during breakfast hours. Managers expect a lot from workers. Guest are very demanding. Work culture is great, many of your coworkers are easy to get along with and the company cares about its employees.
Pros
oppertunity to move around to other positions
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Holiday Inn. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 14,459 reviews
55.1K
44.2K
33.1K
21K
11K

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
3.1Salary/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.6Culture