Holiday Inn Express Employee Reviews

Found 18 reviews matching the search See all 661 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work environment
Breakfast-Bar Attendant (Former Employee) –  Kamloops, BC6 November 2018
Workplace culture is receptive, I have learned excellent customer service and handle every type of guest patiently. The workplace environment is very friendly and courteous.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Both fun and busy. You get the hours.
Housekeeping (Former Employee) –  Thunder Bay, ON29 September 2018
Experience was great. They’ll make you feel welcomed once you join their team. You get the hours which start at 8:30 until 4:30.. sometimes overtime if needed.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High Expectations, Not Adequately Compensated
Front Desk Agent (Former Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK18 September 2018
High turn-over rate meant that in less than a year I was the most "senior" person in my role. This meant I was responsible for training new hires, dealing with security concerns (such as kicking out junkies and perverts), handling equipment issues, diffusing contentious situations ... all while getting paid less than what new hires were getting paid. I had my manager resign and instead of promoting from within, management hired someone with no previous experience who relied heavily on me to learn her job. All the while, the few perks we had were gradually taken away over months until we were no longer allowed to even speak to one another unless it was directly concerning a guest. No chit chat at all, even if the place was empty, and you were being watched on camera to ensure compliance. This meant that on slow shifts you were expected to stand in place, totally silent, doing nothing for upwards of 7 hours a day.
Pros
not being homeless
Cons
everything else
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great product in a competing market
Front Desk Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Nisku, AB4 August 2018
The number of airport hotels have expanded in Edmonton, and this hotel was great to work with at the time, however many changes have taken place, and I can't speak to what is currently happening there
Pros
Regular performance reviews
Cons
Wages could be better
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst General Manager in Edmonton and area
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB26 July 2018
The General Manager is a bully who really should be brought up on charges. Micromanaging from every angle. Daily 2 hour meetings. Worst experience, avoid at all costs.
Pros
Zero
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard working time
Housekeeping (Former Employee) –  318 Wale Rd, Colwood, BC V9B 0JB12 April 2018
I am working at Holiday Inn as housekeeping, I was interested in how people working in the hotel. Housekeeping is a really hard job and I need to control my emotion when I cleaning a very messy room. Balance the emotion and keep positive is a hard work I did lots practice on that. But I did learn some from there, I get a deeper understanding of how hotel system work, that uses for me.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hampton Inn Express Centreville
Director of Sales & Marketing (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC23 February 2018
Great stepping stone.
nice product

was enjoyable to interact daily with clients but that is it

Management was good but the leader was very condescending
Pros
free parking
Cons
gm was a snake
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Night Auditor, Front Desk (Current Employee) –  Surrey, BC3 February 2018
day work good
team work
management good
workplace good
drunk customers
help customers in difficult situations.
hard work more flexible work
hardworking
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's ok
Night Auditor (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB25 December 2017
I enjoy working for the Holiday Inn Express and Suites Edmonton North, but there are some things that make this experience a not so great place. They need to hire more people to attend guest's needs and also for safety reasons. The team is great; I just wished they had more diversity in it.

I enjoy my position a lot, but if I had to say something about work/life balance, there isn't any
Pros
great team
Cons
not enough of a diverse team, worry for safety at times
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment
Front Desk Agent (Current Employee) –  Pembroke, ON21 May 2017
It's great to interact with guests and provide a nice stay for those coming to the area. The rewards program is offered to the staff as well and the employee pricing for IHG hotels is fantastic.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Normal place to work
Agent / Night Auditor (Former Employee) –  Marina, CA19 May 2017
The hotel has a good amount of activity, regular schedules, and the pay is competitive. Management was very professional but it changed too many times during a small period of time
Pros
Great location, and pay
Cons
Management changed too many times during my time there
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast pace environment
House-man (Former Employee) –  Kelowna, BC10 May 2017
*limited time you need to complete your dirty room list
*learned how to make a bed in a complex fancy way
*management has no appreciation but the supervisors do
*housekeepers don't get along
*on call most of the time
*fast pace job
Pros
mainly independent work, sometimes keep food from checked out rooms
Cons
understaff, on call most of the time, no appreciation from management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workplace Culture
Front Desk Agent/Night Auditor (Current Employee) –  Drayton Valley, AB28 January 2017
I Enjoyed working with this company and great peoples to work with great environment .
I have learnt lots of management skills
I have enjoyed learning lots of new things
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learned a Good Experience
House Keeping and Breakfast Attendant (Former Employee) –  Regina, SK13 June 2016
Fun Work Atmosphere And Good Staff ,learned a lot and as a Brand Name worth working here.Having a convenient shift there,was busy Hotel,so sometimes worked in a whole busy Rooms Schedules.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
environnement agréable
Valet, agent de sécurité et équipier (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC22 August 2013
J'ai adoré mon expérience de travail chez Holyday Inn Express.
Autant que l'employeur et les employés sont bien ensemble.
Les avis que j'ai émis avant sont applicables ici aussi.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A perfect Corporate hotel with full Complimentary and Delicious Breakfast
Hotel Manager (Current Employee) –  Montréal, QC6 October 2012
● Extremely Busy all the time
● We Satisfy the Clients First at any time
● My management means Efficient, Sincere, Supportive and Team Playing
● My Co-workers are always smiling and always ready to give an extra mile
● We all are Multi-tasking - Like Handling Three Telephones and serving a Queue of Guests all at the Same time
● Multi-tasking is something that could be hard for some people
● The most enjoyable part of the job is when there are Great Guest Compliments that turns everyone very Happy and Gives the feeling of how sincerely We Love our Job
Pros
free breakfast for sure
Cons
can not help but have to work longer
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very busy and fun place with employee of the season, shining star,wonderful b-bqs and staff christmas partys and gifts
housekeeping trainer (Current Employee) –  Kelowna, BC5 October 2012
- typical day start at 8:30 usually have a list of 15 or 16 rooms to clean some times up 22 rooms in an 8 hour day,
-team work is very important, we all work together as a team
-to slow my self down when I'm training new housekeepers
- When i go to room check one of my newly trained co- worker's room and they have completed the job wonderfully
Pros
insentive programs
Cons
long hours (9-10 hrs), short staffed
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

See more Holiday Inn Express reviews

You may want to try:

Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Holiday Inn Express. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 661 reviews
5226
4185
3132
249
169

Ratings by category

3.5Work/Life Balance
3.0Salary/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.5Culture