HOK Employee Reviews

Found 12 reviews matching the search See all 49 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company do not care for its employees
Design Professional (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON26 August 2018
Pros

Some of the PMs are nice
Monthly team meetings that involve drinks and food
Very easy to use software
Good Christmas parties
Working from home is allowed and flexible work hours


Cons

There is a high turnover of staff as Management do not put any effort in retaining its staff as they consider everybody replaceable
Management considers every staff member just a number and if numbers are not met than they lay of their staffs
Some of the PMs are bullies and rude where company is aware of it but do nothing about it
Workflow needs lots of improvement as management are reluctant to change
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
Project Accountant (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON17 January 2018
busy but fun environment.
learned advanced skills on excel
Had Associate status advancements which was motivating
hefty tuition fund
hardest part was staying on track with tedius and long processes that were not necesaary
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Une école pour les chercheurs d'expérience
Technologue en Architecture (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON7 December 2016
L'endroit, les gens, le lieu et surtout la tâche font de soi une élite dans le monde de l'architecture. Les individus sont chevronnés et les défis gratifiants...que dire de la classe?
Chapeau!!!
Pros
Les Think tank
Cons
Tout va vite
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Remarkably interactive, connected group of team players
Associate, Senior Technical Consultant (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON4 July 2015
Throughout my tenure with HOK I was afforded ample opportunity to grow and learn in a collegial environment that was supportive and allowed honest and earnest contributions from all team players
Pros
Communication and interaction
Cons
Contract work
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Management
Project Coordinator and Marketing Assistant (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON3 December 2014
My boss was also my mentor. He helped develop my client relationship management skills. Worked on RFP's to gain new clients.
Pros
Flexible hours
Cons
Coworkers
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 4Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and positive working environment.
INTERMEDIATE DESIGNER (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON29 June 2014
A typical day at work includes following up and coordinating with consultants, project managers and contractors to prioritize tasks.

I have learned excellent time management skills, how to anticipate the project needs and to immediately raise any problems to senior team leads for quick reaction and resolution. I have also learned great oral and written communication skills used for managing project and client expectations and maintaing professional relationships.

My coworkers are all very hard working and highly skilled in their positions. They are also very patient and helpful to other team members questions and concerns.

The hardest part of my job is dealing with difficult or stubborn project managers and contractors.

The most enjoyable part of my day is visiting project sites and socializing with consultants, project managers and contractors.
Pros
Positive and helpful team members
Cons
Long Hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good platform to start my career
Document Controller (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON4 June 2014
HOK is the best one to satisfy all those things I want to do. I have opportunity to learn new PIM software and take part in large projects.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Creative environment
Accounts Payable Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Toronto19 February 2014
Enjoyed working with a solid core team
Enjoyed exposure to world class project both locally and internationally
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 4Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Calm Workplace
Architectural Designer (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON17 July 2013
A calm and productive place to work on interesting projects.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 8Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Calm Workplace
Architectural Designer (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON21 June 2013
I was at HOK on a temporary contract, and it was a great experience.
Everything is set for you, to start a good day at job. The calm and friendly workplace helps everybody to be more productive.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 7Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and a close knit group of people
Office Manager / Associate (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON24 February 2013
Very challenging and rewarding position.
Interaction with a lot of departments which I thoroughly enjoyed.
Great team to work with
Pros
great office space
Cons
drive to work was very stressful due to traffic
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 8Report

See more HOK reviews

You may want to try:

Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at HOK. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 49 reviews
514
418
37
28
12

Ratings by category

3.4Work/Life Balance
3.3Salary/Benefits
2.8Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.6Culture

HOK Reviews by Location