Hilton Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
positive workplace
Jarvis & Dundas - Server (Former Employee) –  downtown toronto26 May 2018
The Hilton is amazing workplace. professionalism is key to working there. I gained work skills and even life skills that I can use day to day. positive workplace.
Pros
Coworkers
Cons
early morning prep
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productif
Customer and Housekeeper (Former Employee) –  Gatineau, QC24 May 2018
Rythme soutenu, environnement chaleureux au travail
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work.
Room Attendant (Former Employee) –  Niagara, ON21 May 2018
Everything is good except the work load difference between Day room attendants and night room attendants. Day people work 1000 times more than night people.
Pros
Good salary.
Cons
Work load.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management
General Labourer (Former Employee) –  Niagara Falls, ON10 May 2018
I was let go "because I wasn't a good fit" by the main boss, yet all of my supervisors and peers were extremely happy with my work ethic. I was requested by other departments because of my eagerness to learn, work ethic and quick learning. Pay wasn't great for working hard labor; the hours and people I worked with made that bearable.
Pros
Free Lunches
Cons
Management is poor
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
horrible managment
Hostess (Former Employee) –  Niagara Falls, ON9 May 2018
I worked at Grande Cafe at the Hilton in Niagara Falls and it was a nightmare.
The managers hide the entire morning and get upset when you need help.
There is no communication whatsoever and the managers feed off of making your life there miserable.
If you have any sanity that you plan on keeping, DO NOT work here.
Pros
non at all
Cons
horrible management, basically have to hike a mile to find a manager when something goes wrong, no support from management at all, ever.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
World's Big Chain
Housekeeper (Former Employee) –  London6 May 2018
I was amazed by the level of professionalism and care when I started at Hilton in London UK.
The company has a great housekeeping and maintenance standards which we have to work efficiently to achieve.
Pros
Company Standards
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Salaire
Peintre en bâtiment (Former Employee) –  Québec City, QC4 May 2018
Ils demandent 5 ans d’expérience (tireur de joints, tapissier, peintre, plus différents travaux de maintenance/menuiserie) @24$/heure

Et Détenir un certificat de qualification de peintre (compagnon)

Le salaire de peintre compagnon est 35$

Non Merci.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A professional operation to start a first job
Room Attendant (Former Employee) –  Niagara Falls, ON3 May 2018
I learn a lot of industry standard here, understanding the working environment at the heart of the hotel including all the hardship following on the daily basis.
Pros
Diversity working environment
Cons
Lack of management
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice setting and friendly staff, and guests.
Server (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON2 May 2018
I worked at the Hilton Garden Inn Ottawa Airport, and I found the atmosphere of the restaurant to be decent and the pay was good (the hotel is unionized). I enjoyed the company of my coworkers though the same could not be said for the restaurant management. Working in a restaurant can be stressful and fast paced at times. Management at the restaurant was horrendous to say the least. They were quite disorganized, and there was little communication between breakfast, and evening management. Additionally they lacked the ability to schedule servers on days they should of known would be busier. Handling guest complaints was done improperly as well. If a guest had a problem with service speed for instance they would point fingers at employees instead of looking at the schedule and seeing that they were understaffing on the exact same nights that guests were sending in complaints. I could go on but I will stop there.
Pros
Good benefits/unionized property
Cons
Managment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Short shifts
Breakfast server (Former Employee) –  Niagara Falls, ON28 April 2018
Short shifts.3 hours.expect call offs durine the week when you are scheduled....not much tips.lots of sidework to do.....clean and organized.only perk is cheap hotel rooms.zero recognition for being a good employee....but any customer complaint expect write ups.
Pros
Cheaper room for travel
Cons
Short shufts/min wage.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport

Want to know more about Hilton?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great environment to work in
Cook/Baker (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON15 April 2018
preparing menu items in a timely manner
learning how to prepare large banquet style meals
embracing cultures of employees and guests
maintaining high quality standards even in high volume times
sharing recipes and information amongst other chefs
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Zeer aangenaam werk
Valet (Former Employee) –  British Columbia12 April 2018
Heel aangename job met fantastische collega's.
Ik verwelkomde de gasten en parkeerde hun auto's, hielp met hun bagage en met elke vraag die ze hadden. af ent toe is helpen in de bar of keuken.

Mensen kunnen moeilijk zijn soms maar voor die 1ne "slechte" persoon zijn er 10 goede.
Pros
koekjes, tips, nieuwe vrienden
Cons
koekjes, soms lang wachten
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst place I have ever worked
Housekeeping (Former Employee) –  Nisku, AB4 April 2018
I would never recommend anyone to ever work there. You are forced to work for free and don’t get paid what your supposed to. And you are treated like complete garbage and the manager of housekeeping is verbally abusive
Pros
Non
Cons
The manager of housekeeping
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast and efficient, learned different positions
Dishwasher (Former Employee) –  Niagara Falls, ON2 April 2018
I've learned to move at a fast past as well as make sure the job get completed to its full potential. I've had to work with numerous amounts of co workers to ensure the task is completed.
Pros
Free Lunches
Cons
Long shifts
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
staffs are helpful
Waitress/Hostess (Current Employee) –  Canada28 March 2018
Working hour is not as per standard...staff are suffering with uniform.....Otherwise working environment is very good and the coordination is good with all different department.
Pros
dropping at night
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales Agent
Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Windsor, ON19 March 2018
Hilton is a leader in hotel accommodation sales in Windsor, Ontario, Canada. It was an honor to have been employed there as a Sales Agent. Excellent company!
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interactive workplace
Vérificateur de Nuit - Night Auditor (Former Employee) –  Gatineau, QC12 March 2018
The employees and the atmosphere between everyone is spectacular. You get to feel comfortable in that environment. Sometimes, work is not being handed out adequately and lacks a form of teamwork. Overall an amazing student job and a good career opportunity.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad co workers
Was GSA but more of a house kepper. (Former Employee) –  Edmonton8 March 2018
Not a good work environment at all. Over worked and very under paied.

The management didn't seem to care about the staff Only his opening bonus and so called manager retreats.
Pros
Nothing unless you pass probationary.
Cons
Long hours and no front end supervisor.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Self Disciplined Work Environment
Trainer/Housekeeping (Former Employee) –  Saint John, NB20 February 2018
I worked in housekeeping as a room attendant at first and then in a training position. The day was very structured but workers were responsible for completing their tasks individually. It was a different environment for me but I enjoyed it because I could see the fruits of my labours daily. Management was very professional. There was a high turnover in this position as it's physically strenuous and demands discipline. I learned how to manage my time effectively and it was the first position where I was given the chance to train and mentor coworkers.
Pros
Ability to work on one's own
Cons
Physically demanding
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The hotel is not sold by another Holding group
FOOD & BEVERAGE MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Niagara-on-the-Lake, ON15 February 2018
140 room brand name hotel in a beautiful town of niagara on the lake.
very nice people to work with and supportive management and executives.
unfortunately it is now sold to a different brand
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Hilton. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 9,280 reviews
54K
42.8K
31.6K
2455
1431

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
3.6Salary/Benefits
3.6Job Security/Advancement
3.6Management
3.9Culture