Hilton Garden Inn Hotel Employee Reviews

Found 46 reviews matching the search See all 1,348 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Keep your options open
House Person (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON7 December 2018
At the time of employment,not much opportunity for advancement, next to none. Wage increase was abysmal with a lackluster, border line useless, union. Hard to communicate with management and get either clear or timely responses.
Pros
Employees create a welcoming and friendly environment
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Sous Chef/Kitchen Managerf (Former Employee) –  Banff, AB5 December 2018
I had an absolute blast working at this hotel the people were fantastic and the staff were some of the best I've ever worked with in the hotel industry
Pros
Free swimming
Cons
On your feet for long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive work environment
SERVER (Current Employee) –  Ajax, ON20 November 2018
very easy place to work at the staff there are very friendly and management is amazing. highly reccomend this place if ever applying here. very easy job
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
flexible scheduling but bad management.
kitchen (Former Employee) –  Ontario8 November 2018
management don't care, they are just there to collect the pay check.
employees don't care about serving the guests mouldy food
full time, no, wait 3 months to get slapped in the face.
thanks but no thanks
a tip for hard workers, don't work hard if your the only person who wants too, no incentives or rewards or even yearly raises or increases. i could keep going on.....
Pros
free mouldy food
Cons
blow me Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Chaotic and mismanaged
Server/Bartender (Former Employee) –  Ajax, ON1 November 2018
Working as a server/bartender for the hotel restaurant, this was the most unorganized position I have been in. Not being given sections causes a full on free-for-all for tables. Guests can get quite annoyed when three different servers have asked them if they would like coffee in the last 5 minutes. There is often a lack of communication between servers and guests are often rushed out after they have finished. Only good thing about this position is the base pay is higher than average, tips aren't bad.
Pros
Higher base pay
Cons
Bad communication
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Trying times at Hilton Garden Inn
Night Manager (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON21 October 2018
The location of the hotel in the entertainment district makes this position as night manager challenging.
On many weekends we would have to supervise intoxicated patron that were staying in and around the premise. We would be responsible for their health and safety.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
Night Manager (Current Employee) –  Oakville, ON5 September 2018
Excellent place to work great team enjoyed each and every moment I am still working as soon=n as I get a job I will give my 2 weeks proper notice because I like to move to warmer place I have a house in winter haven fl and green card to work and live in u,s,a
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
stay away
Night Auditor (Former Employee) –  Enfield, NS1 August 2018
joke is on you for even going. no pay advancements ever. low pay , bad hours, rude older ladies with bad attitudes, ready to throw you under all buses coming
Pros
i saw how bad it can be
Cons
everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and well managed
Full Time Student (Former Employee) –  Cambridge, ON25 July 2018
well managed business and well taken care of customers.
educated employees and well disciplined.the most fun part of work is in the cooking section and find new variety of delicious dishes.good atmosphere for everyone.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very happy
Business Travel Sales Manager (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON24 July 2018
Overall a good company gave me a great start in a new country and city. Good have a great benefit package though not bad it is not great. A happy number of years spent here
Pros
Great team, advancemnt opertunites
Cons
No lunch, lower salries
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly working environment
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Halifax, NS20 July 2018
Wonderful place to work. The guests were friendly and the supervisors were fantastic. unfortunately, there is a very fast turn over in this business as the rate of pay is minimal.
Pros
Friendly Work Place
Cons
Low rate of pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
house keeper
Housekeeper / House person / Laundry / Dishwasher (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON16 July 2018
housekeeping- would get a paper with a list of 16 rooms in the morning wish would be about half with people in and half without we would have to clean them al ost the same . the ones without clean staying in them would have to change the sheets. the ones with o ly have to changes the sheets every third day of there stay. but both would have to clean the bathroom take out the garabge and dust also put in new towels and soaps.
i alos did landry over xmas to get ore hours and helped out in the kicken as a diswasher.
Cons
season gets slow over xmas
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An okay place to start
Summer Intern - full time (Former Employee) –  on property13 July 2018
I enjoyed being able to learn about most of the departments through my agreement with the GM. But when anybody screws up, many must compensate. I liked food and beverage an front desk most.
Pros
good front office culture, everyone was friendly to me
Cons
some scheduling hiccups, some big changes not commnicated to employees by management, issues with housekeepers having to pick up others' slack
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
stay away from this company in calgary
Housekeeper (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB30 June 2018
if your desperate take the job, but if your looking to advance your career stay away far far away. no care for there staff new union in this property!
Pros
none
Cons
everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good management
Maintenance person (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON21 June 2018
Great management. Fun place to work . Friendly . But pay is a bit low. Clean place. Enjoy working . Friendly environment. Just got renovated. Looking good.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Hotel to work in Burlington
Night Auditor-Front Desk Agent (Current Employee) –  Burlington, ON15 June 2018
If you are looking for a career with Hilton, this hotel is a good start
Management is great and there is a family feeling'...a lot going on after work to socialize and get to know all staff
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Buen ambiente
Encargado de restaurante (Former Employee) –  Montrea canada24 April 2018
Hotel internacional buen estado y excelente trabajo
Pros
Formacion
Cons
No estabilidad
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great customers and employees
Head Bartender (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON14 April 2018
I've been with the Hilton for almost a decade. I've worked with and served plenty of amazing individuals. What I love most is the bond created with long term guests.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
moderately enjoyable if you want benefits, otherwise mostly unenjoyable
Associate (Former Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK2 March 2018
a Typical day at work is basically just attending to guest needs, answering questions they might have, and making sure that every guest who walks through the door eventually leaves happier then when they arrived, however, it is said that the hotel staff as well as the guests are to be treated like family. The guests are, and the staff is not... if the staff was treated like family then it would be a family the appears functional on the outside and anything but on the inside.
Pros
a few free hotel stays, discounted rooms, decent benefits
Cons
unstable work hours, irritable and picky managers
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place with swimming pool and gym
First Cook (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON8 January 2018
fun place to work and cooks can create his/her own special for the day and local ingredients are grown in house like squash, cucumber, romaine lettuce, eggplant, bell pepper and also they make their own maple syrup. and own honey.
Pros
lunches
Cons
Na
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Hilton Garden Inn Hotel. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 1,349 reviews
5521
4368
3260
291
1109

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
3.3Salary/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.5Management
3.6Culture