Highland Packers Employee Reviews

Showing all 19 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful
Meat Cutter/Butcher/ deli counter server (Former Employee) –  Stoney Creek, ON20 April 2019
There are not enough words to convey just how oppressive/threatening and border- line mafia style operated this working environment was.
The head butcher would walk around and literally corner and threaten the" weak".
people were verbally threatened and abused daily, while the owner walked around with a dumb grin looking oblivious to it all.
Pros
non
Cons
all
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management, poor hours, great co workers
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Stoney Creek, ON18 October 2018
The place itself has terrible management, terrible HR, and terrible owners. My coworkers were always great, time off is impossible. Shifts were long and you were penalized for phoning in sick.
Pros
Good coworkers
Cons
Long hours, poor owner/management/HR
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
friendly co workers
Cashier-Customer Service-Organizing Paperwork (Current Employee) –  hamilton ontario18 September 2018
i like the work and i like what i do the only reason i am writing this is because indeed is makining me in ordef to move forward with up loading my resume.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stay away bad business!
Meat Server (Former Employee) –  sdsd24 August 2018
This business wrongfully terminated me from the company and management does not care about anyone working there! stay away! The HR person only cares about the company!
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A nice place to work, just not very organzied
Deli Clerk (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON19 June 2018
everything was great besides the management and supervisors. environment was great co-workers as well. not a place I would like to stay for a few years though.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very bad place to work.
Plant Worker (Current Employee) –  Stoney Creek, ON31 May 2018
This is the bad place to work. very low pay and tough work. The company is full of family members. The owner's daughter thinks she is better than anybody else, repeatedly called workers stupid. If you want to find a respectful place with reasonable pay, this company is not for you.
Pros
Nothing
Cons
Long hours, low pay and too many family members
Was this review helpful?Yes 15No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Aweful place to work
Shipper/Receiver (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON30 May 2018
This company is the absolute worst! Stay away! The pay sucks and the management is worse. The owner only cares about what goes into his pocket and the "hr" person only protects the owner. Rude and disrespectful. Also you can't take time off.
Pros
Nothing
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 16NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always busy
Labourer, Cooler Organizer (Current Employee) –  Stoney Creek, ON19 April 2018
Organization skills are a key part of this job where I had to stage all product in order by date. The management was always there when you needed them but the hardest part was trying to find help with certain jobs.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
All round lousy place to work. Greedy selfish owner.
Packer (Current Employee) –  Hamilton, ON4 April 2018
Many people start working here and just as quick many people
quit working here as well. Refuses to give a compliant or any type of
praise for work production well done.
Getting fired is very easy and communication is very difficult with management.
This place is not recommended for a decent place to work.or decent wages to provide a living for hard work.
Pros
steady work year round
Cons
poor communication with workers
Was this review helpful?Yes 14NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not enjoyable
Counter Sales (Former Employee) –  Stoney Creek, ON4 April 2018
My review states that this position was not for me. plus you want 5150 characters. So I do not want to add anything to my review however, I would like to get through this process.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly colleagues and manager
Office clerk (Former Employee) –  Stoney Creek, ON24 February 2018
Manager provided clear instructions and was always willing to guide new employees. He managed his business very well and is a strong leader. I learned exceptional excel skills at this job, and how to use a cash register.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 13Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
management sucks
Delivery Driver (Current Employee) –  Stoney Creek, ON6 January 2018
Very ignorant and arrogant. The owner and his daughter think they are better than everyone else. Repeatedly called employees stupid or dumb. HR only looks out for the boss and doesn't help the employees
Was this review helpful?Yes 33No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management is very poor
Produce Associate (Former Employee) –  Stoney Creek, ON21 August 2017
You have to bring up health and safety legislation to keep a botte of water on the floor don't get sick or they don't want you back management is not approachable and Human Resources couldn't care less if you ever need a job this is not the place to work but there food is awesome
Pros
Good meat and awesome food
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 24No 2Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
tough place to work
Bakery Associate /Deli Associate (Current Employee) –  Stoney Creek, ON13 June 2017
You don't get a lot of options on hours. Its difficult to get a Saturday or get off early when your sick. Management is tough and no very accommodating towards their employees.
Pros
Staff discounts
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 18NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/a
Production Worker (Current Employee) –  Hamilton, ON3 February 2017
highland packers is a very fun and awesome place to work everyone that works there is happy and very succesful i would gladly recommend it to anyone!!
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 43Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
we were working in teams and it was good
Produce Associate (Current Employee) –  Hamilton, ON9 November 2016
Had just over 35 yrs before I retired. We were working as a team and will all help each other out all the time. Worked as one.
Pros
Teams
Cons
night shift and to many hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 17Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very productive workplace
Meat Packer (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON11 October 2016
extremely productive workplace there was never nothing to do and very hard work lots of heavy lifting and very demanding position
Pros
free lunches
Cons
the smell
Was this review helpful?Yes 20No 8Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing Place of Work
Meat Cutter (Former Employee) –  Stoney Creek, ON23 August 2016
Within the short period of time I worked there I got a raise and was able to easily move up in ranks. Management was amazing and the hours were absolutely fantastic.
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 27Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Highland Packers. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

2.7
Based on 19 reviews
54
42
34
22
17

Ratings by category

2.5Work/Life Balance
2.7Salary/Benefits
2.6Job Security/Advancement
2.2Management
2.6Culture

Highland Packers Reviews by Location