Herc Rentals Employee Reviews

Found 37 reviews matching the search See all 272 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Herc Rentals-Canada-a company focussed on being the Employer of Choice
Sales and Ops Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON8 March 2019
The benefits are very good, the company covers 100% of the benefit premiums, so I don't have to pay anything for me and my family. There is also a health care spending account on top which I can use.

I am also very happy to have a good pension plan to focus on my retirement, with a company match, something many companies don't offer anymore.

My Manager is great, recognizes me and my co-workers for doing a good job and is interested in my career growth.

Great company to work for.
Pros
Management, benefits, pension, tuition reimbursement, great vacation policy
Cons
can't think of any
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My worst employment situation ever !
Regional Product Safety Trainer (Former Employee) –  Atlantic Canada28 February 2019
Not Reccomend!

I was there for almost three years this was my worst employment situation ever !

Poor branch management experience levels. The staff is suffering under the BM's need to control and micromanage

Questionable integrity and misappropriation of position and company assets

Corporate levels leadership was not engaged snd was not capable in supporting me in my position

long term employees leaving 4 person at branch office with 10+ years with the company have quit in the last year.
Pros
Never had a payroll issue.
Cons
Constant state of change & instability... branch closings and layoffs
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard but fun place
Worker (Former Employee) –  BC23 February 2019
It really depends on an individual- you will get rewarded if you work hard and stay away from politics. Just do your job and have fun at the same time. Really good benefits and growing company.
Pros
Growing company
Cons
keep seeing negatives from long term employees
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stay away this company is not stable
Admin Officer (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB16 January 2019
Unstable company that has changed names and at risk for going under. Other USA Companies are coming in providing better service. Management is who you know and if your their friend. Low moral and not much for staff appreciation at all.
I WATCHED them call cabs and send 50+ staff home during two rounds of lay offs.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced Environment
Sales & Operations Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB6 January 2019
Herc Rentals has a good career path for anyone how is interested in working with heavy equipment. They will show you how to build rental agreements intended for Herc Standards. This job is hands on, and requires a lot of organization for planning deliveries and returns. We use Rentalman that allows our team to structure our days. Completing reports is a constant daily practice with team building. Depending on the season it's an extremely busy environment. The hardest part would be situations when someone is directed to do a task. Then if the information provided has been incorrect and you do not have proof. Colleagues have been penalized for misconduct. Having paper trails to any on-going project is critical to succeed with Herc.
Pros
Equipment training
Cons
Aggressive customers
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a great place to work but now it’s horrible
Mechanic (Current Employee) –  Alberta5 January 2019
Great benefits, great wage, but not worth the abuse from management. Most of my co-workers are awesome but the key people you need to rely upon are two faced, liars,vindictive, abusive but the few that are decent people they most likely get “restructured” out of a job or bail before it happens. It’s too bad because it was a great place to work, but those days are over.
Pros
Wage, benefits, diverse equipment
Cons
Managment, abuse, job security
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
toxic place
admin (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB (Albian)4 January 2019
salary is good but lack of support from management when you

need them the most. no job security, politics. it has become a family club, if you're not part of it you'll suffer but if your part or friends you're ok but as soon as you turn your back they will talk.
Pros
some good people
Cons
toxic workplace
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
depends where you are
Field and Shop Technician (Former Employee) –  Fort Mc Murray AB Canada19 October 2018
The Fort Mac region upper management is a tight knit club
of family and favorites .... if your part of that club you are set,
if not you will never advance , or if your actively involved in the
union , they hate that and you will never advance either,

Working at the town shop is a little more forgiving you can
advance based on merit , and its a good crew of guys
the camps and remote site management are far more involved in favoritism
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company poor manager
AZ Driver (Former Employee) –  Goderich, ON4 September 2018
Was a good place to work but had a poor manager at my local branch. Good pay good benifits and great people to work with. Manager pretty made it a tough place to work with his comments and stressful attitude.
Pros
pay, paid time off
Cons
manager
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great learning environment
Fuel and Lube Technician (Current Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB12 August 2018
I have learned many offered skills with hertz equipment rentals. The staff I had the opprotunity to work with was top of the line. I would highly recommend working for this company.
Pros
living allowance
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Benefits are amazing
Shipper-Receiver/ Driver/ Yard (Current Employee) –  Cambridge, ON9 April 2018
The benefits that this company offers are amazing. Also, the vacation allowance is also impeccable. The only downfall about working for Hertz is their "wage freezes" and their job security.
Pros
Benefits, vacation
Cons
Wage freezes, job security
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Branch Administrator/Parts Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Fort Saskatchewan10 March 2018
The work load was manageable
People were great to work with
Management was well trained and did what they could for you
Enjoyable was going to work everyday with the same people
Pros
hour lunchs
Cons
constant upper management changes
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rental and sales of construction equipment
Sales & Rental Representative (Former Employee) –  Woodbridge, ON22 February 2018
call on job sites for various trades such as excavators, roadwork, drywall installers, painters, landscapers and general contractors.

Large selection of aerial equipment such as scissor and boom lifts.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 5Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and instersting
Tool crib/ yard worker (Former Employee) –  Edmonton ab 5708 67ave4 December 2017
It's a great place to work staff treats you like family since day one . I have learn alot for the time I have been there for.its a great company to work for / career set
Pros
Great people to work for and with
Cons
Nothing really other then long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 3Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management
Site Safety Manager @ Shell Albian Sands (Current Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB2 October 2017
Not a great company to work for
Management are dirty people, lairs and promise you the world and give nothing once you work for them
culture sucks
mangers suck
workers are ok
nothing about this company is good
Was this review helpful?Yes 14No 5Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly work environment
Class 1 Driver (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB6 September 2017
Training for job required was extremely good. Equipment used was top rate and if there was a problem it was taken care of right away. Supervisors were very knowledgable.
Pros
Training
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 5Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard but worthy work
Delivery Associate (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB27 June 2017
Hertz Equipment Rental is a demanding job. Lots of long days and heavy lifting. But the work is rewarding as you complete a variety of tasks throughout the week.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
For the most part it was a good place to work
Front line customer service (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB, Reddeer, Calgary, AB4 May 2017
Most of the supervisors were outstanding to work for.
They were accommodating to family situations.
Although I was layed off, They still keep in contact.
Pros
Adaptable, pleasant work inviroment
Cons
none for me.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good place to work...i would work foe them again
WORKSHOP FOREMAN (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB25 April 2017
A great place to work and the people were good.The management was very supportive and helpful most of the time.I learnt a lot and grew mechanically with diverse equipment that I had to work on.They promote a very inclusive safety in workplace culture.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It can be a good place to work
Trip Leader (Former Employee) –  Etobicoke, ON25 March 2017
It can be a great place to work. Many opportunities for advancement. Their management package is amazing. Very little supervision and good employee benefits. It's a unionized environment as well. Weekly pay what more can I say?
Pros
Benefits
Cons
salary
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 2Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Herc Rentals. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.2
Based on 272 reviews
564
469
355
237
147

Ratings by category

3.2Work/Life Balance
3.5Salary/Benefits
2.8Job Security/Advancement
2.8Management
2.9Culture