Harvey's Restaurant Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
easy first job
Team Member (Former Employee) –  Kanata, ON25 May 2018
a simple job where when youre shown how to do something once you can do it forever. only left this job because i was moving, but overall it was a good first job for me.
Pros
had a good staff
Cons
had to move away and couldnt just be transfered to another harveys.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Hamilton, ON21 May 2018
This work environment is very positive and the company itself seems to value its employees very highly. Best place to work in Hamilton Area, Quit and clean office, Friendly Staff, Helpful people, We can work from home if needed, Great benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellente entreprise
Emploi étudiant (Former Employee) –  Rosemère, QC8 May 2018
Offre des opportunités exceptionelles et des formations qui sont utiles dans la vie de tout les jours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive positive work environment
Harvey's Team Member (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON3 May 2018
Working for Harvey's was amazing. Its a team environment with positive energy and great management. I found it was nice to see the usual customers and know what they liked in their hamburger. I did not find nothing I did not enjoy working at Harvey's.
Pros
Worked in all areas from the kitchen, serving customers and cash
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great team
Front Counter Staff (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON3 May 2018
Team members and fellow employees were lots of fun, but also efficient workers. Hours were very flexible to my busy schedule back in high school. Great customer to employee relationships were made.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun, fast pace
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Ajax, ON24 April 2018
Harveys was a high pace and busy work environment but it was fun when you had your friends working with you. There is always something you can do to keep busy if the store isn't busy.
Pros
half off food
Cons
hot in the summer time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
was a challenging work
Grill Chef (Current Employee) –  Bayfield, PE23 April 2018
first experience in the food industry. i like to work in the morning shift as their will be rush and its totally fun to feed all the hungry people out their and it was totally fun working there
Pros
free food
Cons
closing shifts
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Garnisher (Former Employee) –  Regina, SK7 April 2018
once you get inside you punch in
fill up sauce containers if needed
fill up toppings if their are not full
take peoples orders
make sure people get the right order in a timely fashioned
Pros
discounts
Cons
not enough hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
First job
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON21 March 2018
Assistant Manager: In charge of shift, delegation, ensure quality of closing shifts. Ensure effective flow of work and time efficiency. Using time efficiently very important in fast paced environment. Record keeping and counting of the safe.
Pros
Free food during break
Cons
Only got a 15 minute break
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not A Good place to work at. Terrible
Cashier/Customer Service/Cook (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB14 March 2018
The Manager is always angry at the little things even if it's not your fault.

Workmates are incompetent. Blames everything on you and while on duty, always find the way to escape from hard work.

Management tells you to come to work even if it is your day off.
Cons
No Advancement of any kind.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing staff and easy enjoyable place to work
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Guelph, ON8 March 2018
The staff members I worked with over the past four years were incredible. I was promoted to a supervisor within my first few months of switching stores and it made me much more organized and I was trusted with more responsibilities including counting money and being trusted to be in charge of the store. The workplace was overall a great first job and I am looking for something to expand my experience.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great crew, terrible management. Do not work here.
Grill Cook (Former Employee) –  1946 Robertson Rd Ottawa,On6 March 2018
Of all the places I've worked , you really dont want to work here. Family run restaurant with no room for to grow . They hold tips from staff and expect the world out of you. Expect 6 days, split shifts for minimum wage , and you have to learn fast . They do not give you proper training and always run under staffed at night. I urge you not to work at 1946 Robertson Harvey's location.
Pros
50% of food work days
Cons
Everything else .
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly and laid back
Shift Manager (Former Employee) –  London, ON24 February 2018
A job that I will return in a heart beat as a Shift Manager. Boss is direct, very organized and family oriented. Operating a busy fast food restaurant overlooking staff. Wasn't receiving 40 hour work week, reason for leaving.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
0 stars
Harvey’s associate (Former Employee) –  Guelph, ON23 February 2018
Working at Harveys created an unhappy and unprofessional atmosphere, they would treat workers unfairly based on their own personal opinion other than the worker's abilities.
Pros
50% discount in store
Cons
everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Cambridge, ON10 February 2018
Harveys has an awesome work environment. The job is easy, like anywhere in fast food. They have a great staff, very friendly. Good management as well.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, fun, fast-paced work environemnt
SHIFT SUPERVISOR (Former Employee) –  Stratford, ON5 February 2018
I learned a lot being a supervisor here. I learned how to handle high pressure situations, keep shifts organized so that the restaurant ran smoothly, and how much actually goes into running a business.
I had a lot of shift diversity, I closed, worked mid-shifts and did opens.
Hardest part of the job was working closes and making sure that everything was done on time and clean for the openers, while also maintaining exceptional customer service.
The most enjoyable part of the job was being a role model for a lot of the kids that worked there, and helping to develop their skills as employees.
Pros
High responsibility, free meals
Cons
Long, tiring days & no scheduled breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place
General Helper (Former Employee) –  Ajax, ON4 February 2018
It was great everyone was great i had a great time.freindly people safe place .good food.i felt like a real team player. I learned alot met some good people .my boss was the besy
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place great to work at. Very enjoyable.
Garnisher and cashier (Former Employee) –  Oshawa, ON20 January 2018
Just know what your product are and you should be good stay calm with customers and be nice . Know the names of the food you use to garnish the customer food. Keep your food station clean and always keep everything stocked up.
Pros
Free pop
Cons
Very busy all the time
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Co workers
Dishwasher/Kitchen Helper (Former Employee) –  Rexdale, ON14 January 2018
Mostly i got along with everyone at my previous job and still even today have a really close relationship with these co workers, even the management was good all well, they kept everyone in check.
Pros
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
summary of my job
Cashier and Food Preparation (Former Employee) –  McLaughlin, ON11 January 2018
i was handling both cashier job and food preparation job at harveys . our main focus every days is to maintain customer satisfaction. i learned the time management and workplace ethics from this job.
Pros
50 % discount to employees
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Harvey's Restaurant. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 169 reviews
546
454
346
212
111

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
2.9Salary/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.5Culture