Harmony Beef Employee Reviews

Showing all 17 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
run while you still can
Cleaner/Janitor (Former Employee) –  Balzac, AB4 April 2019
overworked and underpaid not worth it ruuunnnn dont do it guys...better jobs anywhere else. work at restaurant better. place worse and worse all the time since i start
Pros
none
Cons
all
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do not work here if you have any personal life at all
Labourer (Former Employee) –  Balzac, AB17 January 2019
If you call in sick just once they will make you feel guilty and demote you. If you are not management favorite then you are in for a miserable time. Management yells and handles things imaturely whether it's a personal matter or work related - everyone will know. They give raises to their favorite employees whether they are good workers or not, it's all who the manager likes more on a personal level. Don't bother putting in time off requests as they will always be denied. The hours are long, strenuous work and never appreciated. They say that there are opportunities to move up the ladder but they always hire from the outside. Very little pay for the job that is expected. Mentally exhausting and depressing place to work. Almost every Saturday worked, and Christmas is 1 day off. They love money more than employees
Pros
None
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 24No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Barn Hand (Current Employee) –  Balzac, AB30 December 2018
T have worked many jobs in my life and this place is by far the best place I have worked.T have been treated with respect from managment all the way dowm to the people I work with. I love my job
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 30Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They work you like a dog
Maintenance Worker (Former Employee) –  Balzac, AB30 November 2018
They are tough on employee if you are on salary, you have to work 10 hr for 5 days. They just push and push you. You can not take your 2 weeks at same time so you can not go oversees basically.
Pros
Meat sales
Cons
Long working hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 35NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
sick place
milliwright (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB6 October 2018
this was the worst place i ever worked in...the management sucks...no rrspect for staff...they treat u lk u some dirt...before u work in this place thk bout it 10000 times..all u ll be is frustated n wann leave the job...u dont want to wok in a place where there is fruatations ....even ur vacation time is not ur time...they hardly pay ot money n expects u to show up at times during ur off days..
Cons
everythg bout this company
Was this review helpful?Yes 45No 2Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Would not recommend
Employee (Current Employee) –  Rocky View, AB10 July 2018
Executive leadership runs the organization emotionally, not practically and does not invest in its people. Regardless of talent and work ethic, you are a number. Low wages, lack of advancement and growth opportunity, poor employee retention.
Pros
Managers are supportive and high caliber of talent among colleagues
Cons
Executive Leadership team, company structure, pay, benefits, advancement and growth opportunities
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its all about work work work with no life outside of work
Production Worker (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB1 July 2018
the work is fun, but its all about work work work with no vacation. The supervisors are expected to work 6 days a week even on long weekends for minimal pay
Cons
very long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of the worst places I've ever worked.
Labor (Former Employee) –  Balzac Alberta18 June 2018
I worked there for 4 months. Total unsafe area to work and conditions. Language barrier is a huge problem. Most of the workers are Filipino. Which if you speak English, makes communication practically impossible. You're constantly having to resay every paragraph that you speak. Stars helicopter came in one time having to take somebody out because of an unsafe condition which could have totally been avoided. The heat inside the basement area is totally unbearable. The smell through the entire basement area is completely disgusting. Visually, you better have a very strong stomach. You see remains of cows going by you in huge dumpsters constantly. There's remains of cows outside in dumpsters and holding containers. Overall conditions I would say are extremely, extremely unsafe
Pros
The road has fresh pavement, when you speed a way.
Cons
10 minutes to 566 Highway, can only drive 100 kilometers an hour, . Not nearly fast enough.
Was this review helpful?Yes 78No 9Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad place good pay
Warehouse Worker (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB5 June 2018
I worked there for a few days. Employees are rude and unsafe, almost got crushed multiple times by people just not paying attention. You get no sick days
Pros
Good pay
Cons
Unsafe. Tons of pressure even on first day of work
Was this review helpful?Yes 48No 8Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst meat plant
Production Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Rocky View, AB2 May 2018
Worst company has lack of communication & training
Wages all Varies on each person.
You can’t take you vacation all at once. If you need more time they will ask you to resign your position.
Owners son is very rude and doesn’t know how to run a company.
Employee are treated unfair.
Supervisor are expected to not take full break and to just get a quick bite of food and head back on floor. If your lucky
Pros
none
Cons
Long hours with little pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 71No 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible Place to work
Dock Worker (Former Employee) –  Rocky View, AB24 April 2018
Management is a joke. They work the staff 12-14 hours a day, the call you in every weekend with out paying any OT, your not allowed to book any holidays. They treat the staff like they are garbage. Management says "if you have time a personal life, you have tome to work"

This company is a huge joke
Pros
Nothing
Cons
Everything. Doesnt even pay good.
Was this review helpful?Yes 68No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and good work place
Journeyman Electrician (Former Employee) –  Balzac, AB25 March 2018
Great Company to work for lots of workable hours. Good owners and great supervision. Lots of areas to work in and close to Calgary which is a added bonus.
Pros
had barbecues for job done well
Cons
none I could remember
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 85Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and opportunity to learn
Export and Logistic clerk (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB2 March 2018
Typical work day was busy most the time I was doing something that I had experienced but also I could learn about sales and could improved my knowledge about Export and Logistic Management.
even I had some hard days as every job but nothing that I stop my day just taking as a experience handling all kind of days.
I always think there is nothing else better than do something that you like and also get pay for.
Pros
working in a good environment
Cons
couldn't show my skills or any idea about my job
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 67Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Newer Company
Accounting Assistant (Former Employee) –  Rocky View, AB7 January 2018
Newer company but the flaws in HR as well as the Accounting Department leadership is clearly apparent which is a shame as the company "could" go far. The accounting management, once the controller left became one of favoritism. If you fell out of favor, there was nothing you could do to get it back. The willingness to do the extra bit is not acknowledged and any mistakes become an issue and never totally go away, no matter how trivial.
Cons
Expect you to not have a life outside of work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the environnement was not very healthy to work with
Maintenance and Forklift operator (Former Employee) –  Balzac, AB10 May 2017
the environnement was not very healthy to work with .
Was this review helpful?Yes 85No 26Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a good place to be
Maintenance Supervisor/Millwright (Former Employee) –  Airdrie, AB14 March 2017
n/a
I did not learned any useful things there.
poor management
not good
I diid not like the way "MANAGEMENT" used their employees
The people i had the pleasure of working for.
Was this review helpful?Yes 99No 26Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Harmony Beef. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

1.9
Based on 17 reviews
52
41
31
23
110

Ratings by category

1.9Work/Life Balance
2.1Salary/Benefits
1.8Job Security/Advancement
1.9Management
1.7Culture

Harmony Beef Reviews by Location