HairMasters Employee Reviews

Showing all 49 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
pressure and competitive workplace
Hair Stylist (Former Employee) –  Beaverton, OR3 December 2018
Unfair treating
Co-workers are very aggressive, competitive, racist
Stressful and pressure atmosphere workplace
Got blame between the fighting of manager and location manager
Pros
health insurance support
Cons
short break, short hour
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Convenient To Where I Lived
Hairstylist (Current Employee) –  Pinellas Park, FL7 November 2018
The Hairmasters where I worked at the time had a great manager. Left for a better job opportunity. The money at Hairmasters is not suffient for living on one income.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
Stylist (Former Employee) –  Kodiak, AK29 October 2018
Small business in Kodiak Alaska. Excellent management. Great atmosphere. I developed great skills working here. Very successful small business. This is a different company than the franchised hairmasters.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok company
Cosmetologist (Former Employee) –  Monroe, WA 9827223 October 2018
It’s not good if you need to pay your rent by yourself. If you’re starting off has a hairdresser, yes it’s a good start but not a very good company to work for.
Cons
Short breaks to no break
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ehh
Shift Manager (Current Employee) –  Oakdale, CA14 August 2018
This company is very hard to explain, and it’s an experience you need to go through to get a better business mindset. it’s got a lot of issues internally in the corporate side, and it doesn’t equally help all stylists
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lovely salon!
Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Elkhart, IN8 August 2018
Hairmasters is a great place to work and an all around great salon in Elkhart. Friendly employees and great customer service. The atmosphere is cozy and prices are reasonable.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hairmasters was fun
Salon Manager and Stylist (Former Employee) –  Phenix City, AL25 June 2018
I loved working at Hairmasters. Training wasn't too intense but there were lots of goals set. My DM was great and very motivating. I only left because I wanted better job advancement.
Pros
great prices for family salon
Cons
not known as an appointment salon
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
STYLIST (Former Employee) –  Eugene, OR21 April 2018
Fun place to work, loved my boss. There wasn't a lot of room for advancement. It was a perfect job for the time, its was great to get some experience in the industry, but not a forever job.
Pros
amazing boss, great coworkers, got a lot of experience, free tanning, free services
Cons
bad district manager
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i like doing hair but the lack of customers
Braider (Former Employee) –  Hyattsville, MD19 April 2018
getting a customer and worrying about how she will feel about her hair after its done
I have to pay booth rent every Saturday
the answer phones is kinda better
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a great place to end up.
Stylist (Former Employee) –  Arlington, WA25 January 2018
The salon I worked in under the hair masters name was horrid. They promised to help me with classes since I was just fresh out of beauty school. Knowing I knew anything, they still threw chemical services at me and haircuts and basically kicked out into everything on my own. I asked for help and was failing, feeling miserable and I was left to hear clients say how disappointed they were. I would hate for someone else to go through what I did.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stylist/assistant manager
Stylist/Manager (Former Employee) –  Everett, WA16 January 2018
I’ve done hair for almost 15 years, and while I loved what I was doing, I didn’t love the company. Management was awful from the manager in the salon and up to district managers. While I was the assistant manager I tried to do what I could to help the other stylist, which would take me away from my clients, and cause me to make a lot less money.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Needs improvement on work hours as well as pay
Hairstylist (Current Employee) –  Davenport, FL1 December 2017
The schedules are subject to change every week. I don't always work a consistent amount of hours. I was promised a lot of things from the company that still have not happened.
Pros
Growing experience for someone who is new to cosmetology.
Cons
Not enough work hours, pay is too low, management can be way better.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I have great co-workers
Manager at Hairmasters Owner at Ebony and Ivory (Current Employee) –  Washington State1 November 2017
I am currently a Manager at Smokey Point Hairmasters... Ready for a New Change
.
I owned Ebony and Ivory for 14 years.
Lots of overhead when you are an owner..
Pros
Vacation Pay
Cons
Healthcare I cant afford
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Your coworkers can make or break an enviroment
Salon Manager and Stylist (Current Employee) –  Covington, WA21 September 2017
Upper level management will come and go, as will their policies. The salon team will determine how enjoyable the salon will be for you. Your pay is based on how much money you bring in for the company.
Pros
benefits
Cons
weekend and night shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
they don't care about they people.
Manager (Current Employee) –  Orlando, FL4 September 2017
they don't care about they employee. pay minimum hours, no commission so ever, no pay you to be a store manager, only pay you a minimum hours for vacation too.
Pros
co-workers
Cons
pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good for students bad for career.
Licensed Cosmetologist (Current Employee) –  Montgomery, AL22 August 2017
Low wage job. No freedom as a stylist. It's a great place to begin but not if you have a family or wanting to operate as independent stylist this Isite not the job.
Pros
Fun place to work
Cons
Time off, holidays, pay, minimum wage.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive fun place to work at
Stylist and cashier (Former Employee) –  Prattville, AL21 August 2017
This company is one of the hugest hair companies in America. It was an overall great experience to work at. I learned so much to help me in the future with a career
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
horrible
Hair Stylist (Current Employee) –  Port Orchard, WA22 June 2017
its nearly impossible to move up. you acquire vacation time but they don't want to give u time off to use it. the manager will change your scheduled shifts to better her own schedule
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved this place!!
Salon Manager/stylist (Former Employee) –  Aurora, CO11 May 2017
I really loved working in this salon for the first 5years we had all the right stylist and barbers in place and had a great vibe. It was a fun place to work and I made a lot of money!!!!
Pros
Money, the old stylist and the owner was cool
Cons
The place is raggedy now and the new management is terrible
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work & awesome benefits
Salon manager (Former Employee) –  Hastings, NE8 May 2017
I like that they supply everything you need except your scissors & license. They have great monthly sales & bonuses for retail sales. They have a lot of great incentives for your hard work
Pros
Bonuses
Cons
Late Hours & dress code
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at HairMasters. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 49 reviews
512
416
310
28
13

Ratings by category

3.2Work/Life Balance
2.8Salary/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.6Culture