HSBC Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Life balance
IDS Specialist (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC9 October 2018
My role is system support engineer for contact center. The company provides a great platform to employee to learn about what you are interested in. Unfortunately, there are lots of changes in Bank industry and the job security is not good in bank.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not too bad
Investment Representative (Current Employee) –  3381 Steeles Avenue East, Suite 300 Toronto9 October 2018
receiving calls from clients. can learn a lot about financial product and stock market. As a lot of client is Cantonese or Mandarin speaking, 50% or more employee there can speak Chinese. Some client can be rude, that's the way call centre job is .
Pros
can learn a lot
Cons
sometime rude clients
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work environment
Premium Banker (Current Employee) –  Sherbrooke, QC7 October 2018
Great experience to perform some of my analytical skills and customer service ability. Responsible of managing a personal banking clientele portfolio, I play a direct role in identifying, satisfying customer needs and delivering high service quality in a daily basis. I am also responsible of promoting products and services, in accordance with AML/ATF policies, increase profitability of existing portfolio and seek new clientele via
internal and external referencing.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Communications skills
MANAGER OF COLLECTION OF AUTO FINANCE DEPARTMENT (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC3 October 2018
During my stay ay HSBC I learned a lot about financing especially mortgages and car loans. It was an eye opener for me in the area of credits , and loans and collections procedures.
Pros
Financial skills
Cons
Too many hours on the Phone
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No longer in business
Account Executive (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB28 September 2018
This division of HSBC is closed and no longer in business. You cannot work for this company in Canada. As that is the case i cannot review it for others to see.
Pros
out of business
Cons
out of business
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Consultant (Contract) (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON24 September 2018
good business model
great manager
knowledge great
great activities
great paid
great leadership
good business model
provide good education opportunity
good reference book
Pros
fee lunch
Cons
long hour
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work but the growth pace is slow.
Bank Clerk (Former Employee) –  Distrito Federal24 September 2018
Definitely I would work again for them, but in the right country, the salaries in Mexico are too low and you need an other job too have a good income, moreover the time to be selected was a lot, more than 3 months! you are not able to choose an other job because you are waiting for the opportunity to join them an once you succeed it takes more than two years to take the next step and earn more money. But the environment is ok and once you achieve the income that you need is a good place to work.
Pros
benefits
Cons
too much time to hire, low income and slow growth
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work place
Client Service Executive (Former Employee) –  Indian, ON10 September 2018
Very professional environment and lots of scope to learn and showcase your skills. Great team members and well known company in the globe. Great internal tools to work with.
Pros
Different teams to work with
Cons
Night Shifts
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging work and professional dealing of management
Operations Assistant II -Contract, Part Time (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC8 September 2018
Work with HSBC was challenging as there were timelines to observe.
The audit was to be carried out completely for all assigned branches daily. One has to be analytical,meticulous and knowledgeable of audit guidelines to be able to detect errors/non compliance.

Management was very professional in dealing with their employees.

Co-workers were generally friendly.
Pros
Good benefits
Cons
No available position for permanent hiring
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice seniors and willing to help
Commercial Banking intern (Former Employee) –  苏州市4 September 2018
Lots of opportunities open to intern
seniors are nice and willing to help
very comfortable working environment
could get in touch with various aspects of the business
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
was only a temp position
RSP Administrator (Former Employee) –  toronto downtown1 September 2018
Was only a temp position, would have like to stay there full time as work was interesting and people were very friendly Dealt with advisors Canada wide.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work
Fund Administration (Former Employee) –  Rajagiriya30 August 2018
HSBC is a excellent place to work. It provides employees better rewards and benefits. Also it has maintained a good environment for the employees. I was always proud to be a part of HSBC.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Place to Work
Manager - HSBC Securities Services (Current Employee) –  National Capital Region18 August 2018
I work at a high pressured environment where meeting deadlines is a must. However, since the people your working with exhibits the right behavior at work, load tends to feel lighter. People are having fun when they work hence more productive.
Pros
Learning avenues
Cons
Salary
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Consultant, Analytics and Reporting HSBC (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON15 August 2018
I like that it is a great place to work. Managers are understanding and the work is pretty manageable. Would recommend my friends and family members to work!
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
All about the numbers
Team Lead / Sr. Analyst (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON13 August 2018
Unfortunately, this work place started out great but ended up being less about doing things ethically and more about just getting it done. Sad way to do it in an AML field where quality should matter more than quantity. How many times I've been told that as we get closer to being "BAU" we will focus more on quality...
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My Most Generous Employer: Overseas or in Canada
Sr. Engineer, Telecommunications (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON13 August 2018
Flexible work environment

Grew the most in HSBC in Philippines

Hands off management

Values integrity

Competitive environment

Enabled to be creative in work
Pros
compensation, training, mandate
Cons
on-call
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Extremely organised bank
Trade Advisor (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON10 August 2018
HSBC is the most structured bank in my entire 20+ years of banking experience and that is the reason I worked with them twice and will be happy if got another chance to join them.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Coventry, ON1 August 2018
Working with HSBC was great, had wonderful team members and team leaders, who were willngly to put me through the various processes when i first resumed. After getting well rooted into the system I was in turn able to help new and old members as well.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work and enhance your career.
Client Services Manager (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON1 August 2018
I enjoy working with HSBC. This has been a vital experience in my career. It is an international bank adapted to Canadian work culture. There are plenty of opportunities to grow and succeed.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ideal work environmeny
AML INVESTIGATOR (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON31 July 2018
HSBC is a great bank and filled with talented people. Equal opportunity given to people from diverse background and probably I most impressed their training program.
Pros
Freedom to work
Cons
No proper management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at HSBC. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 10,494 reviews
54K
43.8K
32K
2444
1269

Ratings by category

3.9Work/Life Balance
3.8Salary/Benefits
3.6Job Security/Advancement
3.7Management
3.9Culture