HSBC Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not in business anymore for a good reason
Account Executive (Former Employee) –  Surrey, BC17 May 2018
This company was a branch off HSBC that would take high interest credit cards, such as Future Shop or The Bay, that are about to expire and try and do consolidation loans.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful Team Members
Personal Financial Services Associates (Former Employee) –  Surrey, BC16 May 2018
It was a delight working with HSBC Canada. I had the most fun with my team members. We helped each other progress so much as a team that we were practically a family.
Pros
Teamwork
Cons
Salary
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place and environment
Personal Banker (Former Employee) –  Calgary, Canada10 May 2018
great place and environment - friendly, lot of details, you have to have an accounting background. commitment, I enjoyed dealing and serving clients, and learned a lot and gained a lot of experience
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Sr.Tableau Consultant (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON8 May 2018
A typical day at work includes working with awesome people, being taught by knowledgeable co-workers and welcomed into a great and fun job culture.

Great Benefits
Couldn't ask for a better place I Love it!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family-like atmosphere
Operations Specialist (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON7 May 2018
The department I worked in was a very experienced with many long time employees (several had 20 to 30+ years). There was not much opportunity for advancement within the department as it was quite small.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good pay / good balance
FCR (Current Employee) –  Vancouver, BC2 May 2018
Good pay / good balance. However if you are looking to make a difference with your career / life, this is not the place for you.
You may have the chance to work with a good team but if not, HIGHLY Bureaucratic. It'll feel like you're just a cog in a machine.
Pros
good pay, good work /life balance
Cons
Bureaucratic. Black / White thinking. Paperwork for the sake of paperwork
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for
Assistant Vice-President (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC25 April 2018
Good benefits, compensation, work-life balance, team culture. Everyone was supportive of each other and willing to help in case you encountered certain technical challenges.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Premium banker
Premium Banker (Current Employee) –  Vancouver, BC22 April 2018
A registered mutual fund advisor and account manager: actively manage
investment portfolios and continually meet client’s needs.
§ Provide professional financial advices and solution to customers in terms of
short term and long term financial goals, and deliver high standard of
service quality.
§ Responsible for different sales aspects: new customer acquisitions,
mortgage and loan applications, investment products etc.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great managers, fun team, pleasant environment
Collector Agent 2 (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC19 April 2018
The work itself is very challenging, patience is a virtue, it's very repedative work...hard to get the hours you wish to have however once you've gained seniority they can be flexible, overall a good place of employment...
Pros
Decent salary, your hard work is regonized
Cons
Schedualing, repedative work
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Analyst on Contract at HSBC
Various HR and Co-ordinator contract / temp roles (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON18 April 2018
I worked at HSBC on a contract and found the management to be supportive. Career development and advancement are encouraged within the bank. My team was in Vacouver and the UK and I liked it there.
Pros
Good management
Cons
Too much team input into the termination decision
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work place
Commercial On-Boarding Officer (Former Employee) –  Burnaby, BC14 April 2018
My day contributes to multitasking by answering emails, calls and approving pending applications. If there are corrections or stipulations I need completed by our ASM team I reach out to them . I ensure compliance and policies are all met while adjudicating applications. I have learned lots and continue to learn as my time progresses here. Such as becoming an expert at reading Equifax and Trans Union. I am excellent with excel and other Microsoft software. My speed on approving loans while ensuring all due diligence is met is great too. I continue to enhance in my education as I am currently enrolled in the CFA level 1 . The hardest part about this job is when I am declining applications knowing the customer is in need of the loan but does not meet requirements. I enjoy my work life balance by being able to focus at work but also during breaks be able to enjoy down time in our quiet room or engage in fun activity in the games room.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
HSBC is a great place to work.
Production support specialist (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON14 April 2018
> Average management
> Good work life balance
> Good employee benefits
>Good work culture, very diverse work place.
> learning and training facilities
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Procuctive and fun place to work, have a kitchen and lunch room
ACCOUNT EXECUTIVE (Former Employee) –  Jane and Steeles12 April 2018
Typical day is hectic, knowlwdgble about different products. Management is great, committed to train you so that you will succeed. The culture at this workplace is great.
Pros
no
Cons
no
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Changing culture not always best
Premier Relationship Manager (Current Employee) –  Coquitlam, BC11 April 2018
HSBC is changing considerably and always having to adapt to new measures that restrict employees at times in doing their job correctly and efficiently.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bon stage
BANK EMPLOYEE (Former Employee) –  London, ON11 April 2018
experience enrichissante tant d'un point de vue professionnel que d'un point de vu humain
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work place
Bank Employee (Current Employee) –  HSBC Philippines7 April 2018
I work for HSBC fo almost 10 yrs now.. I started to work on the deptment that handles card services.. then I transfered to Fraud Prevention Team. Now Im with Global Banking MarketAs broker associate.
Pros
Housing and food for free
Cons
Over time ok
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
terrible place to work
premier relationship manager (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC6 April 2018
Do not apply to work here!! the turnover of staff is incredible.. and with no training and terrible process and procedures.

Mgmt is extremely unsupportive and don't encourage growth or team work.
Pros
none..
Cons
everything..
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Teller
Customer Service Rep (Former Employee) –  HCBC Indonesia6 April 2018
As a teller ....you will meet different client....and help people to understand about the products what we have at the bank.Dealing with nice people and from different country
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work life balance
Consultant (Former Employee) –  Burnaby, BC6 April 2018
There is an issue in worklife balance in HSBC as management sometime expect from you to sit late no matter what.
If your manager is there, you need to be there also.
Pros
Good benefits
Cons
work life balance
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Average Job
Personal Banker - Willowdale, Ontario (Current Employee) –  Willowdale, Ontario5 April 2018
Handling customer's daily personal banking needs. A strong emphasis in compliance (particularly in KYC, AML), which is good in developing communication and analytical skills. However, it is a very cut-throat environment as the system is quite behind from other key competitors.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at HSBC. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 9,684 reviews
53.7K
43.5K
31.8K
2414
1251

Ratings by category

3.9Work/Life Balance
3.8Salary/Benefits
3.6Job Security/Advancement
3.7Management
3.9Culture