HSBC Employee Reviews

Found 414 reviews matching the search See all 11,081 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work experience
Operations and Risk Administration Specialist (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB29 January 2019
Overall I enjoyed my time at HSBC. It was a good place to work. They closed my branch sadly in 2017 located on 106 Street and Jasper Avenue. HSBC closed St. Albert branch as well. They are closing branches in Edmonton.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place
Administrative assistant (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC29 January 2019
great corporate culture, great management great benefits. i loved working there and the team i worked with. I high advise people to find a job with HSBC
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Workplace
Bilingual Account Executive (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON17 January 2019
First thing, we will get new leads. Then a little huddle with the team to get any updates.
We will then contact new clients to offer our L.O.C.
Handling pressure is very important.
Pros
learning how to sale
Cons
very high targets
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not an ideal experience.
Personal Banker (Former Employee) –  Cranbrook, BC16 January 2019
As with many large companies, there was a disconnect between those in the higher-ups and employees doing the work on the front lines.
The staff I personally worked with were great.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst management ever
Service Associate (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC22 December 2018
HSBC is full of incompetent people. Good employees and smart employees end up quitting. Management is the worst ever. Customers are unhappy. Benefits are ok though it's through Sunlife, the worst benefit adm. Stable job, at least in my department because the personnel rotation is high. Current managers treat employees like children. After I quit HSBC, my life became better. If you don't mind being mistreated, underpaid, with a kind of stable job with incompetent managers and also with 15 days holidays to start, this is the right workplace for you. Last but not least, most HSBC support teams are located offshore and they provide the worst customer service quality ever. As soon as I left HSBC, I closed down all my relationships with them
Pros
15 days holidays the 1st year and 20 from the 3rd one. 25 after 5 years
Cons
Management!, Promotions are not based on performance, global performance is based on unqualified manager reviews
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good
Lead/Manager, Business Analysis (Former Employee) –  London28 November 2018
Very good place to work, Great team work, Encouraging management and true leadership to guide the employee to success lines- Pleased with work and ethics.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good environment
Payment Services Manager (Former Employee) –  other24 November 2018
Friendly working place where I can learn a lot all procedure, process in operational team. Process and procedure are standardized. High volume at month end which should be improved.
Pros
High volume month end
Cons
Good opportunities
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company
Senior Financial Analyst (Former Employee) –  Markham, ON15 November 2018
Great company.
I worked for the consumer finance division.
Pay was good and the benefits were aligned with the market.
Great opportunities to learn.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Diversity with the culture of Work Life Balance
Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON15 November 2018
HSBC is one of the world's largest Bank which has diversity at work and perfect culture of work life balance. I have developed my leadership skills while working with HSBC Canada. However, there is an opportunity to focus more on talent pool/ retention and the employee engagement programs.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Personal Banker (Current Employee) –  Burnaby, BC14 November 2018
work can get quite stressful when there are not enough staff. I feel like hsbc canada is lacking versus other banks and customers are not happy with our products
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent work environment, bad management
Personal Banker (Former Employee) –  Vancouver13 November 2018
The working culture is average. My direct manager was very understanding, however not the more senior roles. The expectation was not align with realistic goals branch by branch.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good workplace to work
DataStage Lead (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON8 November 2018
I love to work with HSBC. it's a good place and work environment is pretty much good. I got a chance to work with different modules and really learned so much.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work generally
Personal Banker, Collection Officer (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC20 October 2018
Awesome place to work
great management
internation exposure posibility
advancement opportinites
digitally not fully advanced
things to work out image wise for some previous bad PR
Pros
Great vacation time off longer then other banks
Cons
not a known bank locally
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
HSBC Bank Canada was named one of the Best 50 Corporate
ORAA (Full-time) (Current Employee) –  CA19 October 2018
Offering prestige, strength, and longevity. HSBC gives us a lot of opportunity. Learned Team player with collaborative skills; Understanding of core products, Premier proposition, and familiar with retail and wealth product processes.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Strong Cohesive International Local Bank
Commercial Relationship Manager (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON14 October 2018
* Minimum hierarchy
* Responsive decision making process
* Family oriented culture
* Proactive business banking
* Prudent lending practice
* International power house
Pros
Proactive local bank with International connections
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Life balance
IDS Specialist (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC9 October 2018
My role is system support engineer for contact center. The company provides a great platform to employee to learn about what you are interested in. Unfortunately, there are lots of changes in Bank industry and the job security is not good in bank.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not too bad
Investment Representative (Current Employee) –  3381 Steeles Avenue East, Suite 300 Toronto9 October 2018
receiving calls from clients. can learn a lot about financial product and stock market. As a lot of client is Cantonese or Mandarin speaking, 50% or more employee there can speak Chinese. Some client can be rude, that's the way call centre job is .
Pros
can learn a lot
Cons
sometime rude clients
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work environment
Premium Banker (Current Employee) –  Sherbrooke, QC7 October 2018
Great experience to perform some of my analytical skills and customer service ability. Responsible of managing a personal banking clientele portfolio, I play a direct role in identifying, satisfying customer needs and delivering high service quality in a daily basis. I am also responsible of promoting products and services, in accordance with AML/ATF policies, increase profitability of existing portfolio and seek new clientele via
internal and external referencing.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Communications skills
MANAGER OF COLLECTION OF AUTO FINANCE DEPARTMENT (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC3 October 2018
During my stay ay HSBC I learned a lot about financing especially mortgages and car loans. It was an eye opener for me in the area of credits , and loans and collections procedures.
Pros
Financial skills
Cons
Too many hours on the Phone
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No longer in business
Account Executive (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB28 September 2018
This division of HSBC is closed and no longer in business. You cannot work for this company in Canada. As that is the case i cannot review it for others to see.
Pros
out of business
Cons
out of business
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at HSBC. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 11,085 reviews
54.3K
44K
32.1K
2477
1285

Ratings by category

3.9Work/Life Balance
3.8Salary/Benefits
3.6Job Security/Advancement
3.7Management
3.9Culture