H&R Block Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great to gain knowledge
Income Tax Professional (Former Employee) –  Abbotsford, BC24 January 2018
H & R BLock is nice place to work for a starter.you earn lot of knowledge in numbers taxes if u love to work numbers this is the place you need to go great experience great management overall good to go
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Temporary Receptionist & Bookkeeper
Bookkeeper/Receptionist (Temporary) (Former Employee) –  100 Mile House, BC20 January 2018
I thought this was a great full-time, permanent position but found I was only working until a past worker was re-hired. I was very disappointed as I looked forward to learning more than I already knew about preparing Business & Personal Income Tax Returns using the H & R Tax
Computer Program.
Pros
Studying H & R Income Tax Course
Cons
Was told this was a full-time, permanent position when it wasn't
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A lot of learning with huge responsibilities and liitle compensation
Seasonal Tax PROFESSIONAL (Current Employee) –  Great Toronto Area9 January 2018
Huge responsibility for tax preparation;requires a lot of learning.Might be hectic sometimes and always work under customer's pressure.
Great filling of team work as all associates helped each other
Pros
A lot of learning
Cons
late evenings and weekend hours, very little ccompensation
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very nice work environment.
Data Entry (Former Employee) –  Belleville, ON6 January 2018
I had fun learning the skills expected of me, and never felt any unnecessary pressure. The boss is nice, and it's very close to a subway I enjoy eating lunch at.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
knowledgeable and willing to help
Tax Associate (Current Employee) –  Montréal, QC4 January 2018
always learning and great satisfaction knowing you help someone
resolve there tax questions, when you have the knowledge and if
not yourself someone within your organization can help
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to learn
Tax Associate, Seasonal/Part-time (Current Employee) –  Vancouver, BC3 January 2018
This is ideal for new comers to Canada or somebody who wants to enhance their taxation knowledge though classes and on job training. It will build solid foundations for the tax knowledge. The hours could be flexible but if you don't take enough shifts, you won't finish many returns for practical experience. The cons are that the pay is low for starting and the hours sometimes are not enough at the beginning. Depending on office locations and the office leaders, the experience could be different. Definitely cannot make a living though it before turning to senior level. If you are only looking for part-time, this could be for you but you have to look for another job in May every year unless you are hired as year-round emlpyees.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
has good OJT system
Tax Professional (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB26 December 2017
H & R Block provides good training programs every preseason and also has good on the job training support system, if has any questions can get answer immediately from support team.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is a very busy imperson company
TAX PROFESSIONAL (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC18 December 2017
It is a dynamic company especially in a tax season. There are no benefits provided. Employees are working under a big stress and for a tax season only.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job
Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Quesnel, BC9 December 2017
Great training program each year you can progress and learn more and grow within the company. Fast pace Helpful staff al around a enjoyable place to work but it’s only seasonal
Pros
Get your taxes done for free
Cons
Busy fast pace
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and friendly
Receptionist/CSR (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB13 November 2017
great place to work , very friendly , it was only part time but they are very fun and easy to get along with really I enjoyed working there . very professional .
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
seasonal job
Tax Associate (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON2 November 2017
A seasonal job
enjoy meeting with clients
a good learning and working experience
not a permanent job
no benefit
provides an excellent customer services training
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to get new expriences
Tax Consultant (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC1 November 2017
I took different level courses in this company. Every customer has its own document which was different with another one. Very good place to achieve new experience.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good experience in Tax preparation
Tax Professional, Office Manager (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON31 October 2017
Excellent training
Excellent management
Excellent experience in tax preparation
Friendly environment
Creative work space
You can be helpful to many people with different situations
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
exciting and good customer service.
Income Tax Professional (Former Employee) –  Bolton, ON24 October 2017
understand the tax system in canada and enjoyed working with numbers.

Helping to the clients about their question and like the customers service.
It is a seasonal part time job.
Pros
fun with working with numbers
Cons
seasonal part-time
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible and Learning Experience
Tax Associate (Seasonal) (Former Employee) –  London, ON23 October 2017
Working at H&R Block taught me how to work quickly, and efficiently under pressure. Having clients sit with you while preparing their tax returns allowed me to gain valuable experience in dealing with people, as well as having to master communication skills.

H&R Block was very flexible with scheduling, which I appreciated. There was a great training, and always other associates that you could call on for assistance if required.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was great
Tax Preparer (Former Employee) –  Cobourg, ON22 October 2017
It was great when I was there. My supervisors were really knowledge and hard working. It definitely feels like a team environment. I wasn't too please when we had to start selling the H&R block refund cards it felt like a scam.
Pros
Great supervisors
Cons
turned into selling H&R block cards
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
ADMINISTRATIVE ASSISTANT (Former Employee) –  Rocky Mountain House, AB20 October 2017
it was lit
there was a good environment
it is a great starter job
it always felt very welcoming
they were always very cheerful
They were very helpful
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
For newcomers or people with few experience in Canada, this is a good place to star.
Senior Tax Professional (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB19 October 2017
During the Tax Season I usually work at the same office and the team there is awesome. I enjoy my job and the work environment, plus is close to my home.
Pros
Flexible hours
Cons
There is no commission payment after the tax season is over.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy Place
senior Tax Professional (Former Employee) –  Dawson Creek, BC17 October 2017
great experience. I enjoyed the busy atmosphere and enjoyed gaining new clientele.Everyone worked together , sharing their expertise in different situations
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible time for work
Tax Preparer (Current Employee) –  Bedford, NS14 October 2017
H&R Block provide every employee a flexible time to work each week. The office manager will schedule everyone's working time one week before based on everyone's available time.
Pros
Flexible time
Cons
instability
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport