H&R Block Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Seasonal job
Tax Preparer (Former Employee) –  Red Deer, AB8 December 2018
Not a lot of support for new hires. Very much a culture of pushing clients through quickly. Pay is too low for first year employees. Not a great place to work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
seasonal work
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Brandon, MB24 November 2018
seasonal work only there for two months:
greeted customers
input data into computer
took payments
highly confidential
scheduled clients with tax professionals
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work type keeps you brain sharp but needs patience
Branch Manager (contract) (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON15 November 2018
It is a fast-paced work environment, which requires diplomacy, conflict resolution, multi-tasking, ability to work with databases, good with numbers, excellent customer service and team work.
Pros
guaranteed hours
Cons
Can be stressful
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a typical day at work
Tax Professional (Current Employee) –  Brampton, ON13 November 2018
Do interview the customers for preparing tax returns, give them tax tips, prepare the returns and provide excellent customer service.
Always busy working on tax returns
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work
Client Service Leader/Tax Professional (Former Employee) –  Kingston, ON13 November 2018
I have worked for H&R block for 3 years in the Kingston Area and it has been a great experience. Training is great and Management are approachable and easy to work with. The management team is amazing, they help build up your weakness and they utilize your strengths, which builds your confidence. They add valuable skills to your resume that can be used in other workplaces. They recognize and appreciate their employees by holding kick off parties and end of year celebrations. Overall, I have really liked my time working for H&R Block, and I will continue to go back year after year.
Pros
Employee recognition, great management, comfortable work environment
Cons
seasonal
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It can be great place to work but have to be prepared to deal with individuals who are unhappy that they owe taxes.
Seasonal (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB8 November 2018
It can be great place to work but have to be prepared to deal with individuals who are unhappy that they owe taxes. Staff and clients are not happy with management who are now putting more emphasis on selling products rather then taxes.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work. All the managers and staff members are always helpful
Client Service Professional (Current Employee) –  Brampton, ON8 November 2018
Best place to have taxation experience. All staff members are good colleagues and always ready to help. Busy during tax season,still enjoyed working there
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good place to work
Bookkeeper (Former Employee) –  Salmon Arm, BC7 November 2018
I loved working at H&R Block. I felt that I learned allot. I enjoyed working with my co-workers. I loved getting to know people and seeing the results of my job.
Pros
The hours worked for me.
Cons
I would of liked to learn about more about the job and it ended way to soon.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
repetitive task
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Windsor, ON24 October 2018
Lot of paper work. Attention to details all penny count.
Though season job not benefits. too much work, but lots of experience learned. meeting people of different place
Pros
Free tax filing
Cons
Lots of paper work
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Seasonal (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB23 October 2018
Salary is the minimum wage plus bonus.
Working days are very busy but so much fun.
Easy to learn the operating system.
Communication with clients is great.
Nothing is hard to work for H&R Block
The most enjoyable part is to do taxes for the client.
Customer service is excellent & easy to perform.
Pros
Flexible Hours
Cons
Seasonal job
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment with great people
Tax Professional (Current Employee) –  Uxbridge, ON22 October 2018
- The people you work with are very kind and easy
- They train you well to prepare you for your first day of work
- You will learn how to properly conduct a tax interview and complete tax returns
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tax Season Job
Tax Professional (Part time) (Former Employee) –  Scarborough, ON21 October 2018
Good to work in Tax season but it was not permanent position there. I have learned a lot about Canadian Tax and how file Individual, Self-employed and Business Tax. Management are great but compare to hours input income was not great.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The best job that i ever had
Client Service Professional/Tax Professional (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB17 October 2018
Working at H&R Block, it is the best job that i ever had. Very professional environment, i learned lots of doing computers, issuing a cheque, booking appointments, opening & closing the system & store, making a report.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I worked with great people
Tax Professional (Former Employee) –  Sydney, NS15 October 2018
At the Sydney office, was great everyone was friendly gave me all the hours i could want. All helpful and understanding. I would work there seasonally again but i moved away
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
down to earth workplace
Customer Service Professional (Former Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK10 October 2018
the fast work pace made it quick to learn.
diverse.
i would join every year.
basic secretarial work.
working well with a team.
your never alone, help is always around the corner.
Pros
location
Cons
short shifts
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional and organised
Client Service Professional (Co-Op) (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON10 October 2018
Company is fun and interesting place to work. Offers each staff opportunity to achieve the best of themselves. Gives attention to proper training and grooming of staff to perform task. Professional work environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bon
Adjointe administrative (Former Employee) –  Longueuil, QC9 October 2018
Entreprise agréable et professionnel, très formateur
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Snacks are sometimes offered during the day.
Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB7 October 2018
As stated in my resurme a typical day involve welcoming clients who come to file their taxes. Their identities are verified and various transactions or T4 and other tax papers received and used to file their taxes respectively. this information is sent to Canada Revenue Agency and a tax return if given back in the form of cash or checques if required.

Clients' information is then filed for future reference, and an end of day report presented.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not enough hours
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Keremeos, BC5 October 2018
H&R Block did not have enough hours to keep me working there. In general they are very nice people to work for. I will not be returning there although they do want me to.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
pression
Préparateur (Former Employee) –  gatineau5 October 2018
un environnement de travail sous pression en tout temps
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at H&R Block. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 9,736 reviews
54.9K
42.8K
31.5K
2380
1261

Ratings by category

4.1Work/Life Balance
3.3Salary/Benefits
3.5Job Security/Advancement
3.9Management
4.0Culture