GREAT NORTHERN CASINO Employee Reviews

Showing all 9 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management
Server (Former Employee) –  Grande Prairie, AB2 February 2019
Money is ok if you’ve worked there for years. No room for advancement. Management treats you like a number, give out petty write ups like candy. Only tell you the bad you do, never a “good job”. The customer service is low, kitchen doesn’t work with servers what’s so ever.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Outgoing and fun place to work
Games Dealer/Pitt Boss (Former Employee) –  Grande Prairie, AB22 November 2018
The hours can be long but the outgoing atmosphere helps keep you up. Working at the casino allowed me to engage with a diverse population, it taught me to be aware and mindful of others cultures and beliefs. The staff and "regulars" (patrons) were easy to work and get along with. It was a great way to meet new people and socialize.
Pros
Socializing and meeting new people on a daily basis
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overworked and underappreciated
Server (Former Employee) –  Grande Prairie, AB4 June 2018
Good money but long hours and the servers are not very inviting to new girls. They also make you pay for walk outs, which is illegal. Fast pace work good to learn serving.
Pros
Fast pace
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, stressful
Grande Prairie - Lounge Server (Former Employee) –  Grande Prairie, AB30 January 2018
i was overworked. i was underpaid. the staff was rude. good tips. good for a part time job, not much for advancement. the CEO, everyone was scared of.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Security Guard (Former Employee) –  Grande Prairie, AB12 October 2015
Good co-workers, perfect management, nice place to work, not bad wage, got perfect experience in this position, was nice to work there.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to work!
Server/Bartender (Former Employee) –  Grande Prairie, AB13 August 2015
I very much enjoyed my career with The Great Northern Casino! Every day was different, I loved the diversity, the loved the fast pace. My employers were excellent to me, as were my coworkers.! I learned a lot about the industry and a lot about people.!
Pros
I loved meeting the public, and the tips were great!
Cons
Long hrs, mostly 12 hrs shifts, alot of weekends and evenings, and holidays.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Blackjack Dealer (Current Employee) –  Grande Prairie, AB7 March 2015
Management is great, very friendly, easily approachable. Co-workers are so kind and easy to get along with. Typical day would include dealing at multiple tables.
Pros
Great tips, great break schedules
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved what I did
Supervisor in Slot Department (Former Employee) –  Grande Prairie, Alberta19 October 2013
Hard worker, co-workers were always amazed at my efficiency in dealing with problems - hardest part of the job was dealing with management
Pros
Made good friends with patrons
Cons
Not enogh staff
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at GREAT NORTHERN CASINO. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 9 reviews
52
45
30
21
11

Ratings by category

3.2Work/Life Balance
2.7Salary/Benefits
3.6Job Security/Advancement
3.1Management
3.1Culture

GREAT NORTHERN CASINO Reviews by Location