Grand and Toy Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive enviroment
Customer Care Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON4 October 2017
The supervisor staff was a fun and supportive group. Training was always provided with new initiatives or changes to procedures. Great company to work for.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Grand and Toy A Dinosar
Business Development Manager (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB3 September 2017
Poor Management, business development leadership management lacking. No internal communications as everyone reports to a different District Sales Manager that in the end creates silos. Trying to being competitive but foes not have the a large footprint in many product categories leaving the Business Development Manager difficult in bringing on new accounts. There is also no marketing budget.
Pros
Dealing with Businesses
Cons
Small Player
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
had fun
Inside Sales (Former Employee) –  Vaughan, ON23 August 2017
unattainable sales targets for small business growth. if a customer bought new furniture one you year you were expected to reach that or above the following year and lets be real a small business is not buying new furniture every year. it was hard to reach goals. I loved the people I worked while there.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Ottawa21 June 2017
Great place to work as a student. Very flexible and accommodating of student schedules. Awesome opportunities for professional development and career advancement.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Grand and Toy
Outside Account Manager (Former Employee) –  Brampton, Barrie, Orangeville, Mississuaga26 April 2017
A typical day at work would include 10-15 cold calls and 5-10 customer calls. I learned something new every day. My manager was an excellent manager. Workplace culture needs improvement. The hardest part of the job was retaining customers. Enjoyable part ofthe job. Working with existing customers and acquiring net new business.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Company
Sales Manager (Former Employee) –  Burnaby, BC12 July 2016
My 25 years at Grand & Toy / Office Max / Office Depot were amazing.
The company had a great culture largely in part to my excellent, immediate manager and took a keen interest in me as a person and my career aspirations.
I attended many courses that the company paid for in full, to enhance my skill sets.
The office supply industry is so competitive and became a "who is buying who" scenario that ultimately lead to the complete restructure of Grand & Toy that culminated in the lay-offs of hundreds of employees which is too bad as I would have loved to have stayed and finished my career with them.
Pros
Advancement, Culture
Cons
Volatile Industry
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoy working there
Warehouse Worker (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB3 February 2016
Disappointed with lack of communication.
No information during meeting without interpreter
Enjoy working with employers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical day
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB18 October 2015
My day here included answering incoming and making out going calls to customer. I placed orders, tracked orders, created new accounts and answered emails on a daily basis.
Pros
fast pace environment
Cons
terrible management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Massive cuts, no retail stores anymore
Shipping and sales (Former Employee) –  Ft mcMurray9 October 2015
Really, my dad ran this store when i worked at it, and it acted like an independent store at the time, so I can't reasonably rate the corp.
The company keeps changing CEOs and parent corps, so, it looks like it migh tbe going under. Its kind of an antiquated business type and offers poor customer service.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place
ACCOUNTS PAYABLE SUPERVISOR (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON12 August 2015
great place to work, if I did not relocate would still work there. Great work life balance. Great learning environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON20 May 2015
A typical day would consist of answering customer calls

I learned that they are very customer care oriented which I liked

Management was excellent

co- workers were excellent

there was no hard part

the most enjoyable part would have to be how great of a working environment it was.
Pros
the occassional bake sale
Cons
working area but it was renavated
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was busy work place.
Accounts Rep. (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON10 February 2015
It was a good experience. Reconciliations throughout the months-preparing of journal entries for all Grand & Toy stores in Canada.
Did some Impress accounts for the company. Management was mot too bad. Friendly atmosphere. I find no hardest part of any jobs.
My stay was an enjoyable one.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional,Challenging,open to new processes and good communication with colleagues.
Sr. Financial Analyst (Contract) (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON19 October 2014
Deadline oriented.Assisting co works to meet deadlines.
How to resolve issues dealing with different people.
Work as a team brainstorming to resolve issues when needed.
Getting information last minute fore deadline.
The challenges and problem solving.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical fast food
Crew Chief (Former Employee) –  Grande Prairie, AB7 July 2014
Standard fast food job environment. I did enjoy working for the franchise owners, they took good care of their employees.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Downtown, easy for me to get there from school
Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON23 April 2014
no overnight shifts, closed during the weekend.
i just helped customers find their office needs.
Order products for them either online or from the warehouse.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
busy as hell
Print Center Lead (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON2 April 2014
it was very busy during the transition from retail chain to business center
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
meh
labourer (Former Employee) –  seal winnipeg13 December 2013
grand and toy had a good family system in place however lack of organization in the warehouse limits efficiency
Pros
free lunches
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Opening and closing for the store
Senior Clerk (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON8 November 2013
Handle customer order over the phone and provide quick and appropriate customer service. Answering questons from staff and customer concerns.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Just a Job
Employee (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON5 November 2013
It was nothing special really. A boring but stable place to work. Managers were not very inventive, there wasnt a lot of room for fun or creativity. It paid the bills but was not challenging, there was not a lot of growth in the business.
Pros
Stable, Good Hours
Cons
Poor Culture, Poor Advancement, Boring
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Sales Clerk (Former Employee) –  Richmond, BC2 July 2013
Worked with a great group of individuals who were very knowledgeable with the staff.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Grand and Toy. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 26 reviews
56
49
38
22
11

Ratings by category

3.3Work/Life Balance
3.5Salary/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
2.9Management
3.5Culture