Grand & Toy Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An industry that was being replaced by online
Small Business Account Representative (Former Employee) –  Scotia Centre1 November 2017
This was a bit of a sinking ship within the roles that I was working so seeked out other employment. Compensation was not that great even though was usually top 2 in Western Canada for sale targets. Went through 7 different people to report into within the year that I was there.
Pros
Central location that you could walk to your clients
Cons
Wages
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people, poor management
Graphic Designer (Current Employee) –  Vaughan, ON18 October 2017
The culture and space is amazing! Great work from home and flex hours available. Unfortunately management is lacking. New ideas aren't brought forth, and there isn't any encouragement to innovate. Management is very much a factory of no....need to look towards the future
Pros
Beautiful office, great people
Cons
Understaffed, too many managers and not enough action
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fair Job
Operation Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB26 September 2017
No comments really!!! As I don't have anything good to say about this workplace they were unfair with me and some of the other employees. Expect that the pay as a supervisor was fair.
Pros
the pay
Cons
Manager
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Summary
Financial and Reporting Analyst (Former Employee) –  North York, ON9 August 2017
The company was or is a sinking ship. It was an awful place to work. I am glad that I am not there anymore. The people that I worked with were great. .
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Internship
ON Marketing Intern (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON14 July 2017
Gained a lot of access into the business to business world.
Learned a lot from seasoned professionals.
Did serious projects that wouldn't be expected of me.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Canadian icon in the all you need for your office
Interiors Product Specialist (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB4 May 2017
Great place to work with fantastic employees and hands on management. Progressive technology and processes with a great website for easy online purchasing.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
activité en déclin
Bilingual Recruiter (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON9 March 2017
Travaillant au bureau central en 2012 j'avais l'impression que le bureau était a moitié vide, comme si les gens quittaient et la compagnie ne recrutait plus. Mon contrat a été terminé a cause des mauvais résultats financiers de la compagnie.
Pros
Compagnie écologiquement consciente, bons produits
Cons
Dans le département RH un grand écart entre les ressources permanents et contractuels
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Grand & Toy
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  North York, ON7 March 2017
First retail job that I've done and I learned how to approach strangers if they needed my help with any product knowledge or anything that was needed from me.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Month to month vision
Sales (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON7 November 2016
Could be a great place to work but isn't. Handful of managers making decisions based on bean counting and playing favorites.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
G&t job
Confidential (Former Employee) –  Confidential4 October 2016
I worked there and learned a lot about the business. The industry is a challenge as declining margins make it difficult for investment.
Pros
Opportunity exists
Cons
Struggling industry
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
environnement de travail (Bonne)
Emballeur (Former Employee) –  Lachine, QC23 September 2016
actif, doit fournir une ligne de production, aller chercher les produit dans les locations approprier. Distribuer les produits sur la ligne ou secteur demander.
Pros
Activité
Cons
ligne souvent arreter
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great positive experience
Superviseur - Support aux ventes (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC19 September 2016
Great Team !

It's like working for a family business in an Global International business.

Good relation ,Great core values,Short term & long term strategic plan.

Fun place to work!
Pros
Team work
Cons
Big vision
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent
Key Accountant Manager Assistant (Former Employee) –  Vaughan, ON6 July 2016
It was the best place to work. Learned a lot and was recognized for promotions when needed. A large company that valued employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Summary of G&T
Director (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON22 June 2016
Great company - enjoyed my five years working with great associates. Unfortunately due to the merger with office depot many Director level jobs were eliminated.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family Oriented
Customer Care (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON17 May 2016
I was a Customer Care Representative with Grand & Toy for one year. The work environment was great and you were treated like a person and not just a number. All of the supervisors and upper management were approachable and always willing to listen to your ideas or troubles (personal).

Working at Grand & Toy was like working with your family, everyone helped everyone and we were all equals. I was deeply saddened when the call centre closed and I was no longer going to see all of these wonderful people everyday.

I would have retired here if I could...best company I have had the pleasure to work with.
Pros
Everything
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Copy Centre/Retail Associates
Copy Centre Manager (Former Employee) –  North Bay, ON1 February 2016
I enjoyed the people I worked with and dealing with the customers. I would help people with their printing needs. When I was in the retail part, I would help people find office supplies they needed or furniture they needed for their offices.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a great place to work while it lasted.
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON26 January 2016
Unfortunately Grand & Toy has shut down all retail stores.
Typical work day included helping customers, following direction from head office, counting inventory.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Loss Prevention Manager (Canada) (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON3 December 2015
A nice intimate company. My first National position with multiple high volume locations. Got to work with people all across Canada and the US.
Pros
Friendly work environment
Cons
Lots of travel
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed my print and promotional buying at Grand and Toy
National Print and Promotional Buyer (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON26 November 2015
Worked in a third party/broker model, procuring print and promotional goods for Canadian customers. Was busy, fun and enjoyable.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Can advance within the company with hard work
KAMA & FAMA (Former Employee) –  Vaughan, ON16 November 2015
Work ethic is acknowledged with growth opportunity. Sometimes management was not fully understanding of the roles they were supervising, however this is made up for by a great team and the ability to transition within the company.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Grand & Toy. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 41 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.8
Salary/Benefits
3.5
Job Security/Advancement
2.9
Management
3.3
Culture
3.5