Grand & Toy Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Account Manager (Former Employee) –  St. John's, NL18 April 2018
Great place to work. Staff very helpful. Management needs to be more productive with their sales people.

Management unable to make a decision without speaking to other management.
Pros
Nice workplace
Cons
Too much paper work
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Work/Life Balance.
Marketing Manager (Current Employee) –  Vaughan, ON19 March 2018
A great culture. People are passionate about their work. Leadership is engaging and pushing the envelope on innovation. Competitive salary and great work/life balance.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excelsior
Senior Systems Analyst/Programmer (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON11 March 2018
Excellent place to work.
Opportunities to learn.
Great benefits
Easy access from 404 highway.

“That's the thing about people who think they hate computers. What they really hate is lousy programmers.”
― Larry Niven

“Truth can only be found in one place: the code.”
― Robert C. Martin,
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun atmosphere
Sales Floor Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Richmond, BC18 December 2017
good staff pay was good , felt appreciated flexible hours , great discounts , lunch hour offered full and part time. the store has now closed down and this may not be applicable
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
difficult industry
Regional Director of Sales (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB11 December 2017
G&T is an excellent company in a difficult industry. Developing unique client value is the key to battling commoditization. G7t is a very creative company.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An industry that was being replaced by online
Small Business Account Representative (Former Employee) –  Scotia Centre1 November 2017
This was a bit of a sinking ship within the roles that I was working so seeked out other employment. Compensation was not that great even though was usually top 2 in Western Canada for sale targets. Went through 7 different people to report into within the year that I was there.
Pros
Central location that you could walk to your clients
Cons
Wages
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people, poor management
Graphic Designer (Current Employee) –  Vaughan, ON18 October 2017
The culture and space is amazing! Great work from home and flex hours available. Unfortunately management is lacking. New ideas aren't brought forth, and there isn't any encouragement to innovate. Management is very much a factory of no....need to look towards the future
Pros
Beautiful office, great people
Cons
Understaffed, too many managers and not enough action
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fair Job
Operation Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB26 September 2017
No comments really!!! As I don't have anything good to say about this workplace they were unfair with me and some of the other employees. Expect that the pay as a supervisor was fair.
Pros
the pay
Cons
Manager
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Summary
Financial and Reporting Analyst (Former Employee) –  North York, ON9 August 2017
The company was or is a sinking ship. It was an awful place to work. I am glad that I am not there anymore. The people that I worked with were great. .
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Internship
ON Marketing Intern (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON14 July 2017
Gained a lot of access into the business to business world.
Learned a lot from seasoned professionals.
Did serious projects that wouldn't be expected of me.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Canadian icon in the all you need for your office
Interiors Product Specialist (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB4 May 2017
Great place to work with fantastic employees and hands on management. Progressive technology and processes with a great website for easy online purchasing.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
activité en déclin
Bilingual Recruiter (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON9 March 2017
Travaillant au bureau central en 2012 j'avais l'impression que le bureau était a moitié vide, comme si les gens quittaient et la compagnie ne recrutait plus. Mon contrat a été terminé a cause des mauvais résultats financiers de la compagnie.
Pros
Compagnie écologiquement consciente, bons produits
Cons
Dans le département RH un grand écart entre les ressources permanents et contractuels
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Grand & Toy
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  North York, ON7 March 2017
First retail job that I've done and I learned how to approach strangers if they needed my help with any product knowledge or anything that was needed from me.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Month to month vision
Sales (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON7 November 2016
Could be a great place to work but isn't. Handful of managers making decisions based on bean counting and playing favorites.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
G&t job
Confidential (Former Employee) –  Confidential4 October 2016
I worked there and learned a lot about the business. The industry is a challenge as declining margins make it difficult for investment.
Pros
Opportunity exists
Cons
Struggling industry
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
environnement de travail (Bonne)
Emballeur (Former Employee) –  Lachine, QC23 September 2016
actif, doit fournir une ligne de production, aller chercher les produit dans les locations approprier. Distribuer les produits sur la ligne ou secteur demander.
Pros
Activité
Cons
ligne souvent arreter
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great positive experience
Superviseur - Support aux ventes (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC19 September 2016
Great Team !

It's like working for a family business in an Global International business.

Good relation ,Great core values,Short term & long term strategic plan.

Fun place to work!
Pros
Team work
Cons
Big vision
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent
Key Accountant Manager Assistant (Former Employee) –  Vaughan, ON6 July 2016
It was the best place to work. Learned a lot and was recognized for promotions when needed. A large company that valued employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Summary of G&T
Director (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON22 June 2016
Great company - enjoyed my five years working with great associates. Unfortunately due to the merger with office depot many Director level jobs were eliminated.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family Oriented
Customer Care (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON17 May 2016
I was a Customer Care Representative with Grand & Toy for one year. The work environment was great and you were treated like a person and not just a number. All of the supervisors and upper management were approachable and always willing to listen to your ideas or troubles (personal).

Working at Grand & Toy was like working with your family, everyone helped everyone and we were all equals. I was deeply saddened when the call centre closed and I was no longer going to see all of these wonderful people everyday.

I would have retired here if I could...best company I have had the pleasure to work with.
Pros
Everything
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Grand & Toy. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 46 reviews
513
418
36
26
13

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
3.6Salary/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.6Culture