Grainger Employee Reviews

Found 165 reviews matching the search See all 2,003 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Staff was fun to work with, managment made work environments difficult
Team lead (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB14 January 2019
Staff was fun to work with, managment made work environments difficult. Indecisive business decisions and poor communication
Good pay and benefits/holidays
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Get out
Warehouse Worker (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB4 January 2019
Worked for them for over 10 years, started off great...but when the economy went south, they started getting rid of people. They started with the most experienced people first....just my opinion.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Credit Specialist (Former Employee) –  Thornhill, ON6 December 2018
I loved working at AGI. The company has potential growth, the environment was bright and the people were very fun, energetic and easy to get along with. I would recommend this company to anyone, especially when you are not being micromanaged... which helps you get the work done at a timely manner without a manager hovering over you to get things done their way.

I hope this company remains like that forever. I unfortunately left the company because I had a baby and felt it was too difficult to go back to work after my maternity leave. I do regret leaving as I loved my job and would consider going back, should a position open in the near future.

Management is great to work with in this company and there is always room to grow!
Pros
great location, fun environment
Cons
one to two times a week required for late shift. Only a half hr lunch break, even though you work 8.5 hour days
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
terrible training, bad management
Warehouse Worker (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB west side22 November 2018
Would not recommend if you are looking for a stable job. management is poor, the company puts its needs ahead of the workers needs. Very disorganized and safety is ok at best.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great, knowledgable staff
Account Manager (Former Employee) –  Drumheller, AB24 October 2018
freedom to manage your account and develop your territory, excellent remuneration package and benefits, accessible, to major suppliers and training programs and product knowledge
Pros
acklands nation wide trade show
Cons
some staff do not follow a common goal to achieve success
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Fast paced work enviroment
Territory Sales/Counter Sales/Shipper Receiver (Former Employee) –  Kitimat, BC23 October 2018
Territory/Counter sales included phone and walk in customers from automotive and industrial trades.
Learned many different product lines and how to deal with all situations with customer service.
Management was keen and family focused
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good culture, ethical.
Account Manager (Former Employee) –  Brantford, ON23 October 2018
Great company in general with good people.
Best vendor partners, and training available.
Room to grow and increase your knowledge, with good support from direct management.
Annual Tradeshow and Gala was always fun!

Too many changes and loss of company focus in the end.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Environnement changeant constamment et stressant
Ventes internes (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC17 October 2018
Trop de changement de direction, pas de direction claire. Objectifs de rendement instables. Peu de considération pour les employés
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great culture and company to work for! Lots of changes!!
ISSR (Current Employee) –  Ontario15 October 2018
While currently going through huge changes in how they are going to market there has been many layoffs, as well as a mass exodus of a lot of great Leaders, Sales people and Support people.

With an appreciation for who Acklands-Grainger has been I only have positive things to say; but with the US parent company Grainger pushing more of their American vision of how an MRO business should be run I am not sure how this will work out. Many of the changes to keep Acklands-Grainger being a profitable company are necessary and while many of the changes created can only make things better some of the changes feel heavy handed, forced and yet another Canadian arm of a company becoming Americanized. I can only hope that with all of these changes Acklands comes out more stable and stays as Canadian as possible.
Pros
Great corporate culture, growth opportunities, clearly mapped plan that is communicated to all employees laying out their place in the plan
Cons
Current changes have created a lot of insecurity and uncertainty, US parent company trying to make another Canadian made company fit their mold
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive job
Senior / Semi-Senior, Credit and Collections (Former Employee) –  Richmond Hill, Ontario Canada30 September 2018
Good job for a short period of time
Administrative and Customer Service position.
Collections, Clerical and file support.
Attending customer over the phone with account statements.
Nice schedule and good boss.
Pros
Flexible Schedule working until 4pm
Cons
sometimes not supportive.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Acklands unit adapts to new realities
Manager (Former Employee) –  Alberta29 September 2018
Acklands unit undergoing rebuild of processes, objectives and footprint.
Focus is towards e-commerce with resulting impacts on branch numbers, fulfillment and on-line presence.
Pros
A leading on-line B2B supplier, connections and job opportunities with suppliers and international units.
Cons
Job security issues as business makes hard decisions to adapt to competitive environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Our branch was closed
Inside Sales/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Timmins, ON28 September 2018
Great co-workers to work with. Worked very well and had an excellent manager that was always willing to help all of us with any questions that we had.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Acklands Edson
Inside Sales/Warehouse/Outside Sales (Former Employee) –  Edson, AB23 September 2018
The work was good it was Monday to Friday 630 to 5 pm. great wage for a employee of 2 years. i was a warehouse worker to start then worked my way up to in side sales position in just over 1 year. i would still be with the company if it was not for the fact that they closed almost 200 stores in 2 years. my store being 1 of them.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company going thru changes.
Territory Manager (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON21 September 2018
Company going thru changes and it is a hard time to work there... It would be ok for short term employment but for a stable long term career this is not the place.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall a great place to work
Manager (Former Employee) –  Ontario10 September 2018
This was a great place to work with a great culture. The company has gone through a lot of change but that isn't uncommon these days with many companies of this size and business model.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Culture perdue entre le Canada et les États-Unis
direcetur de comptes (Former Employee) –  Longueuil, QC6 September 2018
Culture de l'entreprise perdue entre le Canada et les États-Unis
j'ai appris à gérer différents fournisseurs pour un meme produit
manager des comptes petits moyens et grands
travailler avec des clients qui sont dans le besoin.
Pros
bonis elevés
Cons
incompatibilité entre les services.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great learning experience
Shipping and Receiving (Current Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK5 September 2018
Well paying, there are lots of things to learn but to advance with the things you learn is hard and takes a lot of time unless the manager favors you. Decent hours unless you work nights. Needs to spend more time doing team building.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy yet rewarding work environment
Branch Manager (Former Employee) –  Brockville, ON4 September 2018
Very busy and demanding with a high turnover of sales staff. I learned branch operations and inventory management. The managers were fair but often quite stressed as pressure came from 'the top, down'. The culture was fun, yet demanding. There was seldom a time to relax. The hardest part of the job was maintaining the life/work balance as calls from managers were expected to be replied to day and night. The most enjoyable part of the job was the people and the stability of the job.
Pros
great people, rewarded for good work, 9 to 5 week days
Cons
demanding and fast paced
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company is downsizing
Large Project Account Manager (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB27 July 2018
This was once a great company to work for with a great culture. Sadly now they are shutting down branches and cutting positions. The big problem is the same management team has yet to solve any of the internal problems. Management continues to say that everything will be fixed in "18 months" but they have said this for the last 3 years. There is no chance of getting promoted now because they have eliminated so many positions. They just cut 40% of their sales positions and are now looking to fill most of these roles back at a lower Salary.
Pros
Good Work/Life Balance
Cons
Poor management. No room for advancement.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst job for stability
Tech Service Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB11 July 2018
Never knew one day to the next if you still had your job, when i frist started there 4 years ago i loved it! so many people with over 25 years within the company and then it all started going down hill
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Grainger. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 2,003 reviews
5634
4667
3449
2150
1103

Ratings by category

3.7Work/Life Balance
3.9Salary/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.6Culture