Grainger Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Culture perdue entre le Canada et les États-Unis
direcetur de comptes (Former Employee) –  Longueuil, QC6 September 2018
Culture de l'entreprise perdue entre le Canada et les États-Unis
j'ai appris à gérer différents fournisseurs pour un meme produit
manager des comptes petits moyens et grands
travailler avec des clients qui sont dans le besoin.
Pros
bonis elevés
Cons
incompatibilité entre les services.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great learning experience
Shipping and Receiving (Current Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK5 September 2018
Well paying, there are lots of things to learn but to advance with the things you learn is hard and takes a lot of time unless the manager favors you. Decent hours unless you work nights. Needs to spend more time doing team building.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy yet rewarding work environment
Branch Manager (Former Employee) –  Brockville, ON4 September 2018
Very busy and demanding with a high turnover of sales staff. I learned branch operations and inventory management. The managers were fair but often quite stressed as pressure came from 'the top, down'. The culture was fun, yet demanding. There was seldom a time to relax. The hardest part of the job was maintaining the life/work balance as calls from managers were expected to be replied to day and night. The most enjoyable part of the job was the people and the stability of the job.
Pros
great people, rewarded for good work, 9 to 5 week days
Cons
demanding and fast paced
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company is downsizing
Large Project Account Manager (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB27 July 2018
This was once a great company to work for with a great culture. Sadly now they are shutting down branches and cutting positions. The big problem is the same management team has yet to solve any of the internal problems. Management continues to say that everything will be fixed in "18 months" but they have said this for the last 3 years. There is no chance of getting promoted now because they have eliminated so many positions. They just cut 40% of their sales positions and are now looking to fill most of these roles back at a lower Salary.
Pros
Good Work/Life Balance
Cons
Poor management. No room for advancement.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst job for stability
Tech Service Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB11 July 2018
Never knew one day to the next if you still had your job, when i frist started there 4 years ago i loved it! so many people with over 25 years within the company and then it all started going down hill
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
meh
Account Manager (Outside Sales) (Current Employee) –  Thornhill, ON10 July 2018
SO much has changed, I wouldn't know where to begin
Massive cuts, publicly owned, so profit for shareholders is bottom line
manager turn over is rediculous
new "startegies" come out every 6 month - there is zero commitment
Pros
flexibility
Cons
no security
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pay not bad
ASSOCIATE (Former Employee) –  Alberta6 July 2018
Work culture not ideal, but pay not bad either. Workers not as engaged, but so do some managers. Trimmed benefits down and micromanaging seem to be the trend.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Product sales and customer service
Inside Sales and Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB3 July 2018
A day at work is handling walk in customer from your employees who work for large corporations and have accounts with us to the on the go contractor who works for himself. Product knowledge is key in this job as we sell thousands of different items in multiple categories.
Pros
Great work environment
Cons
Staff cutbacks reducing jobs
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company that is going through a huge turn around
Account Manager (Current Employee) –  Canada19 June 2018
Grainger is our parent company to be clear. Great boss, great people, unfortunately there has been cataclysmic change at AGI that has spawned an exodus of good talent and tough to attract the best when you on a low which makes it difficult for the core talent that has stayed to see the transition through. Nothing negative to say, company has always supported me and my goals. We will see were AGI ends up, I am hoping stronger and better than ever.
Pros
Good pay, great people
Cons
Massive transformation of company over last few years. Lots of pain
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun workplace
Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB11 June 2018
Productive and fun workplace. Long hour, experts in courier business. Delivered freight within a designated route in the city. The most enjoyable part of the job were the corporate BBQ meetings in an open area.
Pros
Free steel toe boots
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Warning Mass Layoffs - No One is Safe
Account Manager (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON4 June 2018
I worked at AGI for less than 3 months before a mass termination meant I was out of a job because my "position no longer exists"
Best part is that they head hunted me and persuaded me to come work there with job security lies and promises of professional development.

Don't bother until the dust settles.
Pros
Good Bonus Structure
Cons
Zero Job Security.
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work with great co-workers
Warehouseman (Current Employee) –  Kamloops, BC3 June 2018
Acklands-Grainger is a good place to work with great people to work with. I have been learning a new database which at times is difficult but getting easier the more I use it. Our management is good and fair with very good communication with the workers. A typical day is picking customer orders, shipping/receiving, loading/unloading trucks, stocking shelves and preparing orders to be taken by the outside sales reps. I would say the hardest part is still learning the new database.
Pros
good employee discounts, excellent co-workers
Cons
part-time hours only, no benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good company to work with
Order Management Specialist (Current Employee) –  Markham, ON19 May 2018
I had a very good experience with this company, learned a lot and got ready to move on to the new jobs and positions.the leadership was always ready to push me for more growing and improvement.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Blah
I was there (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB12 May 2018
Management is misleading, There is no longer a culture other than than warehouse type which took all the degenerate losers that cannot pack order to the branches and now expect them to ship correctly directly to customers.
Pros
I was left handed and made fun of everyday
Cons
stupid right handers dominanted
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place for a Summer Student
Warehouse Support - Summer Relief (Former Employee) –  Regina, SK11 May 2018
This job was a physically demanding job as I was on my feet the whole day but the people were great to work with and the employee pricing benefits were fantastic.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
production and fun place
Warehouse Associate level 2 (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB5 May 2018
Pulled inventory from racks either manually or using automated equipment and hand-held devices.
Automated inventory such as “Manhattan Warehouse Inventory” and “Cloud Application”.
Fill and complete customer orders in containers and shipping boxes.
Perform quality checks to identify and replace damaged materials.
Shrink wrap products and material orders prior to loading on trucks.
Monitored inventory levels to determined need for stock replacement.
Filled customer ordered according to size, color, quantity, and quality specifications.
Maintained order picking equipment and facilitate repairs in case of damage.
Carried loaded and unloaded material ordered and shipped.
Received and shipped using automated labels for fast and efficient inventory.
Weighed individual packages prior to delivery to ensure they meet weight specifications.
Maintained prosper record of shipped packages using computer programs.
Pros
overtime
Cons
too much work
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Travail et environnement agréable
représentante service a la clientèle interne (Current Employee) –  Québec City, QC16 April 2018
C'est une grande entreprise ou il fait bon travailler.
Pros
salaire, avantages sociaux
Cons
restructuration entreprise actuellement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people to work, a
Inside Sales Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Cambridge, ON3 April 2018
the people were great to work with. but unfortunately everything is moving to online purchasing and shipping from new DC so company is going through a big change. Company did set some unreasonable goals and expectations and communication from the higher ups was very lacking and always changing.
Pros
pretty good pay and benefits
Cons
bad communication
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
amazing
Inventory Clerk (Former Employee) –  Mount Pearl, NL31 March 2018
It was amazing working here, they were so helpful if you weren't sure on what exactly had to be done. I was only there for a couple of days out of the year for inventory but it was still never the less amazing!
Pros
na
Cons
n/a
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
"Can do" attitude but undergoing a lot of change
Manager (Current Employee) –  Canada31 March 2018
The company is undergoing massive change.

All for the better but with current changes, the organization has let go a lot of talented individuals.

Acklands is investing internally to make it the strongest supplier in the MRO space.

The culture has been great, making the team your family away from home.
Pros
it's people, can do attitude.
Cons
massive change
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Grainger. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 1,879 reviews
5592
4629
3427
2142
189

Ratings by category

3.7Work/Life Balance
3.9Salary/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.6Culture