Graham Construction Employee Reviews

Showing all 95 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable work team
Site Safety Manager (Former Employee) –  Port Dover, ON9 July 2019
Excellent company to work for. Dedicated to health and safety program.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very good company for a civil company
Material Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB28 May 2019
I worked for the union side of Graham (BFI), the culture here was very selective and depended on who you knew. overall they were a good company to work for.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
average
Operator (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB2 April 2019
graham was a good job but when oil hit the bottom graham did not have the work needed to keep us all busy so a lot of people were laid off without warning
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great money and great hours.
General labourer (Former Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK26 March 2019
The pay combined with the amount of hours you receive outweighs the bad in my opinion but that doesn't excuse the way you're treated by higher-ups sometimes. Work hard and keep your head down and you won't draw any unwanted attention from the superiors.
Pros
Good money, good hours, and good benefits.
Cons
You're only a worker to them, not a person.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Operating
Haul Truck Operator (Current Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB5 March 2019
If you are looking for work and making money graham is a great company to work for. Nothing bad to say about these guys. Good wages and decent schedule.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family friendly place to work
Manager Service Desk and IT Field Services (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB18 February 2019
Supportive family friendly workplace with good benefits and compensation program. Good team and workplace culture. Hierarchical management style difficult to work with at times.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not too bad
Sr. HSE Field Safety Lead (Former Employee) –  Regina, SK24 January 2019
I enjoyed my time with Graham. Yes, I worked alot out of town. It was expected and part of the job. The only thing I would be concerned about it that they do not want their employees, who are project based employees, to work in the same town they reside in. Not sure why. I was a senior HSE and when word came that a new project was awarded in my place of residence, I applied internally, only to be shunned despite being highly qualified for it. I was later told by people who knew the practices, that it was because it was in my own backyard.
But other than that, I enjoyed my time there. Good people, challenging and the pay wasnt bad.
I would work for them again.
Pros
The people and pay
Cons
dont expect to work in your own backyard
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Project Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB12 December 2018
A great company to work for, provided me with excellent work experience and allot of opportunities. Great culture and a very positive work environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hardworking environment with room to grow.
Structural Project Coordinator Co-Op Student (Current Employee) –  Victoria, BC4 November 2018
There's always more work to do, and I mean that in a good way. Tons of opportunity to grow and learn from the many well-managed and knowledgeable workers. Great experience.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work/Life Balance - Coworkers
Document Controller (Former Employee) –  Grande Prairie, AB17 September 2018
Not a great work/life balance. Expected to work weekends & evenings without any additional benefits to you.

Great coworkers to work with, felt like family.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and a very easy and laid back place to work
Accounting and payroll admin (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB17 July 2018
A typical day at work is very laid back and outgoing. The management is pretty cool and easy going. The hardest part of the job is making sure the forecast for the job is up to date.
Pros
easy going, great benefits
Cons
long hours, no overtime
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Employee owned business
Accounts Payable Clerk (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB20 June 2018
Strong commitment to safety in the workplace
Grounded and family-oriented workplace in a progressive environment that is at the forefront of a fast evolving business sector
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 4Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Graham
Superintendent (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB11 June 2018
I did not fine it to be a positive work environment, nor fine the support from the office it should have given to field staff.... But the wages and benefits were good..
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great work place always hot out cause its in the heat on a black ho roof
Bricklayer Labourer (Current Employee) –  Chatham-Kent, ON7 June 2018
i would lay bricks down on the houses my self an touch them up loaded unloaded bricks an materials mixed cement for the motor laid bricks for foundation
Pros
free unches
Cons
i worked long hours 7 am in morning until 8 pm at night 13 hours sometimes
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very productive
Skilled Labourer (Former Employee) –  Regina, SK7 May 2018
I have learned skills at Graham that I can take with me to future workplaces. Some of the duties I have done are:
• Elevations with laser level
• Work exclusively with Skid-Steers to make elevation in tight work area
• Spot Skid-Steers around structures
• General Clean up
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a good place to work
Senior Financial Analyst - Contract (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB11 April 2018
i was a contractor so not really an employee

good environment at Graham and nice people

very fair and a good environment

good place to learn and be challenged
Pros
good environment
Cons
low comp
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome and fun place to work at.
IT Field Service Analyst (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB2 April 2018
It was a great place to work, learned many new things and great people to work with. Competitive pay and benefits. Unfortunately contract was cut short.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fluor
Operations Accounting Clerk (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB16 March 2018
Fluor is a great company to work for. Very reliable work. Great people to work for. They are organized and they pay very well. The training department is also very good. Management was always very professional and well put together.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 4Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not in Payroll
Payroll (Current Employee) –  Calgary, Canada10 March 2018
Overall the company is good but not in Payroll.
The management treated people in payroll as machines and often unfairly.
Payroll Manager is micro managing.
Counting all errors.
Pointing out.
No appreciation
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The crew was enjoyable to work with.
Assistant Crew Leader (Former Employee) –  Ontario/Alberta5 February 2018
To some degree from one job to the next some were the same yet enjoyable. Management handed over responsibility to myself as they saw fit,once they hand gone through the training process.
Pros
Fridays were half days
Cons
away from family to much
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Graham Construction. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 95 reviews
533
432
322
23
15

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
3.9Salary/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.5Management
3.8Culture