Government of Saskatchewan Employee Reviews

Showing all 57 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
political
OCCUPATIONAL HEALTH AND SAFETY OFFICER (Former Employee) –  Regina, SK6 March 2019
The job actions by the employer were to politically motivated vs what was best for workers in the province. In my opinion large companies were not required to follow the same safety rules as small companies were required to comply with.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Extremely negative work experience
Administrative Assistant/Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Lloydminster, SK4 March 2019
Regret accepting this position. Clients were all nice (nothing negative in that aspect) but management is very difficult, back stabbing and ungrateful.
Pros
none
Cons
too many to list
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very poor management.
PO (Former Employee) –  Regina, SK4 February 2019
Worked here for two terms, if you care about your job and take pride in your work this is not the place to be. Management doesn't care if you work hard. It's all about numbers.
If you're dedicated and want to make a difference, go elsewhere. So sad but so true.
Cons
Terrible management.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exercise
Forrester Protection Worker I (Former Employee) –  Stony Rapids Saskatchewan Canada24 January 2019
Hot summer days great training crews and to work with best part of the Job I liked was flying in air planes and back burning fires hardest part was when the season was over
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Occupational Health & Safety
Occupational Health and Safety Officer (Current Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK16 January 2019
The colleagues were great but beware of management. The management will segregate workers and harass them. If you attempt to stand up you will be written up and let go. The least healthy management I have ever had to work for in my 12+ years. I would suggest to stay private sector safety as OH&S doesn't have the power everyone thinks they do. Very few officers are able to give tickets, development is not encouraged but more frowned upon. The salary is mediocre at best compared to private sector. The only positive is the excess of vacation that you're able to take.
Pros
Vacation time, co-workers
Cons
Management, no development offered.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok job
Eligibility Review Worker (Current Employee) –  Regina, SK17 December 2018
Good job overall. Fairly high level of stress. Monday to Friday with every second Friday off.

Hardest part of job is dealing with stress. Good co-workers helps
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced environment
Judicial Officer (Current Employee) –  Lloydminster, SK12 October 2018
Alot of information to absob and learn in a short amount of time. Training was not efficient. Fast paced environment. Never a dull moment. Unsafe work environment when on circuit court.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's Government, what else can I say?
Executive Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Regina, SK11 October 2018
It's hard to rate what it's like working within government. I can say that working with the Ministry of Agriculture is wonderful. It is a workplace that deeply commits to its values, inclusion and culture.
Pros
Believes in leadership at any level
Cons
Limited career advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fasted paced and friendly staff
Corrections Officer and Riot Squad Member (Former Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK6 September 2018
Good wages with excellent benefits package and friendly staff makes the work place a choice place to work, management is well trained as well as employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 5Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If only as stepping stone for you
Document Clerk (Former Employee) –  Regina, SK10 August 2018
This was a starting job. It has very nice benefits if you can afford to stay long enough emotionally and physically. The stress was not coming from the work, but from the management and some people. Management did not do any for people, whom work hard and on time. Instead, they choose their fervor. If you are not, no matter what you do. They will find excuses to point you out. Maybe that is why they have such high turnout rate.
Pros
Most co-workers are very nice; steady time and pay
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 12NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Government Experience
Program Integrity Officer (PIU), SINP (Current Employee) –  Regina, SK9 August 2018
Government employee experience in the Ministry of Immigration and Career Training, I possess a comprehensive skill set and hands-on understanding necessary to affect positive, overreaching outcomes in this role.

During my employment, I am responsible for a number of duties including handling all complaints related to immigrants, employers, foreign worker recruiters and immigration consultants - where mistreatment under The Foreign Worker Recruitment and Immigration Services Act or fraud or misrepresentation has been reported or suspected.

My experience is not limited to just doing everyday run of the mill tasks that are part of handling complaints; I have the opportunity to plan and organize multiple, complex tasks and projects taking into consideration conflicting and changing priorities to meet strict and/or changing deadlines; Ability to develop positive working relationships with internal and external stakeholders to ensure compliance and resolve problems.
Pros
Creative job
Cons
Contract Based
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Only as a stepping stone...
Person (Former Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK3 August 2018
Senior management is out of touch. They lack any true leadership and are only interested in themselves and supporting those in their circle. Professional development is non-existent. Lots of turnover and people leave often, all due to leadership. It's a decent stepping stone but you will beat your head against the wall. They don't want innovative minds, and if you think you have ideas for improvement, they will beat that out of you.
Pros
There are some amazing people in scope.
Cons
Leadership; they dont live by their values; professional development is not a thing
Was this review helpful?Yes 17NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learned alot
Executive Assistant (Former Employee) –  Regina, SK30 July 2018
One of the best jobs that I have ever had. I learned a alot about government and govenment protocals.

Each office was like its own little family. Which helped to lower the stress of the high stress position.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good hours
Government Service Worker (Former Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK13 June 2018
daily duties included cleaning the facility I was in, Really enjoyed the diversity within the job. I worked around some fantastic people and made some life long friends.
Pros
great benifits
Cons
Brad Wall Fired Us
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 4Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional Workplace
Renewal Project Technician (Former Employee) –  Prince Albert, SK10 June 2018
Excellent work environment. Good pay and room to move around if you can get on fulltime. No overtime if that is your thing, and no weekends which is very nice.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
3 stars
Forest Service (Current Employee) –  Prince Albert, SK15 February 2018
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was fun but it had its down side
Park Maintenance (Former Employee) –  Chitek Lake, SK1 February 2018
It was an okay job, the good thing was that it paid well. The management wasn't the best but the other co-workers we great. They made going to work in the morning very enjoyable.
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Co-operative team environment
Quality Assurance Analyst (Former Employee) (Former Employee) –  Regina, SK26 January 2018
Opportunity to learn a lot about the business side of things form Pension perspective. Team environment is good and co-operative. Also, get a lot of support from Manager. The pay is very low considering resource experience and skill set.
Pros
Work life balance is manageable
Cons
Low wage
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 4Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work environment
Verification Officer (Former Employee) –  Regina, SK10 November 2017
Close knit,
family feel,
accommodating.
Great pension benefits.
progressive pay increase
unionized
One of the best places I've worked
Good work culture
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 5Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy with clients
Client Service Consultant (Former Employee) –  Meadow Lake, SK11 October 2017
Arrive at around 8:15 am each morning, check my emails and messages. i usually have clients booked with appointment. get ready for my client to show up. i learned that if you develop a good working relationship with your clients it really helps with their self esteem. they give more attention to their needs. the management was very supportive. the workplace culture was great, the hardest part about the job was not having client show up for their appointment, i try to think of new way to get them to come. the most enjoyable was seeing a client head of to work and knowing that he will do great in his new position.
Pros
successful clients
Cons
clients missing appointments
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 3Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Government of Saskatchewan. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 57 reviews
524
412
313
24
14

Ratings by category

3.9Work/Life Balance
3.6Salary/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.5Culture

Government of Saskatchewan Reviews by Location