Government of Canada Employee Reviews

Found 168 reviews matching the search See all 172 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My current job fits me perfectly
Programmer Analyst (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON9 November 2018
am a programmer analyst for 25+ years altogether and this is the first time where i feel i am being recognized for the work i am doing. elsewhere the driving identifier was how much i cost to be employed,
Pros
Good life-work balanceq
Cons
Government employees that are more like the public perception than i am like
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place
Foreign Affairs Officer/Passport Officer (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB8 November 2018
Typical work day with most of the time normal business hours, some after hours on call work but limited and compensated.

Very stressful job but was worth it in the end. If it wasn't for budget cuts and program being discontinued it would of saved alot of jobs.

Not many of opportunities in this dept at the current moment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Deputy ERP solution Manager (Current Employee) –  Gatineau, QC7 November 2018
Good place to work.
Depending on manager can be flexibility at work, compress time, some work at home.
Depending on manager can be a good place and fun place to work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good production nd good sports
Sale executive (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON5 November 2018
It well occupy and good view, it make worker to focuse in their work, it provide enough equipments for the worker nd free accommodation nd free lunch
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
Long hours nd break
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer service
Federal Government of Canada Passport Officer (Former Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK2 October 2018
very busy workplace, fast paced environment, easy to work with management, very accommodating and helpful ., extensive training always available, hard to find parking
Pros
good hours good staff
Cons
very busy environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 22No 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Payment service officer
Payment service officer (Former Employee) –  SK23 September 2018
High turnover of employees as the training program is not competent enough. Training is designed in such a way to fail you at the end.
A typical day at work- Dealing with customers about their claims over the phone( 7.5 hours of work).
Left my full-time job in an anticipation for getting a decent job. Left with no option at the end. They made you sit in the training room for 3 months with NO real-life (job experience) on the phone or dealing with the strenuous case environment.
Highly stressful...
Please weigh out your options before you say YES to this.
Good luck
Pros
Good benefits.8-4
Was this review helpful?Yes 33No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, knowledgeable
Election Canada QC (Current Employee) –  Gatineau, QC7 September 2018
Great environment, interacting with government users, managing Service Desk agents and preparing and formatting various documents for Senior Deputy users.

Ensured the escalation team and management is kept informed on severity Incidents.
Was this review helpful?Yes 21No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Being able to make a deference in someone’s life every day.
Agente de Liaison (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON27 August 2018
Productive and fun workplace with exercise equipment to help us stay active. Being able to make a deference in someone’s life every day. I worked with different culture and learned about frequency.
Pros
Flexible hours
Cons
parking
Was this review helpful?Yes 22No 4Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Am well capable to improve on the productive of the company
Cleaner/Maintenance (Former Employee) –  Toronto Zoo, ON21 August 2018
Am capable of doing any job in order to improve on the company because am strong enough to do any job given to me and also i willing to serve the company
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 27No 19Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a paycheck - but don't expect it to be fair
Executive Assistant (Former Employee) –  St. John's, NL15 August 2018
I was consistently given contract extension for almost two years, however every contract extension (on average every two to three months was a new contract) I would have pay issues and my income would cease for two to four weeks. Management could have given me up to six months on each contract but they did not choose to go that route. Eventually I had to leave the occupation due to poor management and seriously biased job culture.
Was this review helpful?Yes 29No 5Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Innovative position
IT User Assistance (Current Employee) –  Vancouver, BC26 July 2018
•Hours and great (very flexible)
•Work environment and culture is very welcoming
•Many different departments available to move around and grow within
Was this review helpful?Yes 34No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Porfessional, very knowledgeable, challenging, demanding
ESDC - Junior Project Officer - Gatineau (Current Employee) –  Gatineau, QC17 July 2018
- Expanded my word, excel, and computer skills tremendously
- Constantly learning new fields of work (product management, IT support, content and IA)
- Applying my schooling directly into my work
- Very challenging and demanding, but rewarding
- high pressure and stress at times
- High level work
- Multiple of projects on the go so time management is key
- Being in the department for so long, a lot od people trust and rely on me constantly. It's appreciated and has allowed me to grow as an individual personally, career wise, and skill wise.
- Sometimes there can be too many conflicting tasks and not enough hours to work. Especially during my school terms, it can a lot, but never too much. I've always managed and performed well.
Pros
Hard work, challenging, growing my skills, applying my skills learnt in school
Cons
a lot to handle at times, but well worth it
Was this review helpful?Yes 21No 3Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Phoenix pay system brings overall rating down.
Contract Inspector (Current Employee) –  Alberta15 July 2018
The Phoenix pay system is slow and prone to drastic errors. That is a significant factor when rating an otherwise fulfilling career path. Department of National Defense is interesting and rewarding in many ways.
Pros
Job security; interesting
Cons
Pay system!
Was this review helpful?Yes 17No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Orderly, Federal Government Temporary Job
Statistics Collector Call-Center Specialist (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB12 July 2018
It was unique to take part in the call center for the Canada Census which helped me to understand why so many questions are necessary for our governments to plan budgets, where schools and parks should be built, and more.
Pros
Regular Hours
Cons
Temporary Posiition
Was this review helpful?Yes 21No 8Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fulfilling helping others
Citizen Services Officer (Current Employee) –  Montréal, QC11 July 2018
Helping others in need. Very demanding and fast pace environment. Very difficult for career development and advancement. Learn about laws and regulations for services to the public.
Pros
good benefits and competitive salary
Cons
no flexibility
Was this review helpful?Yes 23No 4Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly people with a smile on their face
Intern - Business Intelligence Analyst (Former Employee) –  Gatineau, QC29 June 2018
Nice work environment, friendly and very cooperative people. The lunches are fun and there's a big food court downstairs and you can enjoy your meal with colleagues. Management is bit poor, they do not manage the staff properly
Pros
Positive Environment
Cons
Lack of tasks
Was this review helpful?Yes 14No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Carpentry Assistant/Labourer (Former Employee) –  Mount Pearl, NL18 June 2018
• Processed payments using Client Automated Payment System
• Verified authorizations and amalgamated with appropriate invoices
• Produced daily financial reports using the Financial Management System
• Maintained vendor file information for the Department of Finance
• Responded to inquiries from suppliers, departmental employees, and others with respect to payment processing and processed invoices
• Provided financial guidance and support to District, Provincial Office and regional staff
• Liaised with the Department of Finance on a regular basis
Was this review helpful?Yes 17No 4Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very nice and productive work environment
Research Associate (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON13 June 2018
The researchers were all very nice and all were each interested in each others research work. The work requires mostly independence in conducting your own experiments but everyone was willing to pitch in when needed.
Was this review helpful?Yes 27No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Places I have worked have rewarded proficiency with $. They tried to do this.
Senior Policy Advisor (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON22 May 2018
My time with NAFC was rewarding. With TAAG not so much. The pressure on consulting companies is intense, and that is reflected in the work expectation
Pros
Some freedom
Cons
Unrequited influence
Was this review helpful?Yes 33No 6Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Friendly and Productive
Research Analyst (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON5 May 2018
Working in the federal government is undoubtedly a memorable and learning experience. A typical day includes having your Tim Horton coffee and having a few short meetings on a daily basis..
Was this review helpful?Yes 21No 14Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Government of Canada. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 172 reviews
578
454
326
28
16

Ratings by category

4.2Work/Life Balance
4.1Salary/Benefits
3.6Job Security/Advancement
3.7Management
3.8Culture