Government of Canada Employee Reviews

Found 173 reviews matching the search See all 178 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Federal Government Office
COMMUNITY STAKEHOLDER RELATIONS (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON30 December 2018
It was a privilege to work for the Member of Parliament for the riding of Mississauga-Streetsville. I interacted with and dealt with leaders of the many cultural communities that call Canada home.
Pros
Varied responsibility, exposure to various communities
Cons
Job stability is dictated by the electorate
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Payment Service Officer, ON
Payment Services Officer (Former Employee) –  Ontario9 December 2018
Left best earnings job for PSO, 12 weeks of training in class with constant fear of losing employment. No one will tell you about 6 tests to pass, each test 3 to 4 hours long. After passing basic information of 12 weeks training now you're on floor with coach. Coaches will play with your confidence and constant reminder of you are not capable under the umbrella of we will support you to become successful. After 10 days of coaching poor management will serve you action plan because now you're not capable of working. What taught in class is just basic information about the job, what is on floor is completely different. If you get simple calls that will also concerned the management.

Please beware of taking this position or move out from your place to another. Poor management.

Job is not hard but the way management treats you and play with your self confidence. It will drain your energy and you will start having 2nd guess of yourself.
Pros
Good working hours, benefits
Cons
Worst environment, poor management
Was this review helpful?Yes 24No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An easy place to work, easy to get along with most people
Communication (Current Employee) –  Hamilton, ON2 December 2018
It's an easy place to work at although it can be quite uncertain because most people are on contracts so it could be tense sometimes. Overall work life balance can be maintained.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 4Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Hours
Enumerator (Former Employee) –  Stephenville, NL30 November 2018
Great hours, got to meet people and enjoy the community. Working by myself for the most part was great. People are wonderful to talk to about their lives
Pros
great hours
Cons
lots of walking
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very relaxing, but no meaningful work
Programmer Analyst (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON23 November 2018
The Government is a great part-time job for students to gain some experience working in a production environment. Do not expect much meaningful work, as the process within the Government is quite slow and the tech is out-dated.
Pros
Relaxing day to day tasks
Cons
Boring environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mostly you worked on your own terms.
Statistics Canada - Enumerator (Former Employee) –  Thunder Bay, ON13 November 2018
I was working for the 2016 census in hopes of transferring seamlessly from Oshawa to Thunder Bay. Unfortunately, it didn't work out. But, going door to door to collect census data was for a good cause and benefited the Government of Canada.
Pros
Flexible working conditions.
Cons
My intentions did not work out.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My current job fits me perfectly
Programmer Analyst (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON9 November 2018
am a programmer analyst for 25+ years altogether and this is the first time where i feel i am being recognized for the work i am doing. elsewhere the driving identifier was how much i cost to be employed,
Pros
Good life-work balanceq
Cons
Government employees that are more like the public perception than i am like
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 4Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place
Foreign Affairs Officer/Passport Officer (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB8 November 2018
Typical work day with most of the time normal business hours, some after hours on call work but limited and compensated.

Very stressful job but was worth it in the end. If it wasn't for budget cuts and program being discontinued it would of saved alot of jobs.

Not many of opportunities in this dept at the current moment
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Deputy ERP solution Manager (Current Employee) –  Gatineau, QC7 November 2018
Good place to work.
Depending on manager can be flexibility at work, compress time, some work at home.
Depending on manager can be a good place and fun place to work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good production nd good sports
Sale executive (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON5 November 2018
It well occupy and good view, it make worker to focuse in their work, it provide enough equipments for the worker nd free accommodation nd free lunch
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
Long hours nd break
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 4Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer service
Federal Government of Canada Passport Officer (Former Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK2 October 2018
very busy workplace, fast paced environment, easy to work with management, very accommodating and helpful ., extensive training always available, hard to find parking
Pros
good hours good staff
Cons
very busy environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 32No 3Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Payment service officer
Payment service officer (Former Employee) –  SK23 September 2018
High turnover of employees as the training program is not competent enough. Training is designed in such a way to fail you at the end.
A typical day at work- Dealing with customers about their claims over the phone( 7.5 hours of work).
Left my full-time job in an anticipation for getting a decent job. Left with no option at the end. They made you sit in the training room for 3 months with NO real-life (job experience) on the phone or dealing with the strenuous case environment.
Highly stressful...
Please weigh out your options before you say YES to this.
Good luck
Pros
Good benefits.8-4
Was this review helpful?Yes 50No 5Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, knowledgeable
Election Canada QC (Current Employee) –  Gatineau, QC7 September 2018
Great environment, interacting with government users, managing Service Desk agents and preparing and formatting various documents for Senior Deputy users.

Ensured the escalation team and management is kept informed on severity Incidents.
Was this review helpful?Yes 22No 4Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Being able to make a deference in someone’s life every day.
Agente de Liaison (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON27 August 2018
Productive and fun workplace with exercise equipment to help us stay active. Being able to make a deference in someone’s life every day. I worked with different culture and learned about frequency.
Pros
Flexible hours
Cons
parking
Was this review helpful?Yes 24No 5Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Am well capable to improve on the productive of the company
Cleaner/Maintenance (Former Employee) –  Toronto Zoo, ON21 August 2018
Am capable of doing any job in order to improve on the company because am strong enough to do any job given to me and also i willing to serve the company
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 34No 25Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a paycheck - but don't expect it to be fair
Executive Assistant (Former Employee) –  St. John's, NL15 August 2018
I was consistently given contract extension for almost two years, however every contract extension (on average every two to three months was a new contract) I would have pay issues and my income would cease for two to four weeks. Management could have given me up to six months on each contract but they did not choose to go that route. Eventually I had to leave the occupation due to poor management and seriously biased job culture.
Was this review helpful?Yes 39No 5Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Innovative position
IT User Assistance (Current Employee) –  Vancouver, BC26 July 2018
•Hours and great (very flexible)
•Work environment and culture is very welcoming
•Many different departments available to move around and grow within
Was this review helpful?Yes 39No 4Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Phoenix pay system brings overall rating down.
Contract Inspector (Current Employee) –  Alberta15 July 2018
The Phoenix pay system is slow and prone to drastic errors. That is a significant factor when rating an otherwise fulfilling career path. Department of National Defense is interesting and rewarding in many ways.
Pros
Job security; interesting
Cons
Pay system!
Was this review helpful?Yes 19No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Orderly, Federal Government Temporary Job
Statistics Collector Call-Center Specialist (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB12 July 2018
It was unique to take part in the call center for the Canada Census which helped me to understand why so many questions are necessary for our governments to plan budgets, where schools and parks should be built, and more.
Pros
Regular Hours
Cons
Temporary Posiition
Was this review helpful?Yes 21No 10Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fulfilling helping others
Citizen Services Officer (Current Employee) –  Montréal, QC11 July 2018
Helping others in need. Very demanding and fast pace environment. Very difficult for career development and advancement. Learn about laws and regulations for services to the public.
Pros
good benefits and competitive salary
Cons
no flexibility
Was this review helpful?Yes 32No 5Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Government of Canada. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 178 reviews
581
456
326
28
17

Ratings by category

4.2Work/Life Balance
4.1Salary/Benefits
3.7Job Security/Advancement
3.7Management
3.8Culture