Government Of Alberta Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
social committee fun
HUMAN RESOURCES PROGRAM ASSISTANT (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB29 September 2015
Co-Chair of the social committee was so much fun, got to network and bring the team together.
I loved all the training provided by the gov.
Work life balance was amazing
Pros
birthday celebration
Cons
hard to coordinate
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Helicopter Initial Action Firefighting
Wild land firefighter type 1 Helitack (Current Employee) –  High Prairie, AB18 September 2015
Fire Suppression
Educating the public on wildfire prevention
Proficient use and maintenance of hand tools, chainsaws and pumps
Reliability and dependency between crew members
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working here can reach your potential
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  Edmonton11 August 2015
Helping the vulnerable people makes me feel very happy. We are having a lot of teamwork activities in our workplace such as building Legos, bake sale for fundraiser, helping set up with communities BBQ, blood drive etc.
Was this review helpful?Yes 20No 12Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a scope oriented work environment
Java Developer (Contractor) (Former Employee) –  Edmonton7 August 2015
you do your job, control your progress and report your status.
good manager and co-workers and very polite and respect your professional area.
Was this review helpful?Yes 15No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent management and moral
Systems Analyst II - Lead (Former Employee) –  Red Deer, AB27 July 2015
Loved working for and with the people in the GoA. People were always very happy to see me and more than cooperative. There was little room for advancement and the political decision to contract out was beyond my control
Was this review helpful?Yes 15No 8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No two days were the same
Correctional Peace Officer (Former Employee) –  Fort Saskatchewan, AB16 July 2015
Was a great place to work. No two days were the same and you you never new what was going to happen. Always learning new skills.
It was a very close team, the people you worked with became your friends.
Pros
great pay, great benefits
Cons
could be violent
Was this review helpful?Yes 29No 19Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Management, No Security
Temporary Applications Entry (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB3 July 2015
The department I worked in closed shortly after my contract ended. While the people were nice, it was frustrating that people got constantly shuffled around.
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work. Good salary and benefits
Communications Professional (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB3 July 2015
- Decent place to work
- Lot's of opportunity
- Good place to improve your skills
- Very good compensation package
- Interesting subject matter
Pros
Good salary
Cons
Difficult work/life balance
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Short term assignment
POLICY AND COMMUNICATIONS INTERN (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB21 May 2015
I worked as an intern with Alberta Health and Wellness when I was an MBA student. I enjoyed my time working with Alberta Health and Wellness and learned a lot about how the government works.
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work, decent work life balance
Corporate Incident Manager (Current Employee) –  Edmonton14 May 2015
Good employer, respect, accountability, Excellence and integrity are the main pillars. you get great experience working with high level clients.
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cohesive work environment with minimal stress
Policy Analyst / Project Manager (Former Employee) –  AB3 May 2015
- Conducted financial analysis on department’s annual budget.
- Restructure and the creation of a new interdivisional statistical analysis system within the department of Maintenance and Enforcement.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 9Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Coordinated support services for a new application introduced for social workers.
Manager Support Service (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB19 March 2015
As manager of the support service desk my main responsibilities were to ensure that social workers had all the support they needed to use the new computer application. This included coordinating 8 support staff in the day to day duties needed, ensuring on-going training, and documentation was up to date.
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 11Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love this job
File Clerk (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB18 February 2015
This job was one of my favourites. Love typing, typing legal documents and other documents, answered phones, transferred the phone calls to the appropriate social worker, open the mail and distributed it to the right person, love enjoy the time with my co-workers. It was too bad that it was just a 6 months contract job.
Pros
Breakfast meetings with nice co-wokers
Cons
6 months contract job
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed working for a summer job with the Government of Alberta
In province and Out of Province Claims Unit (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB3 February 2015
I starting working for the Government of Alberta as a summer job, before attending my first year of school with Norquest College.
I worked hard and learned alot about the claims submissions, filing, and inputing information into the claims program. The co-workers were very helpful and enjoyed the over all work atmosphere.
I left to start my schooling but, took alot of training and understanding of the government enviroment with me. Would like to be able to apply and work for the Alberta Government again one day.
Pros
Monday to Friday work week, great co-workers and leads to work with.
Cons
when days were slow, finding more work to do!
Was this review helpful?Yes 15No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was positive work environment
Assistant Trust Officer (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB26 January 2015
It was positive work environment with room for growth. The employer provided the employees with support.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive & Fun
Summer Student (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB26 January 2015
Provide care-taking services for designated areas of responsibility, to ensure safe, effective, and efficient facility maintenance and operations, preserve property value and meet client needs.
Pros
Fun People
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 13Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible
Correctional Peace Officer II (Current Employee) –  Edmonton19 January 2015
Terrible work environment. Promotions are not merit based. Clique and "who you know" reign supreme. Pay is ok. Benefits are mediocre. Pension is terrible
Was this review helpful?Yes 54No 19Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Room for personal growth and advancement
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Edmonton AB18 November 2014
You never know what the day will bring, with absent upper level management cover off on my part. I've learned something new everyday, and I absorb it all in! Management were there to assist in problems, employees were having. The hardest part was the working with different work ethics. I enjoyed the many great people I have met along the way.
Pros
Paid time off
Was this review helpful?Yes 20No 8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Generally pretty good.
Administrative Support (Current Employee) –  Ministry of Health12 November 2014
Check email regularly for meeting room bookings and invitations. Some great people to work with and enough time in the day to get the work done. A super opportunity to see the inner workings of how politics impact day to day activities.
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding and fast paced work environment
Policy Analyst (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB12 November 2014
The Government was an excellent place to work, I did a lot of individual projects where I got to decide how and when I wanted to do it. I spent a lot of time doing information management.

I learned a lot about government processes and how decision making is done.

I was a part of many teams and I liked everyone I worked with, people were excellent.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 6Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Government Of Alberta. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 141 reviews
563
456
316
22
14

Ratings by category

4.1Work/Life Balance
4.2Salary/Benefits
3.8Job Security/Advancement
3.6Management
3.8Culture