Government Of Alberta Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Gas Valuation Analyst (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB6 February 2018
I worked for the Government of Alberta for a long time and really enjoyed the people I worked with and the work that I did. It was challenging but fun at the same time.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A career of opportunity and promoted respect.
Manager of Compliance (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB27 January 2018
Due to the size of the work force the employer offers many job opportunities.
They promotes a working culture of respect and equal opportunities for all its employes.
The employer also promotes an enviroment of education within the government structure and also opportunities to advance your skill sets with the undertaking of further education at a shared or full expense.
Pros
Employer support
Cons
On the rare occasion they employ unqualified Management.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work
ADMINISTRATIVE ASSISTANT (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB22 January 2018
I loved working here. The people are great and management was excellent.Only reason I moved on was the lack of advancement opportunities. Salary increases were few and when they did happen it had to go through a lot of red tape to be approved.
Pros
excellent employer
Cons
salary increases and advancement opportunities lacking
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of security and good pay, huge amount of red tape
Business Systems Analyst (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB20 January 2018
Good pay and good security, but the mountain of red tape when it came to getting anything done was ridiculous. Don't try to innovate or optimize work as you'll get put in your place for making others look bad.
Pros
Good pay, lots of security
Cons
Mountain of red tape
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sick Leave - fill in
RECORDS TECHNICIAN (Former Employee) –  Red Deer, AB7 January 2018
Very structured
HR management was good
Department management was very difficult therefor reduced opportunities for good employees to opportunity the excell
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job security
Executive Assistant (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB8 December 2017
the Government of Alberta offers great opportunities for their staff regarding education, diversity, advancement and experience. Investing in a career also offers decent pension options.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wish I wouldnt have left
Correctional Service Worker II (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB20 November 2017
Enjoyed my job but no support from management.
Millennials being hired and not taking work seriously, very dangerous work environment. Pay and benefits are amazing. Management needs to be changed
Was this review helpful?Yes 10NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Supportive environment, with many opportunities to level up
Program Support 3 (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB9 November 2017
As a Program Support Level 3, I learned the computer operations required to work for the Government of Alberta. The environment was very supportive and allowed opportunities for growth
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Execellent professional place to work.
Appeals Secretariat Calgary (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB1 November 2017
Awesome experience, would work here again. Lots of great people to work with.

I would recommend anyone to work here. Great people great experience.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cant Complain
GIS Technologist (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB11 October 2017
Pay extremely well, however management hierarchy does not do a good job of communicating between higher positions with lower ones; this lead to a lot of frustration and confusion.
Pros
Good pay and benefits
Cons
Flaky job security
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review
Records Coordinator (AS IV) (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB11 October 2017
In my current position working with the File Room Management team with Service Alberta as a Records Coordinator has helped build my skills in records management. It provides good opportunity to build on my analytical skill and project management. It also allows creativity in resolving issues arising from legacy issues on certain records.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB29 September 2017
unfortunately this is a contract position and there is an end scheduled. I do not know if I will be renewed. I would love to stay but need to have more job security.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing
Health Benefits Assessor (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB28 September 2017
LOVE working here. Best co-workers and managers ever! This has been absolutely one of the most amazing assignments I have ever been on. Definitely a hard employer to have to leave!
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Experience
Supports for Permanency Finance Administrator (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB27 September 2017
Working for the Gov was a great experience. Lots of nice people, however the work was heavily relied on deadlines and financial stuff. It was fun. I would defiantly do it again!
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
workplace
Correctional Peace Officer (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB19 September 2017
The environment can be stressful. Some people, though book smart, should not be working there for safety reasons. Be ready for shift work and overtime.
Pros
paid vacation
Cons
shift work
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people but management.....
Consultant (Contract) (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB18 September 2017
GoA is a good place to work but it's only as good as the management team who are directing it. Service Alberta is very political and the Directors only support furthering their own agendas, surround themselves with "Yes" people and promote long time friends/acquaintances into roles they are unfit for. The Directors at Service Alberta don't care much for contractors who do all the heavy lifting on the projects while the full time employees sit back and give direction.
Pros
Great people
Cons
Management "Boys Club" mentality
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent career
Business Analyst (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB11 September 2017
Not a bad career choice depending on what office you end up working in. My manager was terrible and so we had no team morale. There was no team building. You were discouraged to have conversations with co-workers except if it was about work. I was bullied by my manager and she made it very difficult to want to go to work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job security and opportunities for advanceement
Employment Standards Agent (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB11 September 2017
Fantastic employer with great benefits and pay. Flex time and other work/family arrangements helped enable a positive working environment along with frequent awards and accolades provided by upper management.
Pros
Flex time
Cons
Possibilities of negative work reputation.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible Work Schedule
Payroll Administrator (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB19 August 2017
I have a great group of coworkers who do they best they can to help each other with our workloads which can be overwhelming at times.

Management can be difficult and not very understanding.

We do have a great flexible work schedule program.
Pros
Flexible work schedules, Pension
Cons
workload distribution
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Team
Administrative Support - Finance (Current Employee) –  Grande Prairie, AB14 August 2017
Great workplace culture, but lack of respect for admin. No followup with management with issues. Lots of policy and procedure but great encouragement with respect in the workplace
Pros
Great benefits
Cons
No true leadership
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Government Of Alberta. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 141 reviews
563
456
316
22
14

Ratings by category

4.1Work/Life Balance
4.2Salary/Benefits
3.8Job Security/Advancement
3.6Management
3.8Culture