Gordon Food Service Employee Reviews

Found 159 reviews matching the search See all 1,045 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Custodian
Custodian/Maintenance (Former Employee) –  Milton, ON7 December 2018
Job as a custodian was ok at first but sooner or later it will worn you out because they would let you do everything. And sanitarian/custodians have big time back stabbers even the lead hand and managers.
Pros
Free food
Cons
Back stabbers
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst company to work as a AZ driver
AZ Driver (Former Employee) –  Milton, ON5 December 2018
One of the worst company to work as AZ driver very long wait to complete hiring process and they will waste your 15 days and tell you to not to hire right now because of they say the recieve many applications,very disrespectful behaviour of staff.these guys should stop playing with people and stop wasting their time.they do not give overtime or something just 30.40 hours a week.i will recommend not to waste your time with these worst company there are 100s of transport company that pay good and enough hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Slavery's
Warehouse Associate (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON3 December 2018
Do you love being a slave and physically demolish, not cared about, getting looked down upon as a worm well then by all means please apply and work here and have your life exhausted by some company
Pros
None
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Receiving Team Leader (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB18 November 2018
Another great company the staff i worked with were very great people had lots of laughs very rewarding company and lots of oppurtunities to advance thank you
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
poor workplace
Swamper/Labourer (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB3 November 2018
worked 6 days a week 12-15 hour days cause they are always short people. disrectful employees and coworkers. very poorly managed. always late pay. wasn’t good at all
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Waste of Time
DSR (Former Employee) –  Abbotsford, BC27 October 2018
This company is horrible, I had the worst training experience ever.
I reached out to the supervisor and upper management - to help
me with my training - no help instead they stuck me with a trainer
that would yell and scream at me all day - I was never late for a shift
and did not deserve to be let go - Awesome , - way to go
Abbotsford team. I would not recommend joining that team - good luck - what a waste of my time - no breaks non stop running all day - unsafe work practices and the list goes on - stay away!
horrible route planning -
Pros
none
Cons
to many to list
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 3Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Driven Leadership
Marketing Manager (Former Employee) –  Delta, BC24 October 2018
Highly driven leadership. Results focused company. Passionate about the food service industry and customer service excellence. Constantly evolving to meet customer and industry needs.
Pros
great salary and benefits
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Culture!
HR Generalist (Current Employee) –  Vancouver, BC23 October 2018
Coming into the job here what initially struck me was how at every level how great he people are. So many people who've been here for many years and are still passionate and excited to come at work. Lasting relationships and a warm connected-ness that feels genuine is encouraging to see. There is a culture of care and competitiveness which feels balanced.

It is a company you really feel you can move up within regardless of where you start. They have stories at all levels how people gave grown their careers here and it's comforting to see for my own future growth.
Pros
Flexible schedule, benefits
Cons
Traffic during rush hour
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for
Sales Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Milton, ON22 October 2018
Gordon Food Service is an excellent company to work for. What I like most about being a sales service representative is that my hours vary from eight to twelve hours a day.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don”t do it
Worker (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB19 October 2018
Very poor management. Very toxic work environment.
Good people get let go for no good reason while the ones whom make puppies all day get promotted.
Not recommended
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report

Want to know more about Gordon Food Service?

Ask a question
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you want to be unhappy...
Forklift Driver (Former Employee) –  Boucherville, QC12 October 2018
If you like to make you eat wool on your back by an employer who only wants to take advantage of every situation. What is said on the floor and in the office are two completely different things. Office workers are all trying to get out of the job so they throw the ball to another who at his turn throws the ball to another so that nothing can be done. Never their fault, said all the time "we will fix that" and that all problem become worst and worst and worst and it's YOUR fault. Because you know, after 5 month, all managing problem is your fault because you drive forklift...
Pros
Money and some employees are nice
Cons
No personal life and no respect by the boss
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job if you wanna work
Delivery Driver - G Class (Current Employee) –  Milton, ON28 September 2018
Its not easy work but its a great company to work for.

You get treated fairly, good benefits and rrsp plan. Physically demanding but days go by fast and great group of people working .
Pros
Benefits, salary
Cons
Can be long days
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 4Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
dont do the online survey till they fire you for no reason
Driver/Delivery (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB24 September 2018
how they became a top 70 employer in Canada nobody knows, they do not care about you only there deliveries, only do there survey after they fire you, they will push you to do it right away but hold off till the 3 month or most likely the 2 3/4month time when they will fire you w/o any reason other than you are not a good fit. they are used to firing people quite well, sadly the only thing there good at.
Pros
wcb
Cons
terrable micromanagement
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you want to see you burn from both ends of the candle.
Local Field Tech (Current Employee) –  Boucherville, QC21 September 2018
Seriously, if you want an insane amount of work, OK pay at best. Irresponsible people making important decisions. This is the place to go. Have fun. I don't recommend it to anyone.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work, long hours.
FORKLIFT OPERATOR (Former Employee) –  Milton, ON17 September 2018
For forklift operators the job was required to be done at a fast pace to keep up with demand. I learned how to operator forklift at this job. Management varied from department to department some good some not so good. Most people are friendly and willing to help if you ask. Keeping up with demand when there were a lot of call-ins was difficult. I enjoyed being one of the relied on forklift operators.
Pros
Paid lunch and break.
Cons
Hard demanding work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Useless Managment
Driver/Delivery (Current Employee) –  British Columbia9 September 2018
Decent pay for all the extra drama you have to deal with. Management and routers are useless and do not care about the drivers.
They say 4x10 shifts but they really are 4x12-14. So do not believe that lie for a minute.
The turnover rate is crazy so apply with caution.
Pros
3 off a week
Cons
long hours and poor managment
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok work place
Order Picker/Forklift Driver/Data Entry (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC11 August 2018
the job is good here the thing i didn't like is when you ask to explain how to built pallets they won't explain to you not helpful i advise people not to work here.
Pros
great wage
Cons
too much overtime
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
long hours
Night order selector (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB7 August 2018
i worked there for 2 years and they had a good lunch program, good training, i left because some of us found out someone who was there for 6 months was making more then us and talk to me super and nothing was done and i left the job
Pros
had a good lunch program
Cons
super long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for
Picker Operator (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB26 July 2018
Your day consists of filling out orders and picking up boxes and stacking them the right way, the days usually go by pretty fast, you get a good amount of time for breaks

you constantly have to keep yourself working hard to keep up with quotas.

The majority of workers in the warehouse are good people and are quite friendly

hardest part of the job is continuously doing the same thing everyday,moving fast all day long and working long hours if needed

some enjoyable parts of the job are getting to know the other employees and honestly just working hard

working in the warehouse you have to start night shift so don't go in
expecting to get a day time shift
Pros
if you like overtime this is the place to be, great benefits
Cons
expected to stay after long hours and looked down upon if you never take overtime
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 7Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent company to work for
Owner Operator Truck Driver (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB26 July 2018
Excellent company to work for been working for 6 years
Great pay if you want to work hard
Keeps you fit no need for gym you get paid to work out
Great benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 4Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Gordon Food Service. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 1,046 reviews
5304
4348
3208
295
191

Ratings by category

3.4Work/Life Balance
3.6Salary/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.5Culture