Goodness Me! Natural Food Market Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Eatery manager Barrie
Eatery & Bakery Manager (Former Employee) –  Barrie, ON18 October 2018
Terrible place to work. Feels like a church cult, and if your not in there group they are against you. Don't bother asking for support because no one at the store level or head office will help out. Company had no real direction on which way to go. They expect you too work multiple positions again with no help or support. Store manager flirts and hangs out with his cashiers and is married. Assistant store manager has no clue what's she doing and trys to make people fear her by saying well I'll just write you up, very condescending and talks down to you when she doesn't even know how to do your job. Same as the store manager they tell you what to do and micro manage you but do not know how to work my position which he admitted.
Pros
None
Cons
Too many to list, benefits, no bonus
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nope
Eatery Team Member (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ON20 September 2018
terrible management, no job security, and no regard for your availability. There is no opportunity to grow in the company and they do not give pointers on how you can improve.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great employees, lousy management and culture
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Guelph, ON30 August 2018
Worked at Goodness Me for several years. There were very few opportunities to move up. Pay is minimum wage to start and wage increases are entirely subjective. I found that male employees often made more money than their female counterparts. Fellow employees made this job tolerable, even fun at times. Management are rarely on the same page. The store promotes itself as "small, family run" but this does not benefit the employee. Benefits were only given to full-time employees and the benefits package was extremely small. Supervisors make only slightly more money than those they are supervising, but have significantly more responsibility. Senior Management didn't have employees' backs. Employee discount was decent at 20% off.
Pros
Free samples
Cons
Lousy management
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Store Manager was very sketchy
Produce Clerk (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON28 August 2018
Store manager very sketchy very odd, had lots of tv screens in his office watching everyone thinking everyone was a criminal. or a thief like he was paranoid.
Pros
Discount card
Cons
Sketchy
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A safe place where one feels welcome and exited to attend work
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Barrie, ON21 April 2018
This place has provided me with many learning opportunities. I have learnt so much during my time here, including how more affective customer service, how to communicate with fellow employees and much more.
Pros
Great work environment and great employees
Cons
Needs more structure
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
Worker (Current Employee) –  Hamilton, ON13 April 2018
I believe it is a great place to work because of the great staff and the welcoming environment. I Would definitely recommend if anybody is looking for a job in the food services to apply here
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work place.
Sales Associate/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Brantford, ON4 January 2018
Friendly environment to work. Handled cash work which was typical to any cash job. Typical day was balancing cash. Facing before store opens. Light stocking.
Pros
Relaxed and fun workplace. Fair wages
Cons
Product is expensive so on low wages can't really afford what you're selling.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a great place to work
Receiving and Logistics Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON12 November 2017
100% great team, and great care put into customer service.

Logistics and warehouse needs work and is currently in development but once the kinks are worked out will run smooth.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place with opportunity to advance
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Burlington, ON25 October 2017
I learned a lot about health and products within the health industry through my experience with Goodness Me. I was given opportunities to increase responsibility within my role but was not compensated for this.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The employees were great the upper management was terrible
Kitchen & Bakery Manager (Former Employee) –  Barrie, ON28 September 2017
It was a great team spirit among the staff. The upper management at the store level was terribly inept and need to learn a lot about how to motivate and validate staff.
There is great opportunity for improvement on the part of the management if they are honest however that has not happened yet.
Lots of turnover of staff as a result.
Pros
free education classes
Cons
bad management
Was this review helpful?Yes 12NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Used to be great staff
Eatery (Former Employee) –  Barrie, ON25 September 2017
Worst place to work!! All good staff left because of the terrible new staff recently hired.
Will definitely not be a good first job for the young employees.
Pros
None
Cons
Too many
Was this review helpful?Yes 14NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Just like any retail job
Cook (Former Employee) –  Guelph, ON5 September 2017
The work was done well. I did not approve of a lot of what corporate did with their product ideas. It also did not seem like the company had any particular direction they wanted to drive their business.
Was this review helpful?Yes 10NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great team but no support from Manager
Previous employee (Former Employee) –  Brantford, ON28 August 2017
Rocking busy store. Great team keeps it going. Great customer service in all departments.
Manager doesn't give the team the support it needs and this has caused a high staff turnover.
Pros
great team
Cons
no support from Manager
Was this review helpful?Yes 13NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company
Produce Clerk (Former Employee) –  720 Bristol Road West14 August 2017
Very good company, very fair staff, and management are very understanding and flexible to meet your needs. As well are willing to give you chances, so you can grow
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
People are really odd
Produce Clerk (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON5 July 2017
People, there are really weird they are overly nice which catches you off guard. Seems like the staff is as well like this they are to friendly which makes you question the environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 27Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work culture
Team Leader (Current Employee) –  Barrie, ON26 May 2017
I've been working with GM for 2.5 years now in the Barrie store. It really is a great vibe. Cool culture, surrounded by other staff who are also into health and wellness. Lots of opportunities to grow into leadership/managing roles as I've seen coworkers go from PT to FT managers if they work for it. Definitely much better place to work than the regular grocery store!

store has had some turnover in early years, but seems to have strong manager team and staff like management. Flexible hours that fit my life if I need a day off.

Never bored as there is always lots to do. Grocery manager is the greatest.
Pros
Amazing discount, free lunches and product often
Cons
benefits are so so, working weekends
Was this review helpful?Yes 14No 9Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fear
Produce Clerk (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON24 April 2017
Was fine but everyone was afraid of the boss more of horrible bosses workplace, which is not the ideal workplace, in my opinion, you need a setting where it is not horrible
Was this review helpful?Yes 27NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun workplace
Cook (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ON17 April 2017
Goodness Me! is a great establishment that provides customers with healthy food choices as well as workshops to educate the public on healthy eating habits.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Be Prepared to Learn
Store Clerk (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON13 March 2017
Decent place to work, staff is friendly and very knowledgeable about various health food and supplements needs. There's a lot to learn, especially in the supplements department, but the staff is always willing to help new people learn.
Any grocery or cash experience is an asset, but be prepared to learn that most of the products are very different from their normal grocery-store counter-parts. Customers will always be asking about new products and what they do, as well as things you may have never heard about before.
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A day in the life as a Goodness Me! Employee
Cashier/Grocery (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON6 February 2017
My Favorite part of this job was; The staff and loyal customers
always friendly, positive and willing to help

I've learned a lot about the health industry, personal needs of customers.
Pros
free food, great staff, wonderful costumers
Cons
long hours, communication
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Goodness Me! Natural Food Market. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.2
Based on 41 reviews
511
412
34
24
110

Ratings by category

3.4Work/Life Balance
2.8Salary/Benefits
2.8Job Security/Advancement
3.0Management
3.4Culture