Goodmans LLP Employee Reviews

Showing all 17 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
continuing education
Legal Assistant (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON31 August 2018
Goodmans LLP offers refresher classes for Microsoft XP. Which is the program their employees work with on a daily basis. The sessions can be quick classes that last only 15 minutes.
Pros
lunch sessions
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay but not the same anymore
Legal Assistant (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON28 June 2018
Things are not the same as when I started working here. Culture has changed. Implementing training but need to tailor training to the positions. Benefits are good.
Pros
Flexible in working hours
Cons
No advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Run before they fire you!!
Worker (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON21 June 2018
Since the loss of Mr. Goodman the place is a joke! Dale Lastman could care less about you. There is no culture and it’s all about hiring juniors so the partners can line their pockets.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Document Specialist
Document Specialist (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON9 May 2018
Not a great experience. Didn't find management supportive at all. It was all about making the lawyers happy, and not staff. Hours weren't the best (11-7) 5 days a week.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Managing Petty Cash for CAD, USD, Pound and Euro (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON18 June 2017
really advise for future employment, nice people and good environment
If you can have a opportunity to be a part of the company , you will be excited and have a great time there
Was this review helpful?YesNo 4Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Formerly wonderful, now so-so
Legal Assistant (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON12 June 2017
When I started here years ago, Goodmans was THE place to work. The atmosphere was welcoming, everyone loved their job and people rarely left. But over the past 5 years, things have changed. The salaries have not kept up with the general pace and as a result, people are leaving to work elsewhere. HR is a nightmare to work with. There's a superior tone now that was never there before. It's "Us v. Them" instead of a team feeling. When you can't get a resolution from HR, where to do go? Elsewhere. That is what I've done.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, fast paced and fun workplace.
Human Resources Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON7 May 2017
Fantastic company to work for. Starting out my career as a Human Resources professional couldn't have been a better experience. Always challenging and something new to learn. Supervisors and Management were always there to support.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 5Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
Legal Assistant (Current Employee) –  Bay Street26 November 2016
Great place to work. All assistants generally care for one and another and come together in times in need. There are Christmas parties and winter parties every year. The firm holds meeting with the managing partner for questions or concerns. Its a amazing place to work.
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
Downtown Toronto
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced environment with changing priorities
Director, Technology (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON14 June 2015
Professional environment with client requests that change your priorities regularly. A very high level of user service is required (white glove). Very little red tape and decisions are made quickly.
Pros
dynamic environment
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun atmosphere
Legal Assistant - Litigation (Former Employee) –  Toronto, Ontario23 March 2015
Typical day at work would be checking emails, checking lawyer's in/outbox, and docketing.

I learned how to manage my day with a fast-paced lawyer and law clerk.

I loved the people I worked with, the other assistants are all helpful and it is more like a family atmosphere where everyone is very approachable and always ready to help someone in need.

Hardest part of the job is dealing with a difficult boss and learning how to get past certain things to make the relationship work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
Systems Technician/Administrator (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON30 October 2014
Good people
Nice facilities
friendly
Great fundraiser
everyone is every easy to talk to when you need help
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice people who lend to the great culture of this firm
After Hours Support Clerk (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON16 June 2014
For me, a typical day on the job consists of many different things. Being in a "after hours support" role, I am split between a few different departments that include, Office Services, Hospitality, Audio Visual and occasionally Premises. Coming from Niagara Falls originally it's safe to say that my prior work experience was predominately in Hospitality. Which was one of the things that Goodmans was looking for when they created this role. Since joining Goodmans with only a Hospitality background, I have learned many different skills including the scanning, faxing and photocopying of documents, technology (laptop, projector and conference call setups). I've also become familiar with Word, Adobe, Excel and other programs.

I'd say my experience with management has been pretty great. The coordinators that I've worked under understand that I'm spread all over the place during my shift and allow me to work without trying to micro manage too much. Due to the fact that I work the after hours shift, I rarely see my supervisors or directors however, they are always easy to reach if need be and have shown that they are more than willing to help me or hear me out if I want to voice any concerns.

But the best part of my experience with Goodmans by far has been the people I work for and with. Upon starting here I was immediately struck by the culture of the firm. Almost everyone you meet are nice, genuine people who you will quickly know on a first name basis. Everyone for the most part is very easy to approach. I had read about this prior to my start date but didn't know what to
  more... expect. Many companies boast about this but this firm lives up to it completely. The most enjoyable part of my job is the social interactions that I have with great people on a day to day basis at Goodmans.

Yeah, That about sums it up.
  less
Pros
Wages, benefits, the employees and occasionally... Free food :)
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Legal Assistant (Former Employee) –  Toronto, Ontario10 March 2014
Work hours had been good, management could improve, co-workers were great.
Pros
Lots of events
Cons
Work environment could use some work -
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent work environment
Senior Assistant (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON6 February 2014
Goodmans was a great place to work, very helpful and friendly people. Always looked forward to working
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Big Law
Associate (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC4 December 2013
Everything you could expect from Big Law....

Management is out of touch and the structure needs to be fixed.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Good Learning Environment with Perks Including Food
Sr. Financial Analyst (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON23 October 2013
The firm provides a comfortable and productive environment for work, and allows me to learn many skills such as SQL database, Budgeting and Forecasting, Financial Reporting & Analysis, Presenting to Management, etc.

The co-workers are very nice and easy going, but age gap creates some communication issues.
Pros
Free Food
Cons
Long Hours, Extremely broad scope of responsibilities for role
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Goodmans LLP. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 17 reviews
56
44
34
21
12

Ratings by category

3.5Work/Life Balance
4.0Salary/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.6Culture

Goodmans LLP Reviews by Location