GoodLife Fitness Clubs Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
Special Projects Accountant (Current Employee) –  London, ON23 October 2017
Working at GoodLife has given me invaluable experience. I have been fortunate to have spent the first 10 years of my working life here, and have worked through a few different positions as my skills and experience have grown. I have been able to witness great leadership in this company, with many changes and growth happening in my time here.
The culture that GoodLife has built is great. This can be seen in clubs, as well as in the Office. There is a level of appreciation that is felt for all staff through various activities that are held in the office throughout different times of the year.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Opportunity to get your feet wet for training
Personal Trainer (Current Employee) –  North York, ON22 October 2017
- more sales than actual training
- long hours of extra work which is unpaid
- only paid for training hours
- clubs care about money made then actual progress of clientele
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company to work for,
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  London, ON12 October 2017
Good life is a worker friendly company creating a lot of experience for those seeking employement. They care a bit too much about sales in a lot of cases and should focus more on keeping current customers happy though. I really enjoyed who I worked with however
Pros
Management, employees, company perks, free membership
Cons
Salesy, Hours. salary
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not family oriented
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Halifax Regional Municipality, NS12 October 2017
Would not recommend working at Goodlife Fitness, unless you are very sales motivated. HO is all about the money, by selling memberships and personal training
Pros
free membership
Cons
stressful
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Energetic and fun workplace
Fitness Instructor (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB12 October 2017
The most enjoyable part of the job is that it does not feel like one. Providing an hour aerobic class while getting a workout myself and getting paid for it is the best of both worlds, getting paid to do something you love. The benefits are also a bonus!
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productibe and fun workplace. Great attmosphere.
PERSONAL TRAINER (Former Employee) –  Kitchener, ON11 October 2017
Great environment to work. Flexible schedule as a personal trainer.
Great management team. Lots of opportunity for advancement and skill growth. Overall great experience.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Front Desk Receptionist (Current Employee) –  London, ON10 October 2017
Everyone at Goodlife is really friendly and very welcoming. They get along with each other and make it a very enjoyable place to workout. Everyone there get along and make it fun to go to shifts and work.
Pros
Memberships
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work based on sales
Personal trainer Level 3 (Current Employee) –  St. Catharines, ON4 October 2017
long hours if you dont have clients
favorites get clients handed to them
if you dont work enough during week expect to work nights and weeekend
everyone fake smiles and excitment
Pros
motivate people
Cons
long hours little pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Growth Opportunity
Certified Personal Trainer (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB23 September 2017
If you are a hard worker and good with people good life is a great place however while working here its hard to maintain a work life balance as training requires a huge time commitment and high level of organization.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
long days stuck in an office.
Fitness Advisor (Former Employee) –  St. John's, NL21 September 2017
Id begin my day in an office with no windows calling people to see if they wanted to come in and set up a gym membership. the management was good, but always changing. everyone there was great. great work family and would like to hang out, outside of work. the hardest part was the customers getting angry for calling them. the most enjoyable was the free memembership.
Pros
free gym membership
Cons
long hours stuck inside an office.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Official response from GoodLife Fitness Clubs
11 October 2017

Thank you for your feedback. The Fitness Advisor (Sales) position gives you the creativity to introduce new prospects to GoodLife both in and outside the Club. It's an exciting position with amazing growth potential.

Want to know more about GoodLife Fitness Clubs?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Energizing and upbeat
Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Vernon, BC20 September 2017
Goodlife Fitness was a fairly good company to work for. They provided everything you'd want in a job. Fun atmosphere, friendly coworkers, energetic workplace. I thoroughly enjoyed my time working for Goodlife & would work for them again
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great People
Club Administrator (Former Employee) –  Markham, ON19 September 2017
I was with Goodlife for many years. I had a great work life balance. I worked with many great people over the years and met many more great members. The only down sides were the wages and the fact that I was the only one in the club that was trained to do my job, which made it difficult and stressful to get coverage so I could get time off.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Too much about meeting goals of hiring individuals because for the sake of getting numbers and department looking good. Hiring quantity over quality
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON19 September 2017
Good Flexibility but Salary really not close to what the job market is.. Very micro managed...
over worked and underpaid at the club level.
Too much stress for Sales and Personal Training on selling
Pros
There are still good individuals who work there.
Cons
They have no respect for the CEO.....
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Personal Trainer
Fitness Professional (Current Employee) –  Toronto,ON13 September 2017
really long hours, where every day is a grind, management plays favorites.You are a left to look for your own clients and get little to no assistance from management.
Pros
commission, lots of down time, work your own hours
Cons
Grind, purely commission, poor management, no assistance from management
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pretty good place to work
Motivator/JUMP (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON10 September 2017
This job has a very good atmosphere. The people are generally nice and the job is not a hard one. A very good environment and I did enjoy my employment when I was there.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace, friendly environment.
FITNESS TRAINER (Former Employee) –  Sarnia, ON9 September 2017
Working with GoodLife Fitness was a good place for me to work because of the flexibility in hours, but the best part of the job was the people. The club that I worked at had a better, friendlier atmosphere than any other gym in the area.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
Kitchen Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB8 September 2017
GoodLife is a super fun place to be and work for as a company. You meet great people and get the chance to really improve social skills as well. Goodlife is a great place to be.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Official response from GoodLife Fitness Clubs
11 October 2017

Thank you for your kind feedback. We're happy to hear you had a great GoodLife experience.

Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
TAking care of children when the parents work out
Child Minder (Former Employee) –  Stratford, ON1 September 2017
Keeping the children entertained while the parents are working out. we made paper airplanes or coloured. Sometimes they would need help with snacks. Cuddling the babies was one of my favourite duties.
Pros
Free membership and tanning
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Department doeant exist anymore.
Administrative Clerk (Former Employee) –  London, ON1 September 2017
This department closed. This department no longer exists. A lot of people lost their jobs. It was sad to see that happen but sometimes necessary for growth.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work/life balance
Accounting Clerk (Former Employee) –  London, ON1 September 2017
Love working at GoodLife. The people and work/life balance are great. The pay is not competitive and advancement seems to go to people who are friends of management.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at GoodLife Fitness Clubs. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 662 reviews
5174
4217
3161
258
152

Ratings by category

3.4Work/Life Balance
3.0Salary/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.7Culture