GoodLife Fitness Clubs Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Been there over 16 years, great culture
Group Fitness Instructor (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON22 November 2017
It's been the best job I've ever had..I'm still there...No intentions to stop. I've been a fitness instructor for over 22 years, and I have to say Goodlife Fitness is a pretty good place to work
Pros
great atmosphere, meeting people, staying fit...great hours
Cons
takes a long time to get to an hourly rate that pays well
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Free membership makes up for lack of hours
Lifeguard (Former Employee) –  London, ON21 November 2017
Pros:
Free membership
Active workplace

Cons:
Barely any hours
Told you'll be able to move to desk in interview but never given opportunity despite good performance evals
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fitness Advisor
Fitness Advisor (Former Employee) –  Grimsby, ON20 November 2017
Minimum wage job, very little chance at earning much if any commission at the Grimsby location due to the low population and the gym is old and expensive to be a member. Much better options to work out in Grimsby so why would people pay for Goodlife?

Current Manager also takes sales away from the Fitness Advisers and is kind of in the twilight zone with her expectations of you.

Do not recommenced working the Grimsby location whatsoever
Pros
workout for free
Cons
hours suck, split shifts, money sucks, Manager is very nice, BUT a horrible Manager, unrealistic expectations, zero ability to lead people
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Club Administrator Specialist
Club Administrator Specialist (Former Employee) –  Windsor, ON20 November 2017
I worked with the company for over 9 years. It was an amazing experience. The people and I worked with and the members made coming in to work everyday enjoyable.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
GoodLife
Fitness Advisor (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB16 November 2017
If you want to work for a cult you have found the right place. They do not care about the customer, they only care about the sale. I feel bad that the managers are stuck in a haze.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON14 November 2017
great stuffs, managers are good
i learned alot about fitness, sales and etc
my manager always look after his employees
fun environtment, positive people
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long hours with less compensation
Fitness Manager (Former Employee) –  North York, ON14 November 2017
Overall its a good experience to work in this company. Setting your own hours when it comes to training but may not work in your favor. Good people to work with, needs a bit more support from management.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Starting Point
Personal Trainer (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON13 November 2017
Goodlife Fitness is a great place to start your fitness journey, but if you are not interested in continuing your education then this isn't the place for you. It's a good place to learn and move on.
Pros
Free Gym Membership
Cons
No Life outside of the gym
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's okay
Personal Trainer (Former Employee) –  London, ON12 November 2017
Working ridiculous amounts of hours to make ends meet, and to meet goals. The gym is well maintained however, but the company itself is far too focus on revenue, whereas they should be focused on the members.
Pros
High level of members to work with
Cons
Pushed to sell large packages
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and energetic place to work
Fitness Manager/personal trainer level 4 (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC7 November 2017
I loved working at Goodlife. It was a great work atmosphere and the team building exercises and support really helped me build my personal business and give me life skills that allowed me to succeed.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work place
Costumer Service (Former Employee) –  Ottawa East, ON6 November 2017
I had fun working for goodlife unfortunately the branch had to close, but if i had an opportunity to work for them or any gym company again, I’ll take that chance.
Pros
Get to meet a lot of ppl
Cons
Poor salary
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace with a great atmosphere
Certified Personal Trainer (Former Employee) –  Airdrie, AB6 November 2017
The workplace of the location I worked at was amazing, you could never be upset surrounded by such great people. Within Goodlife, there are many opportunities to grow and advance your education. The hardest part was creating my clientele, as my location wasn't too busy.
Pros
fun, opportunities for growth, education
Cons
funny hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Experience
Motivator (Co-op) (Former Employee) –  London, ON2 November 2017
Title says it all, great co-workers, fun environment to be around and guests are always polite. I would recommend anyone applying to apply to GoodLife
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer Service
General Manager (Former Employee) –  Fredericton, NB2 November 2017
My typical day would be meeting and greeting members. Making them feel at home. Over the years with GoodLife I have been in customer service and enjoying making new relationships.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great clients
Personal Trainer/Instructor (Former Employee) –  Dartmouth, NS1 November 2017
Great clients to work with and train. The job started off great, not too much pressure to have clients add on to their training package. However, the pressure increased and it became too much between selling and training
Pros
great training
Cons
too much pressure from management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Goodlife Fitness sumary
Personal Trainer (Current Employee) –  Milton, ON1 November 2017
Goodlife fitness is a job where you can be a motivator or trainer or fitness advisor. It's a good job, either way. Not really sure what to say other than that.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Job!
Fitness Manager (Former Employee) –  Regina, SK30 October 2017
Working within goodlife teaches you how to work well in a team setting everyone within the company wants you to exceed. Hours can be long but pay of big time in the long run!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive work environment with good intentions and room to grow
Motivator (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB26 October 2017
I have worked for Goodlife 3 times, they are very committed to their staff and members and take the time to train properly, go over goal setting and also have frequent performance reviews.
Pros
Access to the best gyms in Canada
Cons
Still working out the bugs integrating CRM softwares
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work and team players
Office Support Clerk (Former Employee) –  Home Office-London,ON25 October 2017
Hardest part of the job was busy month end

The workplace culture was fun and enjoyable

Team and co workers really nice people

The best supervisor ever during 6 yeaars
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The most positive team I've worked with.
Membership Consultant (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB23 October 2017
THE BEST WORKPLACE CULTURE I'VE EVER EXPERIENCED. this is the type of place where you can feel excited to go to work. Fantastic humans to spend time with where you will find yourself smiling almost nonstop. Goodlife teaches you that living the values of an organization can be rewarding personally and professionally! strong leadership make the challenging pace and environment feel as it needs to in order to find success.
Pros
free gym membership and great friends
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at GoodLife Fitness Clubs. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 662 reviews
5174
4217
3161
258
152

Ratings by category

3.4Work/Life Balance
3.0Salary/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.7Culture