GoodLife Fitness Clubs Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Engaging and self driven environment
Fitness Advisor (Current Employee) –  Scarborough, ON13 February 2018
A great job to do if you enjoy interacting with lots of faces and if you're a very open and social person. You get the chance to make a difference in people's lives plus a free membership. Only down part is the stress you're put through to hit your constant goals and you're always competing to be at the top
Pros
Making a difference in peoples lives
Cons
long days
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to gather knowledge
Trainer Assistant (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON12 February 2018
Working days may vary, sometimes busy sometimes slow. I learnt a lot about fitness industry and its management. Goodlife is a place where you can have lots of fun while working and meeting new people.
Pros
Free Training Sessions
Cons
Slow hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The support you'd expect is missing
Motivator and Fitness Advisor (Current Employee) –  Kitchener, ON11 February 2018
Healthy environment should result in a healthy support system as well as healthy relationships but I have met some of the worlds more judgmental people working here.
Pros
Company events, Free gym memberships
Cons
Poor work and lifestyle support
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent company culture
Talent Acquisition Specialist (Current Employee) –  Burlington, ON6 February 2018
fun and challenging work environment with a great opportunity to help others. Great company culture that encourages a positive work experience. Overall a great place to work!
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No home/work balance
Fitness Manager (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB6 February 2018
You were expected to be at work all the time, even if you were not being paid. This was a big problem for me. I did not agree that you were constantly being put down or made to feel bad if you were wanting to leave after putting in your 8hrs, or wanted to leave for lunch. This seemed unheard of to them. They basically wanted someone to live there.
Pros
free gym membership
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible management and customer service. Minimal to no training for associates.
JUMP associate(day care)/ Front desk (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON5 February 2018
Working at GoodLife Fitness is not worth your time and the pay is terrible. Management will almost never agree to a raise but on the rare occasion they do, it’s usually around 10 cents. You have no benefits working front desk or day care. Minimal to no training is given to associates. Work experience, mandatory training or education is apparently unnecessary when caring for 6 week old babies. Management is unorganized, unprofessional and unproductive. Job security is not guaranteed.
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
awesome workplace
CANFITPRO CERTIFIED PERSONAL TRAINER (Current Employee) –  Bowmanville, ON31 January 2018
amazing experience training with an incredible staff, changing peoples lives through personal training is a very rewarding career option for anyone looking to start in the fitness industry
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Inspiring Workplace
Fitness Advisor (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON30 January 2018
Inspiring club culture - to help achieve everyone's fitness goals
Motivated team atmosphere - monthly meetings
High Goal-setting standards
Strong management guidelines
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy job
CHILDCARE CENTRE VOLUNTEER (Former Employee) –  London, ON29 January 2018
I only volunteered for the Little Gym in a Goodlife but it was a really good experience. I just got to hang out with kids while their parents worked out so it was fun. A really good program for parents as well
Pros
hanging out with kids, playing games, colouring
Cons
cleaning up after kids
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome place to work but very competitive in sales
PERSONAL TRAINING SPECIALIST (Former Employee) –  North York, ON28 January 2018
Money is good if you are passionate about personal training and helping people. Hardest part about the job is you have to gain your own clients. Depending on what manager you have. Sometimes they will give you clients if you become on their good side.
Pros
ability to create your own schedule
Cons
Long Hours (Dont get piad unless you have a client)
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love it
Fitness advisor and motivator (Current Employee) –  Country Hills, AB26 January 2018
I love the people i get to meet through this job! Sometimes management is a bit tuff but it depends which club you go to! I love the people i work with and i wish we could get a paid at least $15 a hour!
Pros
Free membership
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gym
Fitness Manager (Current Employee) –  Techumseh and Newmarket25 January 2018
Great place to work, would train clients every day, learned tons of sales experience. Great culture, health oriented, hardest part of job was continuously getting leads.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Could use some improving
Child Care Attendant (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON24 January 2018
Positive atmosphere to work in but not enough hours to sustain a single income household. A lot of responsibility for the amount of compensation offered
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Workplace
Co-operative Education Student (Former Employee) –  Vaughan, ON23 January 2018
This type of environment is only for you if you like to get in the gym a lot. Otherwise, you will hate it their. This job taught me how to keep clean and how much of an effort it is to do so. It also answered all the qestions i had about working out.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to begin and grow
Personal Trainer (Former Employee) –  Aurora, ON22 January 2018
I have loved working for Goodlife. It has been 3 years and if I wasn't relocating and changing to a clinical career path I would stay forever. They pay you to look for clients and provide you with all the education and resources necessary to do so. They have a systematic approach to building a business and teaching you how to do so. I advanced in pay and to a management position within my first 2 years within the company. When you want a raise you get it yourself - you can make your own schedule and create a niche for the passion and clientele you want to have. The most challenging part of the job is the work life balance but just because I wasn't good at telling clients I'm not available doesn't mean you can't. I highly recommend it.
Pros
50% education/ course coverage
Cons
you definitely have to work hard and the uniform shirts have static issues
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good for some, terrible for others
General Manager (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON18 January 2018
great place to work if you have zero experience in anything as they basically hire anyone that applies for the sales position. unfortunately this is because they are always short staffed in this position due to the crazy high turnover. I don't need to spell out what high turnover is usually caused by. If you are good at your job the money can be pretty good and surprisingly the more successful you are the less work you have to do as management will basically hand all the easy sales to you. basic career path is fitness advisor-assistant GM/sales manager than GM. once you hit GM you will be there for 8-10 years minimum before the next position opens up. The job is unbelievably repetitive regardless of position.
Pros
money can be pretty good
Cons
Poor Management, Company seems to be going downhill having to do huge promotions every month now to hit goals.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent experience
Front Desk Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Oakville, ON18 January 2018
Loved working here for many years. Excellent work environment, very energetic staff and loved making relationships with members. Motivating and rewarding job seeing changes in everyones lives.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job for students
Motivator and Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON15 January 2018
Working at GoodLife Fitness is fun and enjoyable.
You get to meet amazing and energetic people who are enthusiastic about working out.

GoodLife Fitness job culture is very friendly and flexible.
They usually have great teams to work with.
Pros
Great environment
Cons
Repetitive jobs
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Living the corporate life, not the good life.
Motivator (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON8 January 2018
This company is way too much of a corporate culture that doesn't care about its employees or its members. They constantly have new initiatives to try and get business that is often extremely shady. They expect far too much from sales and personal training staff and do not compensate them appropriately for their hard work and pressure from the job.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
large work load, little training, high expectaions, rules and expectations not equal for all in same position
Home Office Club Support Clerk (Former Employee) –  London, ON4 January 2018
Over the time I worked there I noticed the company mission statement and culture appeared to only apply to the plaque posted on the wall and the awards they won be default.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at GoodLife Fitness Clubs. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 661 reviews
5174
4217
3160
258
152

Ratings by category

3.4Work/Life Balance
3.0Salary/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.7Culture