GO Transit Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Had good experience working at Go Transit
Maintenance Worker (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON24 May 2018
had good experience working at Go Transit in a team environment. I worked with many great colleagues, I worked with some of the nicest people. I gained a lot of valuable experience.
Pros
good salary
Cons
poor communication
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing
Bus Driver (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON18 January 2018
Surprisingly working at GO you will find that the opposite happens. Management is EXTREMELY pleasant but some of the drivers are just rude and miserable and you will learn which ones to stay away from QUICK.

You have to go in GO to just do your work and go home with the ability to follow instructions. If you go to change/fight the sytem you will have a MISERABLE time during what will be a brief employment.

The Garages are all state of the art and have plenty of accomadations for the drivers. I.E (gym, quite room, lounge, kitchen, change rooms, T.V, & computers). Doing your pre-trip inside is a sure bonus and luxury in the winter season.

The only negative is it is Part-time to start with the possibility with being posted far from home eithnlittle seniority especially if you live in the east parts of the GTA.

Things that will get you fired:
1) Always Late
2) Mess with the Customers
3) Mess with the $$
4) Repeated Collisions
Pros
Pay, working conditions, pension, benefits, management, vitually stress free
Cons
Part time, handling cash
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
long hours for front line workers
BUS OPERATOR (Former Employee) –  GTA, ON19 December 2017
you will need to plan your life around work
can be a lot of fun, but also a lot of stress
not much else i want to say but there is a dam character counter
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good atmosphere
Ticket Sales Agent (Current Employee) –  St. Catharines, ON18 November 2017
Fun place to work, good coworkers and management. Always looking to help others and ensure customers needs are met. I really enjoy working here and would suggest a career with GO Transit.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good employer for professional engineers.
engineer (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON18 November 2017
Metrolinx/GO Transit has engineers in the same pay bracket as compliance officers which don't take nearly the same level of risk for day to day activities as the engineers do.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful employer with ample promotion opportunities.
Advisor/Planner (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON16 September 2017
Work based on achieving annual goals and objectives as set at the beginning of year.

Work involved independent project and co-ordinating teams of various stake holders. A typical day at work is working on your goals and day to day issues raised by senior management and others to resolve effectiveness and efficiency issues of go transit services.

The workplace culture was wonderful. I guess the hardest part of the job is your constantly thinking to resolve challenges. The most enjoyable part of the job is the variety of duties and responsibilities.
Pros
Free travel on GO Transit.
Cons
None.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
csr
CUSTOMER SERVICE REPRESENTATIVE (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON18 July 2017
very good and caring place..........has its up and down but very great company to work for............................................the most enjoyable part is meet new customers every day
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fruitful labour
Customer Service Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON6 June 2017
Knowing that you're an essential part of people's commute is an exciting thought. Every day I saw what it took to move tens of thousands of people across the GTA. It also showed me humanity's softer side whenever we'd encounter an accident and our staff jumped into action.
Pros
People
Cons
Location (Union Station)
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Temporary Postion
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON28 March 2017
Nothing much to say, worked for a very short period, got paid. Did not meet anyone from management for enough time to form an opinion. Temporary position of handing out flyers and customer way finding. Lot of interaction with daily commuters, always a highlight meeting amazing new people.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun enviroment to be in
Assistant coach/equipment manager (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON23 June 2016
It was all for volunteer work but it was a very great experience. The people were funny and respected me, and I respected them. Overall I would go back to help out again.
Pros
Free food.
Cons
Long distance away.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Summer Student: Cleaning & Maintenance (Former Employee) –  Oshawa, ON15 April 2016
It was a summer job with GO for students and it paid well. great environment and we are giving fair work for what we are paid. one cannot complain about the work given with this position.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Talented staff, great public service committment
Manager (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON20 March 2016
Talented staff, great public service commitment. Customer-service focus and team-oriented environment where employees work 24/7 without complaint.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great job to meet new peaple all the time
Bus Operator (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON26 February 2016
Drive bus on time safely on a schedule
selling tickets giving change
giving out route information
Being out meeting new people
its different all the time
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and safe place to work
Information Assistant (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON10 September 2015
provided information and directions to people who are in need. Also improved my communication, leadership, and interpersonal skills.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hated it
Station Attendant- Part Time (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON20 August 2015
One of the worst places i have ever worked. They make it seem like it's a great job for the pay but every manager that works here is an idiot. They are all backstabbers and i was pregnant. if you have a family that comes first this is not the Job for you or anyone else for that matter. Honestly, JUST GO BACK TO SCHOOL. EVERYONE THAT WORKS HERE HAS NO EDUCATION UNLESS THEY WORK IN THE HEAD OFFICE.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 14Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Coach/bus operator (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON17 October 2014
Graet suroundings and people. Knowledge of surrounding cities. Management and supervisors very helpful. Co-workers helpful and friendly. At times traffic does interfer with times. Passangers and driving coaches are a great part of the day.
Pros
All around great company
Cons
None that I can think of
Was this review helpful?Yes 49No 27Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
favoritism
Admin Assistant (Former Employee) –  Toronto13 March 2014
There's alot of favoritism that revolves. Mostly in the hr sector, also based on hiring. It's impossible to develop a positive influence with all the competition,
Pros
great company
Cons
greedy, arrogant
Was this review helpful?Yes 126No 28Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great leadership team
Customer Service Planner (Former Employee) –  Toronto19 September 2013
Call Centre and Customer Service focused staff provide excellent quality service to the public.

Information about service status up to date and timely.

Transparent to the public and staff.
Pros
Staff Transportation Pass
Cons
No cross over to TTC fares
Was this review helpful?Yes 70No 36Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Can you say Union-arific??
ABC (Former Employee) –  Head Office26 July 2013
Go Transist if full of broken birds who rely heavily on their union.
Management is full of weak disfunctional people who can't make a decision.
Tons and tons of neotism.. and you're not supposed to say anything about it.
Pros
$
Was this review helpful?Yes 111No 24Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My mother told me if I have nothing nice to say...say nothing
Station Attendant (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON29 June 2013
There are fabulous people in Bus Ops. I had to move to Station Ops due to medical reasons. I truly miss the Bus Ops. managers, co-workers and the upper management in that division.
Pros
great pay
Cons
long commute
Was this review helpful?Yes 70No 35Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at GO Transit. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 23 reviews
512
46
31
20
14

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
4.2Salary/Benefits
4.0Job Security/Advancement
3.7Management
3.8Culture