Global Affairs Canada Employee Reviews

Found 27 reviews matching the search See all 33 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Global Affairs
Event Coordinator Summits Management Office (SMO) (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON5 November 2019
This is a very interesting, usually fast-paced place to work. Colleagues are extremely talented, hard-working and interesting, and the work is challenging and rewarding.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Computer application support (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON10 October 2019
Learned alot of new things that i've added to my IT knowledge skills , meet great people that led me to have an unbelievable experience the time that i've been there
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad place to work in IT
Desktop Support Technician (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON23 September 2019
They keep you on contract with no possible way to get hired permanent

They don’t care about you

I would like to work there but with current management I would stay away
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
Volunteer Work (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON21 August 2019
Provided administrative support to the Government Workplace Charitable Campaign Manager including: packaging and distributing campaign materials, organizing and setting up campaign office, and preparing volunteer packages.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
International Trade Officer (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON21 July 2019
work place culture, most enjoyable place to work . great management team. Great objectives which help build team spirit. I learned a great deal, particularly to build contextual intelligence and a great - perhaps the best sense of diplomacy
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Above average Federal Government workplace
Data Analyst/Student (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON24 June 2019
Very comfortable workplace given Federal Government standards. Workplace culture is hit or miss depending on management however many opportunities for growth exist.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Potentially a great environment to work
Tempest Specialist (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON29 May 2019
Depends on the people you work with. There are good and bad and GAC is a typical bureaucratic Government Department.-------------------------------------------------------------------
Pros
Postings overseas
Cons
Rotational Service means you move around a lot
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Summer Experience
Summer Student Intern (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON15 May 2019
Worked as an intern for the summer on the Hull side. everyone is very nice and helpful. Things can be slow at times and the equipment is not the best.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Communications and Marketing Assistant (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON27 March 2019
Great place to work, super nice people, clean and quiet space where it is easy to get work done on time. Pushed me to strive to work harder in a fast paced environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A challenging but stable work environment
IM/IT Communications (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON21 February 2019
Global Affairs Canada is like many government departments, it has it's good and bad points.

THE GOOD
- Stable work environment
- Striving to help employees with work/life balance
- Good salary and benefits

THE BAD
- Bureaucracy (red tape, approval process) can be limiting
- Workplace is in transition to more a flexible environment (teleworking, alternative work arrangements) but still has far to go
- Often have staffing issues that make for a heavy/stressful work load
Pros
Working towards accommodating teleworking
Cons
Red tape
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Workplace
SOFTWARE QUALITY CONTROL ANALYST (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON13 November 2018
A typical day at work is very productive since people interact frequently. The has been a lot to learn in this workplace since the system is very big. It has a diverse work culture. Even though some challenges may be included in understanding system applications flowing though and well as problem solving in an ordinary way, learning and applying new knowledge and experiences can be the most enjoyable part of the job.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Global Affairs Canada
Parliamentary Affairs Officer (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON29 September 2018
Interesting case files, access to a great network, and some really interesting managers with diverse backgrounds. Likely will bump into some Type A personalities, but overall the personalities in the department are quite diverse.
Cons
Security protocols
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work
System Requirements Error Message Processor (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON3 August 2018
Excellent place to work because I was free to work on my project with minimal supervision. I was also asked to perform other tasks because I excelled at my primary duties.
Pros
Great people
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun Place
Quality Control - IT Professional (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON3 April 2018
I had an amazing experience working for Global Affairs Canada. Learned new technologies like Microsoft Visual Studio Team Manager and Team Foundation Server
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Office Clerk (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON7 March 2018
Global Affairs Canada was a good work experience the staff and manager were very good to me it was a fun work environment
with a good group of co-workers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
CO-OP positions
Junior Policy Analyst (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON19 February 2018
Trade Secors - A lot to do in the trade side of GAC. As a student, you will gain a lot of knowledge of international trade and practical work experience.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
To be effective, on-site consultants need a DESK
Special Advisor (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON13 February 2018
I liked and respected the people with whom I worked directly very much, and I liked the actual work. Some of the other dynamics, such as inter-silo bickering, are worrisome. (This evaluation site REALLY needs a "not applicable" option)
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gouvernement
Junior Business Analyst (COOP) (Former Employee) –  Gatineau, QC18 December 2017
Environnement de travail typique du gouvernement
Beaucoup de bureaucracy et complexité dans la paperasse
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice environmnent
Software Quality Control Analyst (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON25 July 2017
I typically come into work and do what's expected of me. I don't feel like I'm being micromanaged at all and I'm free to do my work. Being put in the same cubicle as another student helped make the job more enjoyable.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
satisfactory
Trade Commissioner Assistant (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB19 July 2017
This was a contract position so I did not receive any benefits.
It was a rewarding and challenging position.
My co-workers were extremely hardworking and taught me a lot.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Global Affairs Canada. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 33 reviews
514
411
37
21
10

Ratings by category

3.9Work/Life Balance
4.1Salary/Benefits
3.6Job Security/Advancement
3.7Management
3.8Culture

Global Affairs Canada Reviews by Location