Glendale Golf and Country Club Employee Reviews

Showing all 18 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management transitions made for terrible work environment.
Turf Maintenance (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB13 June 2019
Management needs to redefine their concept of professionalism. With no significant pay increase I can work other courses for more$. No employees fun times.
Pros
Team mates fun.
Cons
Low pay, management looked out for themselves with little to no pay raises for return employees.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Workplace
Server (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON12 April 2019
Flexible hours-good with days off, members are great like to interact with employees, either worked inside or on the cart, get perks for being a clublink employee
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible
Cleaner (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON2 April 2019
By far the worst job I have ever had, Management is lead around by the cleaning lady, who is a complete loser. Terrible conditions. They can't keep cleaning staff...… I know why.
Pros
None
Cons
The full time cleaning lady is a wacko
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible experience
Server/Bartender (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB25 March 2019
The management is horrible at distributing shifts equally upon staff members. The expectation of the employees was way too extreme for such little pay.

P.S. work here if you don’t mind your boss stealing your tips!
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don’t work here
Server (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB17 March 2019
Probably the worst place I’ve ever worked. The restaurant was never busy so shifts went by slow. Barely got any hours because there were too many servers. Some members were very rude. Lack of communication bw managers and kitchen
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Summer Job
Server (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB4 January 2019
Super nice members, easy money if you have previous industry experience, coworkers were all very sweet and management is flexible with time off in the summer.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good food fast service
JR SOUS CHEF (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON10 December 2017
Fun place if you like to golf or play curling goo for weddings events and will try to accommodate any needs necessary. The food tastes great and is nice and fresh.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Strong Managment
Food and Beverage Manager (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB13 November 2017
The management team that works with each department are great at their jobs. They have a lot of experience and knowledge between them and work together very well.
Pros
Management Support
Cons
Long hours in summertime
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not fun anymore
Cook/Prep (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB3 August 2017
just good
the hardest part of my job here is when it get busy not enough people to help you


the most enjoyable part is the time of your off shift

I learned a lot when I first started with the previous chef.but since they have new chef now not much more to learn nothing more classy than it use to be. everything looks so simple.
Pros
sorry no pros
Cons
no breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful Membership
Pro Shop Manager (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB17 April 2017
In a private golf club, the member experience is the most important thing. At Glendale Golf and C.C., the membership makes it an extremely enjoyable place to work and doesn't make you think twice about going above and beyond.
Pros
Membership Culture
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great summer job
Server (Current Employee) –  Hamilton, ON25 November 2016
The perfect summer job! Great experience working for Club link and learned a lot about golf. Established positive relationships and rapport with regular members.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace!
Turf Maintenance (Current Employee) –  Hamilton, ON29 October 2016
Early days starting at 6:00 am- 2:00 pm. A board was used to tell the employees what their specific jobs were for the day. These jobs included: cutting collars, stepcut, greens, tees, fairways, changing pins, coolers, and raking bunkers. Once these jobs are done, other smaller jobs are done throughout the rest of the day. These include trimming, laying asphalt, blowing paths and debris, clearing,etc.
Pros
Free barbecue once a month, awesome and understanding bosses, work day done at 2 because of early morning start.
Cons
Early mornings (6:00 am). Sometimes weather is an issue.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun for a summer job
Maintenance Worker (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB18 February 2015
Good work, started very early and had to work a lot of days but work was not hard. Good people worked there and made a lot of friends.
Pros
Free soup
Cons
Worked weekends
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work as a team
LINE COOK (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB9 September 2014
I love to work in a glendale gold and country club there is good mangement and good people, everybody working as a team ,
Pros
Free uniform
Cons
Good management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work out doors
Equipment Operator, Grounds Crew (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB5 November 2012
Early mornings weren't too bad it's all part of the job and its nice to be up before anyone else. I learned a lot of patience with training new employees on equipment as well as good people skills and respect in dealing with the private members and celebrities that occasionally golfed. I was not too impressed with the management of the grounds crew, people management is severely lacking. The co-workers change every year as it is a seasonal job and Ive had no complaints. The most enjoyable part of working there was being outdoors working on equipment, learning, making new friends and getting free rounds of golf!
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Workplace
Back Shop Worker (Current Employee) –  Hamilton, ON2 November 2012
My boss was always accommodating to my needs and the staff was always top-notch to work with. Lack of actual training may have hurt the staff in past years but overall a fine workplace
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good learning experience
Banquet supervisor / restaurant supervisor (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB10 August 2012
Glendale has helped me in teaching me all the things that i know now. Those included booking functions, planning events, working in banquets the do's and dont's of hospitality and a lot of the policies.
Glendale can keep you very busy it changes from day to day which i really enjoy, the management can be very helpful and they are always teaching you something new. The hardest part of Glendale is dealing with the members because they are spending so much money they expect everything to go there way and they can be very opinionated, but it's the members who i've gotten to know by name and become closer with that make my job enjoyable
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Glendale Golf and Country Club. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 18 reviews
57
44
31
22
14

Ratings by category

3.1Work/Life Balance
2.8Salary/Benefits
2.6Job Security/Advancement
2.9Management
3.3Culture

Glendale Golf and Country Club Reviews by Location