Glencore Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
depressing atmosphere where no-one is very happy.
Millwright (Current Employee) –  Timmins, ON2 May 2018
used to be a good place to work but no longer. Still pays well ing but they are trying to get rid of people because they are closing in two to 4 years.
Pros
monthly bonus
Cons
a lot of selfish, uneducated people work there and corruption seems rampant.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
journée productive
Effectuer entretien (Former Employee) –  Salaberry-de-Valleyfield, QC14 March 2018
Une journée de travail chez Ce zinc est réparti sur une période de 12h.

Nous travaillons dans des conditions difficile par exemple, chaleur, poussière, feu, effort physique etc...

La santé sécurité est une politique très importante que chacun doit respecter.

Malgré les enjeux des conditions de travail, chaque tache est bien organisé pour que le travail sois exécuté de façon sécuritaire.
Pros
assurance
Cons
horaire de nuit
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work
Retired (Former Employee) –  Sudbury, ON23 January 2018
Great place to work productive exciting and rewarding. Trustworthy company with excellent track record on completing projects. Investing money for future mine sites to enhance an already excellent portfolio.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Miner
Miner (Former Employee) –  Sudbury, ON23 January 2018
Great place to work with lots of enjoyable people. Management is knowledgeable and trustworthy. awesome schedule. Seem to be investing a lot of money in future projects
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great atmospher
Snr Service Desk Technician (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON3 January 2018
good employee atmosphere while working there. Top level management (regional IT manager) is a good person. There isn't much I can say about working there. This is a forced review which I'd rather not have to do with Indeed.com
Pros
free lunches
Cons
Long hours more than expected
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Collègues agréables, équipe de gestion très inefficace.
Ancien employé (Former Employee) –  Montréal-Est, QC13 September 2017
Le personnel est, dans son ensemble, très compétent, mais la culture organisationnelle de cette usine ne permet pas d'optimiser le potentiel de chacun. Plusieurs employés sont très démotivés. Atmosphère de travail moyennement agréable. Si vous recherchez un salaire, vous êtes au bon endroit. Si par contre, vous recherchez un travail passionnant et stimulant qui offrira des défis à la hauteur de vos compétences...Vous serez peut-être déçu!
Pros
Les salaires sont très compétitifs
Cons
La culture globale de l'usine de Montréeal-est, Très hiérarchisé rendant l'atmosphère de travail peu motivante.
Was this review helpful?Yes 18No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
one of the best jobs a person can have
transportation and logistics (Former Employee) –  Falconbridge, ON21 August 2017
management really cares. This is a place where you can advance in your career if you are a hard and honest worker. Overtime hours are available and Monday to Friday work week is stellar.
Pros
excellent wages and hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Developing Work skills
Mangement Contracter Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Bathurst, NB3 June 2017
I worked at the same mine for 38 plus years and worked myself up the ladder from labourer to Miner for the first 12 years and then went on to a management position from Frontline to Supervisor to Trainer to Schedular/planner to Contractor Coordinator.The last position was for 9 years .
I was responsible for deliverables such as Priority Mining to advising and following all best practices and most importantly . The Safety of the workers from a managers perspective .
Pros
Dependable Company with a good salary
Cons
Daily travel which was 2.5 hours per day
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work !
HR coordinator (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC1 June 2017
Good place to work and learn about mining industry. Good people... really competent ! Had fun and would recommend to my friends and family ! thank you !
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, fun and caring workplace
Student/Labourer (Former Employee) –  Greater Sudbury, ON1 May 2017
Great place to work, always productive, caring and fun workplace that cares about its employees and ensures they are well and fit. If ùI ever get the opportunity to work there, I would take it in a heart beat for life time career.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable Job
Miner C (Current Employee) –  Onaping, ON27 January 2017
I enjoy going to work day in and day out. Many crews have good morale and are good to work with. Logistics department has a good mixture of jobs that are rotated therefore keeping things interesting.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
environnement agréable
mecanicien industriel (Former Employee) –  Nouvelle Caledonie16 January 2017
beaucoup de préparation avant de commencer un travail , il faut s'habituer au différente culture , le plus difficile a été de transmettre mes expériences de travail par contre la valorisation personnelle a été très bonne .
Pros
salaire et avantages
Cons
loin de la maison
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun
Geologist (Current Employee) –  Rosh Pinan25 October 2016
I enjoy what I do at work, overall pleasant environment to work for.
My work involves technical and provide much opportunities to learn everyday. I enjoy working with management and my co-workers. The hardest part of my job is when following procedures and standards which I do not enjoy doing. The most enjoyable part of my job is working with the team and when everyone pulls in one direction.
Pros
Conducive environment
Cons
Minimum innovation
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Conditions de travail avantageuses
Chargé de projets (Current Employee) –  valleyfield, QC13 July 2016
En tant que chargé de projet, je m'assure que les demandes des différents départements au niveau des projets d'automatisation soient traités de façon à satisfaire leur besoin.

Je gère toutes les étapes des projets incluant l'installation et la mise en service. L'ingénierie est souvent donnée à des consultants externes, mais la gestion de ceux-ci m'appartient.

J'ai appris à gérer du personnel de maintenance, des consultants et des entrepreneurs.

Le plus difficile de ce poste est de concilier tous les projets de tous les département à la fois, soit environ 35 projets simultanément en tout temps.

Le plus agréable du poste est la diversité des projets et l'autonomie qui nous est offert pour trouver les bonnes solutions aux besoins du département.
Pros
Horaire et avantages sociaux
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
environnment de travail agréable
cuisinier d`établissement (Former Employee) –  Rouyn-Noranda, QC10 July 2016
J;ai vécu une très belle expérience au près de la compagnie glencore,le personnel de la cuisine étaient vraiment agréable à côtoyer,une belle expérience dans le grand-nord,
Pros
transport par avion, vetements fourni par la compagnie, très bien logé
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bonne environnement de travail
superviseur entretien (Former Employee) –  Nouvelle, QC19 June 2016
bonne expérience de travail chez Alcoa car on touchait un peu a toutes sortes d'équipement en entretien.
Pros
usine tres propre
Cons
pas d'appui
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Comany seemed lost with no directon
Quality Manager (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB7 January 2016
Worked from 05:45 to 15:30 every day and through the weekends when at site in Chad, Africa. The schedule at site in Chad was from 06:00 to 18:00 every day. Enjoyed the challenge when the company was Caracal and we started from a green field site to 2500 bbd in 18 months. We had a great team and we worked well together.
Pros
Hard work and long hours and great achievement
Cons
Management transition not well done
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bonne environnement
Stagiaire (Former Employee) –  Matagami, QC5 January 2016
Bonne environnement propice à une bonne carrière.
Propice au dépassement de soi
Pros
Repas gratuits
Cons
Courtes pauses
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overseas
Drilling & Completion Technologist (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB2 December 2015
I Enjoyed working in the overseas environment for work & life balance. The people I worked with in Africa were professional and an excellent team.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work with great opportunity to move ahead in your career
Recruiter (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB16 September 2015
The downturn in the economy meant layoffs for the company, me included. The Calgary office ended up fully closing at the end of August.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Glencore. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 277 reviews
5103
4106
347
216
15

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
4.1Salary/Benefits
3.6Job Security/Advancement
3.7Management
3.7Culture