GIBSON ENERGY Employee Reviews

Found 27 reviews matching the search See all 47 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work
Executive Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB15 March 2019
Gibson Energy was a dynamic company to work for. I enjoyed it thoroughly. It was a fast paced job with a company that definitely gave back to the community
Pros
Wonderful work environment
Cons
jobs lost due to company restructuring
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
changing workplace
SAFETY MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Moose Jaw, SK6 March 2019
I worked with a very talented team. The new management team decided on a different direction. At my termination I was among 50% of the management team that were terminated on that day. I had a great experience at Gibsons and wish all those there the best.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place to work for
Chief Hauling Contractors (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB23 October 2018
Only worked there briefly but was a great experience.The people were all very nice and accepting, as well this was a contract out experience. The management treated me really nicely as well.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
best workplace to work at
Accounting Analyst (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB17 August 2018
downtown location, caring management, beautiful river view and Eau Claire view from offices, convenient location for walks, large gym, interesting corporate parties
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and very useful experience
Technical Services Summer Student (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB17 July 2018
I worked with Gibsons Energy as a summer student. Throughout the summer I was exposed a great deal of experiences that provided me with a number of learning opportunities.
Pros
Great coworkers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always a new experiance
Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Wabasca-Desmarais, AB8 July 2018
The culture changed a lot when bids on the job changed. Lower grade contractors, run down equipment , poor moral . otherwise fun great group of guys when things were going good with lots of work
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This is a great place to work
SHOP FOREMAN (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB28 May 2018
I enjoy working at Gibson's. Most all the people here are great. The management here for the most part are very good, easy to talk to and fair. I have learned so much in my last 10 years here.
Pros
great people
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Reliable and Consistent Workplace
Lead Heavy Duty Mechanic (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB3 March 2018
Gibson's energy is a fair and reliable employer that allows for direct connection with managers and executives. I have most enjoyed the opportunity to make decisions in the best interest of the company and to provide input into ways to improve performance and the lifetime of the fleet.
Pros
Shift work limited to weekdays
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
New CEO has completely changed the company, not for the better
Accounting (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB8 February 2018
The company up until the new CEO was a great work environment. They provided great benefits and a good work life balance. The old CEO was a great leader and created a great work environment.

However, the new CEO, was tasked by the major shareholder to cut jobs, cut costs and sell off most of the company. Benefits have been cut, time work increased and employee morale is currently extremely low.
Was this review helpful?Yes 21No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging and rewarding work environment
Senior Business Analyst - Corporate Development (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB12 October 2017
Always something going on and things to do. Exciting to evaluate organic and inorganic growth opportunities while working closely with members throughout the organization.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 5Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The branch was a good place to work with good team members
Dispatcher/Administration (Former Employee) –  Rimbey, AB7 May 2017
I enjoyed working at Gibson Energy and was disappointed when my position was moved into Edmonton, and it was not feasible for me to relocate.

I was on shift work, 8 days on and 6 off. My typical day was 10 hours in the office, and I continued into the evenings with the company cell phone to dispatching after hours. I would dispatch for 24 hours while on shift. This would have been the hardest part of the job as I would receive calls throughout the night.

They reviewed our goals and achievements on a yearly basis.
The salary was fair. Had excellent benefits and company profit sharing.
Pros
Benefits and profit sharing
Cons
24 hour dispatching
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work, but dont expet to stay long
Programmer Analyst (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB21 January 2017
IS department is a mess, they have no idea what they are doing there and keep changing their plans. Project drag on forever waiting for IS resources. They don't understand that IS is a customer focused unit where your customer is the business, not the HR department.
Was this review helpful?Yes 18No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work.
CHIEF HAULING CONTRACTORS (a division (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB16 November 2016
Chief Hauling Contractors was a wonderful place to work. Management was very down to earth and great to work with. They were always available if any questions arose. We were like one big happy family working together to achieve a common goal.
Pros
Management very down to earth and easy to work with
Cons
Month end stressful due to timelines.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work.
Plant Operator (Former Employee) –  Midale, SK8 November 2016
Guys works at Gibson are great and nice to work with. the job schedule was great also. safety guidelines are very strict and very concern to employees safety
Pros
nice oevertime pay
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Kept me busy
Class 1 Driver (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB25 October 2016
Was good over all
Loved it dispatches for good had some very good runs
Just wish I could find runs that went past home.
I wish I could stay but no work now.
Pros
Was runs past home
Cons
No runs past home
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 8Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
brutal management in Calgary
Lead Operator (Former Employee) –  Drayton Valley, AB7 October 2016
In over their heads as they try and change ways of doing business has effected the company as employees are just numbers and all engineering is bid out to the lowest bidder and too many issues and maintenance expenditures are required causing layoffs.
Was this review helpful?Yes 15No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Work Environment
Programmer Analyst (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB22 June 2016
Good company to work for, some managers ideas are from the 80's. It was hard to get anything completed with all of the committees and politics.

Some people working on projects are not the smartest or best employees.

Management would have management skills but zero programming knowledge.
Pros
Good benifits
Cons
A lot of politics
Was this review helpful?Yes 13NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun place to work
plant operator (Current Employee) –  Grande Cache, AB27 January 2016
the guys that work for gibbons are a great bunch of men and are awesome to work for. the job was great when it was busy and you were receiving lots of OT. but the cut backs have now taken its toll and salaries are being cut
Pros
atmosphere
Cons
salary, cut backs
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and good training
Accounts Receivable Analyst (Current Employee) –  Calgary18 October 2015
Excellent training, colleagues are helpful and good team work.
Enjoy liaising with the Clients
Enjoy my work and the programme used is excellent and user friendly
Was this review helpful?Yes 14No 12Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job
Human Resources Administrator (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB19 September 2015
Great company to work for and wonderful people with a good team environment. I left after obtaining my Human Resources Management certification for career advancement.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at GIBSON ENERGY. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 47 reviews
510
419
37
26
15

Ratings by category

3.5Work/Life Balance
3.5Salary/Benefits
2.7Job Security/Advancement
3.1Management
3.4Culture