GIBSON ENERGY ULC Employee Reviews

Showing all 16 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Used to be a good place to work
Shop employee (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB26 August 2018
Unfortunately this workplace has deteriorated over the last several years. The pay and the benefits are excellent but the management and culture have definitely suffered.
The management is lackluster at best and sometimes toxic at worst, where they pass the buck, don't follow through, don't provide leadership and don't communicate with each other or the employees.
Sometimes it feels like the company is filled with a bunch of cowboys who all do things their own way and think they are right and won't do any research about how things are done. Everyone thinks they are an expert even though they have only worked at that one company for their career and haven't seen any other way of doing things.
Pros
good benefits
Cons
frustrating days when dealing with leadership
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company going through change
Business Analyst (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB22 July 2018
Gibsons is going through a major restructuring and divesting
a large portion of the organization.

Corporate culture is also shifting away from focusing on employees to focusing more on profits.
Pros
Great benfits
Cons
Uncertain future
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lost Strategic Focus
Manager (Former Employee) –  Calgary, Canada4 February 2018
Historically a strong cultured company with a exceptional management team. Recently a senior management change has caused a destruction of morale, and has provided limited vision as to the direction of the firm. The competency and company strategy of the newly appointed CEO is questionable at best.
Pros
Good work life balance
Cons
Poor culture
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Females are treated unfairly by management in the shop. Toxic environment to work in
Mechanic Apprentice (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB12 June 2017
Its a toxic environment to work in, unless you are one of managements favourites. They will single you out in front of others when you make a mistake and blame you for things that they or they're favourites have done. The shop crew is a great group of guys though and easy to work with
Pros
Benefits are amazing
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrific compensation and benefits; great group of people
Administrative Assistant, Human Resources (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB4 July 2017
I worked at Gibson for 5 years and only left to follow a mentor to her next place of work. Gibson was a terrific place to work with a strong corporate culture and an emphasis on team building.
Pros
Compensation, Benefits and Culture
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent Company
Supervisor, Treasury (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB15 May 2017
Weaker compensation than a producer, but great benefits and work life balance. Aggressive growth strategy, but lack of focus on any strategic area, almost too diversified.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of the best companies
DATA ANALYST (Current Employee) –  Calgary26 July 2016
Gibson is one of the best companies I have ever worked for and if it weren't for the industry down turn would work there until the end of my career. Although their pay is middle of the road you could not ask for better benefits.
Pros
benefits, life/work balance
Cons
pay, micro-companies within the company
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Callanging and rewarding with exellent preformance bonuses
Maintenance Electrician (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB15 November 2017
Team orientated with a friendly atmosphere
Safety is #1
Excellent benefit packages wing flex days.
5 days a week with overtime after 8 hours.
Company truck with 24/7 access.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful Place to work
HSSE Specialist (Former Employee) –  Grande Prairie, AB22 January 2014
A typical day working at Gibson Energy was a stressful one, no operational buy in at all. i got a little training from the company. management is poorly managed in so many ways. so co-workers are good to work with. hardest part of the job was winning with Operational BU. i did enjoy the positions field work, and interaction with field employees. Operational BU not a great atmosphere to work in.
Pros
none
Cons
Terrible work environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 10NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging place to work
Driver (Former Employee) –  Wabasca, AB21 August 2012
2 to 3 heavy loads tri drive body job with quad wagon in a day
you learn how to read you're roads quickly in wabasca
great bunch to work with
being a company driver and having to compete with other owner opps
Pros
great pay, assigned unit.
Cons
long hours, muddy roads, soft leases, work away from home.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Atmosphere/coworkers can be fun at times
Data Analyst (Current Employee) –  Hardisty, AB6 June 2016
I enter truck transportation data every day on my computer. Deadlines to meet
Converse with management for finalization on decisions
Spear head safety meetings and safety inspections
I am respected from my coworkers and truck drivers
Pros
Family orientated
Cons
Not always recognized for accomplishments
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
New Learning objectives faced daily
Data Analyst/Administrative Analyst (Former Employee) –  Grande Prairie, AB27 November 2015
I enjoyed my position with Gibson Energy ULC, I was relatively newer to the Truck Transportation field. I was faced with new learning objectives and challenges pertaining to collecting and inner workings with relation to HSS&E and NSC regulations and standards.
Pros
Ability to advance educationally with readily available courses
Cons
Co-operative assistance with other Administrative co-workers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great atmosphere, with great people. Overall Gibsons is a fantastic company to work for.
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB25 June 2014
My day generally starts with a greeting from my co-workers.
Always a good working environment where everyone gets along and everyone is always willing to help a fellow employee out.
This company respect its employees and we are all treated very well.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 4Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working in Gibson Energy provides a work life balance environment
Project Controls Analyst, Engineering Services (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB17 October 2015
expands my horizon both in learning new experience and at the same time sharing my knowledge and expertise in some ways.
Pros
monthly birthday and anniversary celebration
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced
Data Analyst (Former Employee) –  Edson, AB1 March 2017
This company taught me a lot about the Oil and Gas Industry.
Learning how to interact with the public, customers, fellow workers.
I really enjoyed the people I had to work with and deal with on a daily basis.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at GIBSON ENERGY ULC. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 16 reviews
55
43
36
22
10

Ratings by category

3.7Work/Life Balance
4.4Salary/Benefits
2.9Job Security/Advancement
3.0Management
3.0Culture