Giant Tiger Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work for
Grocery Clerk (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB15 February 2018
Giant Tiger, Amazing manager great people love working there.
I work there a term position hope they call me back.
I find that learn a lot merchandising taking with customer
Pros
great new store
Cons
the delivery truck was late somtimes
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Each store is community driven.
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Lloydminster, SK6 February 2018
Giant tiger was a great place to work at. They took a lot of time in training their managers. They sent us on many training opportunities.
Many different depts in the store so you can grow your career with in the store as well.
Only left for safety reasons.
Pros
Never a dull day. Can grow your career within the location.
Cons
Some locations are in scetchy locations. Some armed robberies.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
coworkers were kind, the management; not so much
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Dunnville, ON6 February 2018
I was only hired during the summer when I first started working. This was due to the fact a lot of the full time staff go away and this is their busiest time of year. They keep people right up until the three month probation period, then let them go without valid reason.
Pros
hour lunch
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i liked working here but the pay was not worth it
Cashier/Grocery (Former Employee) –  Moose Jaw, SK1 February 2018
when i worked here i liked it but the pay wasnt worth the drama, some of the managment were wonderful but the store manager wasnt the greates to deal with.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Workplace
Data Entry / Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON31 January 2018
I did not have the opportunity to explore the company much as I was on a short term contract, but it was a very fun workplace, everyone is friendly and the environment was safe at all times.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Just a store
Front End Cashier (Former Employee) –  Fort Saskatchewan, AB30 January 2018
I enjoyed working with the customers and the employees. I was hired part time, but was working just shy of full time hours, in order to not get benefits.
Pros
could be busy
Cons
long lunch breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Sales (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB30 January 2018
working here was no different than working in a retail placement it's always fun and there's always good vibes and sweet customers that make your day đŸ™‚
Pros
friendly employees
Cons
Only was working part time so I didn't spend enough time there
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's okay
Seasonal Associate (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON29 January 2018
The job is okay if you need a part-time job but the customers are rude and sometimes the management is rude. The hours are long most of the time, too.
Pros
50 percent off food
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
friendly and fun environment
Floor Person (Former Employee) –  Halifax, NS26 January 2018
Starting early before opening to fill the shelves ,coolers and bunkers
receiving new shipments
organizing cooler and freezer
being on the floor to help customers with the products and their experience at the shop
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Foods Associate (Former Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK18 January 2018
Management was always super understanding with your schedule and willing to work around both your life and their needs. Hours was good, and pay was good.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
Fashion Associate (Former Employee) –  Barrie, ON18 January 2018
Amazing first job to have! I learned a lot there. It's a great place and all of my co-workers were beyond amazing. It was hard with the weekly schedule because I wasn't able to plan anything ahead of time. We got long hours (9-8 hours), but we got a long lunch and multiple breaks.
Pros
multiple breaks
Cons
weekly schedule
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and pleasant place to work
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Ottawa West, ON17 January 2018
Working a Giant tiger was a great experience working with customers was wonderful and pleasant experience. I was always busy never a dull moment, which I like to be constantly busy.
Pros
free lunches
Cons
Evening Shifts
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
was fun
Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON16 January 2018
was a good job but payed little and no benefits. people acted like a family. hours were terrible and cut back before leaving. other then that it was ok.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice working environment
Cashier/Retail worker (Former Employee) –  Sutton, ON14 January 2018
Friendly working environment. I enjoyed the variety of jobs including cashier, stocking shelves, catering to the changerooms, keeping the floor clear.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Am awesome experience setting up New Store Experience
Fashion Manager (Former Employee) –  Wetaskiwin, AB12 January 2018
I learned lots with this experience. The company policies and proceedures and standards. Great company if someone wants to start in the retail industry! With lots of room to grown with a company!
Pros
Flexible scheduling
Cons
Long hours for new manager who is driven
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
student job
Shelving/Stock person (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON9 January 2018
It was my first job as a student and I really enjoyed it a lot it gave me experience and I worked with a great group that I really liked, once I finished school I had to look elsewhere.
Pros
close to home
Cons
pay was bad
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great
Retail Associate/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Woodstock, ON5 January 2018
they were great my coworkers were awesome it is very much a team environment. i left because of m own personal things going on. if i were able to i would go back.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good working environment
Cashier and Fashion Associate (Former Employee) –  Wetaskiwin, AB5 January 2018
Despite one employee, the rest were wonderful staff members and felt like family. Everyone helped each other and kept the work environment cheerful and pleasant.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Giant Tiger
Fashion (Former Employee) –  Grande Prairie, AB4 January 2018
Only one great manager and she was forced out by the store manager. Biggest mistake the store made. It is a very toxic place to work. Used to be so much fun but now the staff is negative and depressing
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
\Wonderful working environment
Order Picker/Wrapper (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON2 January 2018
Great training and supervisory staff. I enjoyed the daily environment and benefits. Working here was a pleasure and I was eager to show up every day and complete my shift.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport