Giant Tiger Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Foods Associate (Former Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK18 January 2018
Management was always super understanding with your schedule and willing to work around both your life and their needs. Hours was good, and pay was good.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and pleasant place to work
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Ottawa West, ON17 January 2018
Working a Giant tiger was a great experience working with customers was wonderful and pleasant experience. I was always busy never a dull moment, which I like to be constantly busy.
Pros
free lunches
Cons
Evening Shifts
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
was fun
Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON16 January 2018
was a good job but payed little and no benefits. people acted like a family. hours were terrible and cut back before leaving. other then that it was ok.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice working environment
Cashier/Retail worker (Former Employee) –  Sutton, ON14 January 2018
Friendly working environment. I enjoyed the variety of jobs including cashier, stocking shelves, catering to the changerooms, keeping the floor clear.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Am awesome experience setting up New Store Experience
Fashion Manager (Former Employee) –  Wetaskiwin, AB12 January 2018
I learned lots with this experience. The company policies and proceedures and standards. Great company if someone wants to start in the retail industry! With lots of room to grown with a company!
Pros
Flexible scheduling
Cons
Long hours for new manager who is driven
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
student job
Shelving/Stock person (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON9 January 2018
It was my first job as a student and I really enjoyed it a lot it gave me experience and I worked with a great group that I really liked, once I finished school I had to look elsewhere.
Pros
close to home
Cons
pay was bad
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great
Retail Associate/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Woodstock, ON5 January 2018
they were great my coworkers were awesome it is very much a team environment. i left because of m own personal things going on. if i were able to i would go back.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good working environment
Cashier and Fashion Associate (Former Employee) –  Wetaskiwin, AB5 January 2018
Despite one employee, the rest were wonderful staff members and felt like family. Everyone helped each other and kept the work environment cheerful and pleasant.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Giant Tiger
Fashion (Former Employee) –  Grande Prairie, AB4 January 2018
Only one great manager and she was forced out by the store manager. Biggest mistake the store made. It is a very toxic place to work. Used to be so much fun but now the staff is negative and depressing
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
\Wonderful working environment
Order Picker/Wrapper (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON2 January 2018
Great training and supervisory staff. I enjoyed the daily environment and benefits. Working here was a pleasure and I was eager to show up every day and complete my shift.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun to work
Grocery Associate, Cashier (Former Employee) –  Lakefield, ON1 January 2018
Fun to work here but frustrating - some unfair opportunities and unjustified actions from management. Most enjoyable part was gaining new friendships while understanding that the job is truly not as important as I initially thought.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I learned a lot from Giant Tiger
Retail Salesperson (Former Employee) –  Walkley Road,Ottawa28 December 2017
my seven years working in Giant tiger was amazing I love the people there and they are just like family but the hours there is not stable that’s why am looking for a stable job,
Pros
I learned a lot from Giant Tiger
Cons
shorter hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
shelf stocker
Warehouse Associate (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC21 December 2017
I've passed a nice periods working there. I had learned many things ans I''ve got too many experiences working with the group. I really hope that I could receive the common things there.
Pros
not free lunch
Cons
full-time
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Time off is difficult
Grocery Clerk (Current Employee) –  Peterborough, ON19 December 2017
Management has not replaced any staff that has left, and every employee is working 6 days a week unless you request time off. Then it is a request and not always guaranteed.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
day at work
Fashion Associate (Current Employee) –  Ajax, ON13 December 2017
everyone who works at Giant Tiger are amazing, our manager is really nice and good at his job. sometimes people can be harsh, which can cause your day to be very stressful. I enjoy working with everyone at Giant tiger, shifts are good, pay is always on time and schedule are posted consistently.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and energised work place with great managers and staff
CASHIER (Current Employee) –  Prince Albert, SK12 December 2017
ive learned to be quick on my feet and be able to adapt to any situation. the staff and management are amazing to work with. it s over all an enjoyable workplace.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
typical day
Sales Floor Associate (Former Employee) –  Brantford, ON11 December 2017
typical day would consist of assisting customers at change room with their items in changing size or style, keeping sales floor and change room areas clean and tidy
Pros
great environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was fun at first but gradually turned into blad and boring.
Customer Service Specialist Grocery Clerk Cashier (Former Employee) –  Wasaga Beach, ON, Orilla ON,9 December 2017
Was with company 5 years 4 of them Partime then final 5th year was given fulltime then after that year was told I had to be put to Partime again I said nope I quit (slap in the face) 😔💩👿
Pros
Friendly Co workers
Cons
No advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun, everday is new
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Sutton, ON7 December 2017
I started as administration supervisor, oversee all departments, company is fair. Like family.
always learning something different everyday

learn how to order merchandise,
Pros
busy
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work, management is exceptional.
Cashier/ Stock Person (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB7 December 2017
The owner of this company has created such an incredible environment to work and grow. The family aspect is unreal and you look forward to going to work. The hardest part of the job was the neighborhood and customers but the fellow staff and policies and culture made it worth it.
Pros
Family environment, accomodating.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Giant Tiger. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 399 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Salary/Benefits
3.3
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.6
Culture
3.7