Giant Tiger Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace
Supply Chain Manager (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON18 October 2018
Awesome work environment with great people. Growing company with lots of room for advancement and opportunities. Competitive salary and benefits package.
Pros
Great culture
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall fair
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Grande Prairie, AB15 October 2018
the organization of Giant Tiger promotes development from within, looks to move people up the ladder.
Culture in Western Canada is poor as NWC treats their managers poorly
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Store Culture was enjoyable to work in.
General Manager (Former Employee) –  Medicine Hat, AB13 October 2018
There was many long hours. Enjoyed the Planning and Customers Service part of the job. Found it challenging when trying to balance Work/Family Life at some time of the year.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun place to work.
Grocery Clerk (Former Employee) –  Thompson, MB9 October 2018
giant tiger was a productive and fun workplace,and a great experience overall. i enjoyed my time there, it suited my work life and school life perfectly.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Truck Driver - Class 1 (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON6 October 2018
Good place to work you get to deliver two different places deliveries are easy for the most part equipment is clean and fairly good problem is they do not pay well at all and you eventually leave no overtime till after 60 hours and if you get over 60 hours they will cut it back so you don't get overtime start pay is around $17
Pros
Good place to work
Cons
Pay is not good at all that's why people leave
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family-oriented job culture with flexible hours
Softgoods Supervisor (part-time) (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON4 October 2018
A great place to work for that makes you care about the job you are doing without constantly being micromanaged and disciplined. Very little chance for advancement
Pros
Great work environment
Cons
Little chance for advancement, minimum wage
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work, co-workers are nice and very professional.
Fashion Associate (Former Employee) –  Ottawa West, ON2 October 2018
I’ve been working there for many years. It was fun and I had a good experience dealing with nice & bad customers. You have to experience this kind of job so you grow as a nice individual. My co-workers are nice & professionals, well ...few are not. Company trained you from time to time especially customer service that most of us need to not just in a retail an office environment as well, as some offices workers doesn’t know about customer’s service!
Pros
Flexible, 1 hour break and 2 15mins break
Cons
Minimum wage for starter
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This was a good place to work
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON26 September 2018
This was a good place to work. I learned a lot about customer service. I was always kept busy and had something to do. I mostly kept the sales floor clean and assisted customers. It could be tiring after a long shift.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Leduc, AB26 September 2018
General management duties. Good senior mgt support. Good customer base and public acceptance as this is a wholly owned and operated true Canadian company
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pretty laid back compared to other large retailers
FASHION ASSOCIATE (Former Employee) –  New Brunswick19 September 2018
Laid back work environment. Small stores mean close employees. Kind of hard to fit in at first. Management not exactly helpful. Small perks like weekly free coffee were nice.
Pros
Free coffee
Cons
Management not helpful
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place for a first job
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Fredericton, NB17 September 2018
Giant Tiger is the perfect place if you're looking for a job on little to no experience. My co-workers were great, the pay was decent for a retail job, and the breaks were longer than they needed to be (didn't really appreciate that until I left and realized that wasn't the norm).
Pros
Hour long lunches, decent employee discount
Cons
Scheduling isn't super flexible, only get the schedule one week in advance
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy and Entertaining
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB16 September 2018
Never not doing something. Constantly working every minute.
Challenging with customer service (hard to bite tongue)
Managers are the best
Coworkers are so nice.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't bother.
Forklift Operator/Receiver (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON12 September 2018
Management has botched the transition to the new warehouse. Sending product back to the old warehouses, because they can't offload fast enough, despite taking 90% of our staff. No wage increases for existing employees moving to the new facility. New wage increase for part time/agency associates IN THE INTEREST OF KEEPING THEM HIRED, but no increase for existing employees running out their contract. There is no incentive to actually do your job anymore, as there is no enforced consequence for not doing it. Incentives target non-employees, makes the company seem like they don't care about their employees running out their contracts.
Pros
Nothing
Cons
Health n Safety isn't enforced, running stop signs, loose product high in the racking, fire hoses/fire columns inaccessible due to pallets in the way, etc...
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not very enjoyable
excellent customer service (Former Employee) –  Brantford, ON10 September 2018
it was my first job, i enjoyed it sometimes. Met some nice people, learned a lot about retail. Would work there again, the management were nice and friendly
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Didn’t have a great store manager
Grocery Associate (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB8 September 2018
The store manager was rude to the staff and did whatever he wants. My typical day was filling stock and being a backup cashier as well as working in receiving
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great envirnonent to work in
Team Lead (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON7 September 2018
Direct supervisor was great to work with and was very knowledgeable in operations of the warehouse. During my development in a leadership role I took many ques and instructions from him to continue learning how to handle and manage employees. It was always a fun environment and enjoyed the people I worked with.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great people!
Retail Sales (Former Employee) –  Sutton, ON6 September 2018
working at giant tiger was an awesome job, I always had fun while working, and each person I worked with was awesome! very welcoming always and made sure everyone felt at home while working!!!
Pros
awesome coworkers
Cons
sometimes customers got mean
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
friendly workplace with understanding staff
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Alberta29 August 2018
would work there again. staff was friendly and management was understanding and welcoming, working with you against problems not against you. hours were short and benefits were hard to ge tthough
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The staff is amazing to work with
Supervisor, cashiers - retail (Current Employee) –  Rockland, ON28 August 2018
- Always working costumers
- Always on my feet
- I learned teamwork, communications, and organization
- People I work with are freindly always there to help each others out
- What I love about my work is that we can joke around with each other and have fun
Pros
being around people
Cons
not getting paid enough
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved the job, but managment wasnt good at all/
Grocery Associate (Former Employee) –  St. Paul, AB24 August 2018
I worked my daily routine shift everyday as a hardworker. But management didn`t have a good attitude behind the management of the place. She made our workplace stressful than a happy place to be.
Pros
Fast paced environment
Cons
Bad Management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Giant Tiger. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 489 reviews
5172
4150
3114
235
118

Ratings by category

3.7Work/Life Balance
3.2Salary/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.5Management
3.6Culture