Giant Tiger Employee Reviews

Found 462 reviews matching the search See all 467 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good for a summer job
Order Picker/Packer (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON11 August 2018
Giant Tiger is alright for temporary or part time work during the summer to save money. The Warehouse is 40 plus degrees during summer, has thefts occurring constantly to the employees and Giant Tiger itself.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fashion and cashier
Set up Crew Member (Former Employee) –  Leamington, ON9 August 2018
Setuo new store opening
Unwrap packed fashion and hang on hangers
Learn the basics being a cashier and good customer service
Always keep areas clean
Learn new tasks
Pros
Great people
Cons
They are too strict on who they hire
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good job for a beginner
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Dartmouth, NS8 August 2018
This was my first job as a highschool student.
Management was very easy to get along with for scheduling around school and extra curricular activities.
Fast pace and lots of face to face customer interaction
Pros
good people to work with
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Order Picker
Order Picker (Former Employee) –  ottawa,ont7 August 2018
Not a bad place to work if you don't mind hard work, raises are above average, Cross training on fork lifts is available. In your reviews they like to ask you what you would like to learn. Monthly meeting, management little side track lately with move to Johnstown,Ont happening
Pros
Perks with job and discount
Cons
Piece count pushed
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management
Associate (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON7 August 2018
I did not like the manager of this place, she was rude and not organized at all. She never knew where I had to be, she would put me somewhere and tell me to learn it myself and then she would be mad if it wasn't done right.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed working there, but I need to make more money.
Fashion and Cashier Associate (Current Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK3 August 2018
I enjoy work there, however, I need to make more money. I considered the employees my work family. I am attending Saskatoon Business College to find a job to make a career.
Pros
Most employees are my work family
Cons
A small group of customers can be harmful.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
overall was a fun place to work
Giant tiger (Former Employee) –  Angus, ON2 August 2018
The people at the location I worked at the staff was very friendly and welcoming as well as the management, It was easy work, but very good hours. was a very good first job to have
Pros
positive environment
Cons
pay wage was low
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was Fun
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON29 July 2018
I loved working hear because it has always been a dream of mine to work in a retail clothing store because i loved putting the clothes in order and hanging them on their racks and meeting the customers when they needed help.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and free place
General Laborer/Inventory supervisor (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON25 July 2018
its good and bad. good in the sense that the job is relaxing and more energetic and bad in terms of management and uneasy staffs to deal with especially the ladies working in front.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Grocery stock on shelves
Grocery Stocker (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB20 July 2018
As a grocery team I check the grocery if they arrange properly, I see all they dates if it when will expire the products and I checked the temperature of cooler and freezer.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent growing company
Category Manager - Grocery (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON17 July 2018
Great opportunity at GT and lots of growth now and in the future. Management is a little dated and not overly interested in change or evolution. Heard too many times that "this is how it's always been done". That being said, i would definitely recommend this company to anybody. The future looks bright and lot has already changed since I left.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very interactive and enjoyable
Cashier and Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Burlington, ON16 July 2018
Great workplace, lovely people and customers every is very friendly there, and everyone helps out each other no matter what the situation is. They treat everyone with respect.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible place to work
Cashier/Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Chatham-Kent, ON14 July 2018
Management lacks a spine. No respect for confidentiality and no repercussions for actions against workplace policy. Overbearing work load for pay and positions.
Cons
Managment
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work with awesome co-workers
Cashier / Fashion (Former Employee) –  Red Deer, AB13 July 2018
Giant Tiger was a brand new company to red deer when i worked there, it was a great experience to help build up the fresh start of a business. All the team members got along great and always helped one another, as well as customers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was great working for them and learned a lot
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Halifax, NS13 July 2018
It was great working for them and learned a lot.
I enjoyed working for Giant Tiger dealt with customer service.
This job help me 2 get experience in a retail environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Toxic environment to work in
Cashier (Former Employee) –  GTA, ON12 July 2018
Always short staffed,Never two days off in a row,Management is best described as Shady alot of the time,Management will LITERALLY hide and watch you as you work. If you dont want a personal life want to fall deeper into depression and love being watched apply now
Pros
Friendly Co Workers For most part
Cons
Everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales Associates
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Campbellford, ON12 July 2018
most enjoyable is dealing with customers and assisting them in their shopping experience.

Meet alot of people in my job position as cashier, sales associate in clothing and alot a great people to work alongside.
Pros
travel time to work... less on gas
Cons
low wage
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work at.
Administrative Support, Fixtures and Supplies (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON11 July 2018
Loved working at GT! Everyone likes each other, they have an employee appreciation day once a month where they cater food from different restaurants. My boss was super nice, respectful and helpful.
I learned on the job about vlookups thanks to my boss- Amazing experience!
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy workplace always something to do. Fast paced envoirment
Order Picker/ Labourer (Current Employee) –  Brockville, ON9 July 2018
Get to work start by grabbing order and completing orders till shift has been completed. There is a pick rate of 165 cases per hour. The hardest part of the job is to pick 1200 cases every single night. Most enjoyable part of the job is the people that you work with.
Pros
Paid 15 minute breaks
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Prouctive place for advancement, pool tables at lunch time and many other incentives
shipper/wraper (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON9 July 2018
I started in 2000 leaning to driver double pickers machines ,counterbalance, all machines in a warehouse. They have a great staff to work well in very fast pace environment. I was trained picking food orders, unloading truck and lining the products in the proper lanes. I worked pick tobacco orders. I have worked every department within the warehouse.
Management put on a Hawaii lunch, Christmas lunch and a breakfast were they serve the employees.
I like playing pool with boys at lunch time, we had a fun time.
Giant Tiger puts on family events a few times a year to say thanks to the employees.
The hardest part of the job is how busy we are but the most enjoyable is we were a great group to work together as a team to make things happen.
Pros
free lunches
Cons
busy
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Giant Tiger. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 467 reviews
5169
4140
3109
231
118

Ratings by category

3.7Work/Life Balance
3.2Salary/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.5Management
3.7Culture