George Brown College Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No room for growth
SENIOR INFORMATION SPECIALIST (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON16 April 2018
This is a union employer occupied by individuals with no intentions of retiring, or dying for that matter. So most young, overqualified individuals will simply bounce from one contract position to the next, until their spirits are completely broken.
Pros
Downtown
Cons
Monotonous
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Practicum
English Teacher Assistant (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON8 April 2018
I did my practicum at George Brown College for two months. It was a great opportunity and I've learnt a lot from my instructor. Wonderful experience there!
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Upward mobility
Peer Coach (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON3 April 2018
Management is very flexible and supportive. Overall great experience to make some money and help students and staff. A lot of opportunity to move around in the college from one department to another to gain valuable skills.
Pros
A lot of job opportunities
Cons
Work experience is short -term
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and enterprising
Baker (Former Employee) –  Markham, ON30 March 2018
Great place to work. Lot of new ideas and help available. One of the prestigious companies in Toronto. Good downtown location with great connections in the industry.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved Working Here
Cashier/ Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON12 March 2018
-Really great atmosphere
-Make lifelong friends
-Can be unorganized, but wasn't that bad
-Causal work culture
-Independent working
-Work with students, easy customer to work with
-Always loved going into work
Pros
Fun Job
Cons
Unorgaized
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Constant communication
Peer- Tutor (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON9 March 2018
George Brown College is easily accessible when clarification is needed when dealing with other members of the working team. Communicating allowed for better service to students and indivuals in need
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace.
Cashier (Former Employee) –  TORONTO8 March 2018
I enjoy doing cashiering and customer service, it been years, I haven't done customer service, it help me to connect to student and professor at different level. We work together as a team and deliver effectively.
Pros
An hour break
Cons
Overtimes sometimes
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly workplace environment
Peer Coach (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON4 March 2018
On a typical day at work, my role is to support and run stress - free activity booths. I have learned that there are many ways to manage stress. The most enjoyable part of the job is helping the students.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent
Junior Graphic Designer (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON2 March 2018
Typically, I work remotely for George Brown College Athletics, but when I go into the office I am received kindly by my overseers and managers. There truly is not a hard part of the job because I very much enjoy what I do, which I find is very important.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
Liason/Marketing Officer (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON25 February 2018
I had an overall great experience here, I learned a lot about how the work environment works. It was my first 'real' job.

My only advice is to find constructive people here, opposed the entitled ones who will gossip and generally try to drag you down.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Part-time Forever!
Computer Technician (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON4 February 2018
Since the union-busting management is in control, you will only get a part-time job for several years with zero chance of full-time employment, due to concerns about provincial government trying to persuade the collective to vote for them in the upcoming election. Avoid if you get a better offer.
Pros
You might get lucky and someone will allow you flex hours
Cons
Competition with no-talent lifers in the union
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment
Founder, Project Manager, Creative Director (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON25 January 2018
George Brown College is a great learning environment with dedicated students and staff. It's a place to experiment, where no idea is a bad idea, and support is there every step of the way.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good school, great professors
Marketing Student (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON20 January 2018
George Brown College is where I studied and graduated with an advanced diploma in Business Marketing & Administration. It's a very reputable school in Toronto with fantastic staff and a great learning environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
GAS TECHNICIAN II INSTRUCTOR (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON16 January 2018
I love it.i love it so much.cool people.helpful. understand you. very welcoming welcoming. cool place to work for and nenefits are amazing unheard of recommended
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rotation
Assisting Restorative Dental Hygiene Student (Former Employee) –  student3 January 2018
I love GBC. It made me feel confident in doing my job. It gives you a lot of time to practice and gives me practice to gain relationships with patients and how to handle stress.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
George Brown College
Instructor (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON19 December 2017
I worked for George Brown College for 18 years in their Continuing Education Division....

In the very beginning it was great in every way...however, over the years the management changed..so, after many years I decided not to continue with George Brown and I found fulfillment in the private education sector.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced, fun environment with really hard work
Line Cook/Prep Cook (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON14 December 2017
Waking up early, and commuting to go this campus was one of the most fulfilling moments in my life. I enjoyed the staff and teachers. They were very knowledgeable and kind. You must be quick and clean in these kitchens. They taught us a great work ethic. I finished working the non paid internship and now i'm ready to work hard for some compensation.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Workplace
Math Instructor (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON2 December 2017
Very good work culture
Management is very mature and organized.
There is no hardest part of the job.
The most enjoyable is helping the students.
great location
Relaxed atmosphere, educational, fun, balanced work life with plenty of options to develop and travel.
great colleagues, compensation reflects education and experience
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and productive workplace
Computer Assistant (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON11 November 2017
Usually turn on the printers and computers.
Help the students with any programs on their computers.
I learned about 3D printing and many autoCAD, photoshop etc. experiences.
Management is very mature and organized.
There is no hardest part of the job.
The most enjoyable is helping the students.
Pros
Enjoyable shifts
Cons
Sitting most of the time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
as a student
Student (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON8 November 2017
great work with great chefs
great location
great opportunities with other students from all over the world
too painful with tuition fee as an international
Pros
working environment with great chefs
Cons
too high tuition fee
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at George Brown College. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.4
Based on 220 reviews
5118
476
316
26
14

Ratings by category

4.4Work/Life Balance
3.8Salary/Benefits
3.9Job Security/Advancement
4.2Management
4.3Culture