George Brown College Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Graduate of the school
Student (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON28 September 2018
I was a student there and it was an amazing place to learn. Equipment was top-notch and the instructors were the best in their field. Always willing to farther for those of us who were committed to learning. Can't recommend it enough.
Pros
Great place to learn.
Cons
Committed students were rare.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting
Patient Care (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON23 September 2018
The teachers were very knowledgable and always willing to help students. Enjoyed the diverse set of clients that came into the office. Always up for the challenge.
Pros
Diverse
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Average Employer
Community Action Centre Support Staff (Contract) (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON21 September 2018
Employs George Brown Students only. Willing to work with students class schedule. Okay work environment but can be challenging with the emotional baggage of the other students.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the staff around made it enjoyable and was helpful to me
Q Receptionist/ Student Ambassador (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON17 September 2018
I would get there early near the start of my shift, and prep my work area for the day. Then, we would have student new or old come to me for question fitting for a receptionist and most of the times that all they would need and if it was beyond me, i would send them to student services for financial helping with shifting schedule and personal stuff etc.i do like when even when i'm not working they would thank me for making it easier on them.and some times like any customer services job you will get the rude stubborn one that wont listen and most those case its really out of my hand and a stuff member would help me out.
Pros
offer of food if you want/ events for staff, assistance with school, nice staff overall
Cons
just hard headed people typical of customer services jobs
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fan work place, quiet
Photo - ID Technician (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON11 September 2018
Show be patient dealing with young people, like kids. The environment is so quiet, everyone try to help you out. Everything is clean, the food court is small, but it can fit people comfortable.
Pros
The environment is so quiet, everyone try to help you out.
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and interactive
Student Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON7 September 2018
productive and full of educative tools. The environment is well equipped with work aids and equipment. Great people with strong work culture. Enjoyable environment to spend time the whole day.
Pros
Equiped with work aids and equipment
Cons
short contract
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
School Foundation
Vice President at Vietnamese Student Associations (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON4 September 2018
I really enjoy making new friends and hosting different activities for students in George Brown Colleg when working in Vietnamese Student Associations.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Library Assistant
Library Assistant (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON28 August 2018
I was basically helping students for general library needs. I was assisting students to print school related works, for copying and for basic computer works.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing environment
Library Student Monitor (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON31 July 2018
I loved working at george Brown College Library so much!
all employees and students were great and nice there,I would like to continue working there while Im studying there.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun
BIG BROTHER BIG SISTERS (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON14 July 2018
-Organized Events
- Learned management skills
-Very diverse included people of all cultures and different age groups
-Hardest part was to get everyone to agree on the same thing
Pros
Free snacks
Cons
Long meetings
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great for students
Student Monitor (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON25 June 2018
would monitor students, load paper for printers, advise students on how to use computers and how to print. The most enjoyable part of the job is that the scheduling is flexible with students.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Event Planner
Event Planner Internship (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON19 June 2018
Detailed planning of a client event. The hardest part of the work that it can change and make a turnaround in less than a minute.
Also is so multicultural, and sometimes the accent doesnt help
Pros
good commision
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Learning Experience
CONTRACT CAD DRAFTER (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON10 June 2018
Thankful for the opportunity to work for George Brown College, this was my first drafting experience outside of my program and I learned how to apply what I was taught. It was great to give back to the college.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Calm work place
Peer Leader (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON30 May 2018
learned to work with university students. Taught them things about the nursing program and practiced skills. Learned to multi-task to better assist students in learning the skills.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great job
Peer Tutor (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON26 May 2018
I loved tutoring other students because it helped me learn the information better and I loved helping others and making a difference. The hours were very minimal and light which i liked because I am a full time student
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great working environment, lots of flexibility
Professor (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON17 May 2018
Flexibility in building your course content, excellent students, great location and facilities.

You have the ability to tailor the course content and add-on for the students benefit
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Really good experience
Carpenter's Assistant (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON15 May 2018
Working on George Brown College gave me some of the tools that I need for the work places. I learn a few things more than working on shop.
A nice place to work, flexible hours.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and encouraging environment
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON10 May 2018
the schedule was designed very well. all the senoirs were very supportive and the environment was very productive . it gave opportunity to contact with different people everyday.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good experience
Bridging Student (Former Employee) –  Georgetown, ON9 May 2018
learned strong verbal and written communication skills; liaising with residents, nurses, clients, volunteers, staff, teachers and management.
Overall good learning experience
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to worf
Math Tutor (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON9 May 2018
Extremely good environment, with great people and culture.
Few benefits or promotion opportunities.
Overall a nice plane to work and develop yourself.
Pros
Culture
Cons
Wage
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at George Brown College. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.4
Based on 243 reviews
5132
482
318
27
14

Ratings by category

4.4Work/Life Balance
3.8Salary/Benefits
3.9Job Security/Advancement
4.2Management
4.3Culture

George Brown College Reviews by Location