George Brown College Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Learning Experience
CONTRACT CAD DRAFTER (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON10 June 2018
Thankful for the opportunity to work for George Brown College, this was my first drafting experience outside of my program and I learned how to apply what I was taught. It was great to give back to the college.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Calm work place
Peer Leader (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON30 May 2018
learned to work with university students. Taught them things about the nursing program and practiced skills. Learned to multi-task to better assist students in learning the skills.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great job
Peer Tutor (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON26 May 2018
I loved tutoring other students because it helped me learn the information better and I loved helping others and making a difference. The hours were very minimal and light which i liked because I am a full time student
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great working environment, lots of flexibility
Professor (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON17 May 2018
Flexibility in building your course content, excellent students, great location and facilities.

You have the ability to tailor the course content and add-on for the students benefit
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Really good experience
Carpenter's Assistant (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON15 May 2018
Working on George Brown College gave me some of the tools that I need for the work places. I learn a few things more than working on shop.
A nice place to work, flexible hours.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and encouraging environment
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON10 May 2018
the schedule was designed very well. all the senoirs were very supportive and the environment was very productive . it gave opportunity to contact with different people everyday.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good experience
Bridging Student (Former Employee) –  Georgetown, ON9 May 2018
learned strong verbal and written communication skills; liaising with residents, nurses, clients, volunteers, staff, teachers and management.
Overall good learning experience
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to worf
Math Tutor (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON9 May 2018
Extremely good environment, with great people and culture.
Few benefits or promotion opportunities.
Overall a nice plane to work and develop yourself.
Pros
Culture
Cons
Wage
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyable
Works in co-ed pairs to escort (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON6 May 2018
An typical day at work would be :
escort George Brown College students, staff and guests to local parking lots, TTC stops or other buildings on campus, I would also
address any guest with questions and concerns regarding George browns locations and information, and as well do Nightly audits around the building.What I learned was that this position Provides excellent customer service. The workplace culture was very warming and diversity. Their wasn't anything hard about the job but i could say the most enjoyable part was talking to the guest .
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Sales Represenitive (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON30 April 2018
Overall the climate of the workplace was beneficial and comfortable. Very Productive workplace. Friendly employers, and compatible schedules accompanying personal needs.
Pros
Great staff and enviroment
Cons
Poor head office management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No room for growth
SENIOR INFORMATION SPECIALIST (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON16 April 2018
This is a union employer occupied by individuals with no intentions of retiring, or dying for that matter. So most young, overqualified individuals will simply bounce from one contract position to the next, until their spirits are completely broken.
Pros
Downtown
Cons
Monotonous
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Practicum
English Teacher Assistant (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON8 April 2018
I did my practicum at George Brown College for two months. It was a great opportunity and I've learnt a lot from my instructor. Wonderful experience there!
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, and Positive environment
Human Resource Assistant (Co-op) (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON5 April 2018
Great place to work! Positive environment, team oriented, proud of diversity,
Hardest part of the job, was knowing the difficulty of getting a full time position, and always a temp position.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Upward mobility
Peer Coach (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON3 April 2018
Management is very flexible and supportive. Overall great experience to make some money and help students and staff. A lot of opportunity to move around in the college from one department to another to gain valuable skills.
Pros
A lot of job opportunities
Cons
Work experience is short -term
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and enterprising
Baker (Former Employee) –  Markham, ON30 March 2018
Great place to work. Lot of new ideas and help available. One of the prestigious companies in Toronto. Good downtown location with great connections in the industry.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved Working Here
Cashier/ Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON12 March 2018
-Really great atmosphere
-Make lifelong friends
-Can be unorganized, but wasn't that bad
-Causal work culture
-Independent working
-Work with students, easy customer to work with
-Always loved going into work
Pros
Fun Job
Cons
Unorgaized
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Constant communication
Peer- Tutor (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON9 March 2018
George Brown College is easily accessible when clarification is needed when dealing with other members of the working team. Communicating allowed for better service to students and indivuals in need
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace.
Cashier (Former Employee) –  TORONTO8 March 2018
I enjoy doing cashiering and customer service, it been years, I haven't done customer service, it help me to connect to student and professor at different level. We work together as a team and deliver effectively.
Pros
An hour break
Cons
Overtimes sometimes
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly workplace environment
Peer Coach (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON4 March 2018
On a typical day at work, my role is to support and run stress - free activity booths. I have learned that there are many ways to manage stress. The most enjoyable part of the job is helping the students.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent
Junior Graphic Designer (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON2 March 2018
Typically, I work remotely for George Brown College Athletics, but when I go into the office I am received kindly by my overseers and managers. There truly is not a hard part of the job because I very much enjoy what I do, which I find is very important.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at George Brown College. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.4
Based on 231 reviews
5125
479
317
26
14

Ratings by category

4.4Work/Life Balance
3.8Salary/Benefits
3.9Job Security/Advancement
4.2Management
4.3Culture

George Brown College Reviews by Location