General Mills Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Human Resource Manager (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, Canada30 January 2016
I was honored to work with this Fortune 100 company as the sole HR Professional in the Winnipeg Plant. Over the 7 years I was there we changed from a culture where involvement was rare, turnover was more than 20% to a culture where engagement was prevalent and turnover was less than 1%. I was proud to be a part of the team that won Employer of the Year for our Employee Relations and Training Programs.
Pros
Excellent company; strong support; excellent compensation and benefits
Cons
Cross-border moves were difficult
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very nice Culture
Deskside Support Analyst (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON26 January 2016
Really amazing place to work,

I mainly support the local employees with their computer issues and setting up new laptops and images for new hires.

Create processes for new setups like O365.

Currently the only DeskSide Support Analyst that is familiar with a MAC environment.

Lots of great experience.

Company Perks: Golf day for employees
Night out parties.
Company store to buy their own products.

Co-Workers are very friendly and easy to work with.

Hardest part is when leaving in the evening to go home.

Most enjoyable is being at work.
Pros
Company Store
Cons
No room for growth in current position
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellente compagnie, productive et plaisante à y travailler
Coordonnateur d'inventaire Liberté (Current Employee) –  Saint-hubert, QC3 December 2015
Les journées sont bien rempli et structuré, les patrons sont à l'écoute et toujours disponible pour du soutien. Les avantages sociaux et autres sont très bien.

Compagnie axé sur le développement des employés et les formations.
Pros
Ambiance, Formations, Avantages sociaux, Salaire
Cons
Contact outremer, Beaucoup de personne dans l'organigramme
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Job
Retail Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON20 October 2015
Go to market strategy in light of CPG changes may be more difficult using a 3rd party.

Customer teams will be challenged for display execution excellence with 3rd party reps because retailers generally do not appreciate 3rd party providers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace with alot of career opportunities
Bilingual CSO operations specialist (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON19 April 2015
Fun workplace, very people oriented. Even though you have a job title you will not be doing the same tasks everyday. Management is very friendly and always rewards their employees with bonuses, free lunches and summer schedules!

Great atmosphere, people make you fit in if your new. I was on a contract job there.
Pros
Summer schedule
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun but productive
Field Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON17 April 2015
Great work culture and management

Targets and goals realistic and achievable

Great products and innovation teams

Benefits are very good
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
General Mills is a great company to work. Their employees enjoy an atmosphere of family, commitment to being a participant of enriching the lives of
Business Analyst (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, Ont15 April 2015
General Mills is a great company to work. Their employees enjoy an atmosphere of family, commitment to being a participant of enriching the lives of not only those that work for General Mills but also the consumers.
General Mills not only sponsors, but contributes to many educational, social, health and cultural programs, including Breakfast Club which I was privileged to be a part of.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A progressive company which challenges you.
Production Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Trenton, ON13 April 2015
General Mills has all aspects of management structured to help develop you and provide challenges that will make you a more skilled individual. The way that they develop you enhances your self confidence and also causes you to feel positively about the company.
Pros
lots of support
Cons
horrible shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Most mismanaged company
Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Regina15 January 2015
From upper management to account team
No organization and aggressive managers. Completely dysfunctional with direction. No chance for advancement or growth. No monatary support for home office or cell phone for customers to reach you. Rescheduled holidays many times do to work demands. Unrealistic expectation with territory travel.
Was this review helpful?Yes 11NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Passion working as a team to provide solutions and add values
QRO Director of International COE (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON19 October 2014
Love to work with team or work with external partners to provide technical or regulatory solutions to company challenges or problems.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An amazing comany to work for.
Systems Training and Development Analyst (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, Ont8 September 2014
General Mills is a great company to for. The culture is one of the best. The people are warm and friendly, always willing to help and support when needed. Every aspect of my job was truly a pleasure.
Pros
Summer Hours
Cons
There are no cons
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun working with, no dull moments
Production Worker (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB21 July 2014
This employer is a productive and fun working with especially the employees and management
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
lots of chances to try new food
Accounting Assistant (Former Employee) –  Mississauga15 July 2014
Co-workers are not bad

lots of chances to try new food

can have summer working time
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Beautifull Culture
Global Business Manager (Current Employee) –  Mississauga25 June 2014
Empowering employees to do more
great management
Work life balance
Employees matter
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workpalce
Position: Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB24 June 2014
I liked my job and I was a great worker and now just wanted to change my job and my career
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great inviroment
Shift Analyst (Former Employee) –  Trenton, ON17 January 2014
chances for advancement, learning in the workplace, continue training, diverse culture
Pros
great workplace
Cons
US based moved division back to USA
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
production line
Back up line operator/ labourer (Former Employee) –  Trenton, ON29 April 2013
Excellent supportive work environment. Excellent advancement opportunities, wages, clean working conditions.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales Account Manager, fast paced and innovative
Sales, Account Development Manager, Yoplait (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON18 February 2013
I work in the Sales Organization at General Mills Canada, I manage the Yoplait Brand at Sobeys Ontario. This entails the following:

- Merchandising Plan for all Yogurt Segments
- Analysis to understand optimal price points, durations of ads, timing of ads, customized promotions to drive sales growth
- Manage Relationship and Negotiate with buyer from Sobeys ON
- Analyze performance of activity and work closely with Demand and Supply Planning for inventory requirements and control
- Create tools, guiding principles and set weekly priorities for the 60 employee Yoplait Retail Team in Ontario

Lots of working with internal Marketing teams and communicating results of initiatives to Directors and Vice Presidents. My favorite part of my job is the people I work with and the relationships I have formed with them. My team acts like a family and I enjoy this culture.
Pros
tones of training and learning. a lot of focus on self development and growth
Cons
long hours, long commute to work
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very demanding, long hours. Very difficult to advance within.
Financial Administrator (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB16 January 2013
Very demanding, long hours. Very difficult to advance within. Worked a few stat holidays.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed the daily different tasks i had to encounter.
Multi-Pack Operator (Former Employee) –  Carson, CA8 January 2013
I enjoyed my job duties. I learned to be open to new ideas. Management always emphasized on safety. My co workers where very special. My job wasn't hard at all. I enjoyed producing a food for consumers and knowing at the end of the day it was enjoyable.
Pros
good pay and benefits.
Cons
to many days of work before a day off.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at General Mills. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 1,324 reviews
5490
4470
3237
274
153

Ratings by category

3.7Work/Life Balance
3.9Salary/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.5Management
3.7Culture