General Dynamics Information Technology Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
tout en general
Opérateur (Former Employee) –  Salaberry-de-Valleyfield, QC28 February 2018
tres bonne usine a part de souvent etre mis a pied reste ok
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Apprentissage du métier de technicienne
Stage 3 ATE (Former Employee) –  Valleyfield1 February 2018
J'ai beaucoup aimé me retrouver dans une toute autre ambiance de travail, car les employés étaient de majorité masculine. J'ai eu la chance d'avoir un bon leader de laboratoire qui prenait en charge de nous familiariser avec l'industrie.
Pros
Beaucoup d'entraide.
Cons
Salaire peu élevé puisque c'était un premier stage.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible Work Day in Monotonous Workplace
Logistics (Former Employee) –  London, ON29 November 2017
-a typical day is flexible in start/end/break times
-long-term goals usually prioritized, occasional short-term pressure
-usually overtime opportunities, often overtime requirements
-bare essential training, little in the way of learning opportunities
-enjoyable if you thrive in a team setting and work well with others
-not much for you if you need recognition or validation for your work
-the company struggles to retain good people yet often keeps workers on short contracts
Pros
Good pay, good management
Cons
Long hours, high turnover
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A productive and fun workplace. Lots to learn.
Mechanical Engineer (Current Employee) –  London, ON21 November 2017
Interesting diverse environment. Great work life balance. Plenty of hands on learning and training opportunities. Great benefits and vacation packages available.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work with great work/life balance
Project Management Analyst (Current Employee) –  Calgary1 November 2017
General Dynamics have both awesome managers and staff. The Calgary office values work life balance, making it one of the best places I've ever worked!
Pros
Great people, free parking, work life balance
Cons
None!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bon environnement de travail
Opérateur de production (Former Employee) –  Salaberry-de-Valleyfield, QC11 October 2017
en général, il y avait une bonne ambiance de travail, dans un environnement sécuritaire!
Pros
bonne fraternité entre collègue
Cons
difficulté de gestion de la production
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Entreprise bien établis avec une bonne structure
directeur de production de soir (Former Employee) –  St-Augustin de Desmaures10 October 2017
Entreprise ayant des bases solides. Management assez contrôlant et qui est plutôt directif. Employé syndiqué qui se servent beaucoup des clauses de la convention.
Pros
bon collègues de travail
Cons
direction très rigide.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Had a cafeteria
Welder/Fitter/Robotic Weld Operator (Former Employee) –  London, ON13 September 2017
It was a great place to work and learn as we tried to continuously improve the product and production flow.

With team work & vision any thing is possible.

The management was customer focused and work force safety was a priory. They worked hard to make the work place productive & profitable to insure it's continued viability by using all the talent in the work force they had.

The culture was for the most quality focused fun and safety conscious with most willing to improve all aspects of the work environment.

The constant threat of plant closure

The team environment that worked so hard to maintain the viability of the plant & continuously improve product quality & productivity.
Pros
Great opportunities to advance in a team environment
Cons
Constant threat of plant closure
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Demanding but very rewarding place to work
Test Team Specialist (Former Employee) –  London, ON6 September 2017
The test team was extremely hard working dedicating long working hours to many projects. The demands of the job are extreme and make work and life balance a challenge. The rewards of the job are very good with excellent compensation, a co-operative work team and and an extremely enjoyable product to participate in working on.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pride of Workmanship
Technician (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB4 July 2017
The average work day was mostly very good with a great concern for turning out the best product we could. Great pay and decent benefits. Weekends off and paid overtime if required.

Learned about many different automotive and heavy vehicle systems you would not otherwise see in one place.

The hardest part of the job was all the office and company politics that spoiled what was otherwise a great job. No room for long term career paths at this location either. I still can't fully understand the reasons why the facility was shut down.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work environment
Auxiliary Systems Specialist (Former Employee) –  London, ON1 May 2017
Great place to work, had the opportunity to do alot of interesting things and work on a number of different projects. Built great networking connections and supplier base.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall decent company
Production Planning (Former Employee) –  London, ON23 April 2017
Family oriented but growth is difficult if not management material. Way too generous, very misleading towards true personal growth. Makes it difficult for advancement.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable Place to Work
Director, Education Services (Former Employee) –  Ottawa and Virginia20 March 2017
I worked at this organization for two years, and really enjoyed meeting with experienced consultants and senior team members on a variety of topics. I was able to travel and broaden my technical knowledge on Education technology systems and processes.
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
Some long days, but challenging!
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place with great people
Data Entry (temporary) (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON8 February 2017
truthfully i have no idea why this is necessary for this website.... but it was a great place to work, i was only there for a week or so but it was good work
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Très bel environnement de travail, belles conditions et sécurité d'emploi
Opératrice de production (Former Employee) –  Le Gardeur, QC28 January 2017
J'ai travaillé dans plusieurs secteurs et j'y ai acquis beaucoup d'expérience.

Bonnes relations entre l'employé et l'employeur.

Très bien rémunéré.

Sécurité d'emploi

De très bon avantages sociaux.

Bons plan d'assurances maladie et dentaire.

Bel horaire de travail.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
General Dynamics Land Systems - Canada
Material Planner (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB24 January 2017
Yes.. I was challenged thoughout the 9.5 years. It was a production environment; very structured but rewarding. The most enjoyable part of the job was working with other to achieve weekly & monthly planning goals. We always overcame the difficulties and pushed thru to meet or surpass those target goals. I learned that to be part of a structured workplace that prides itself on Safety plus continued hard work can pay off. Performance Bonuses are good incentives as well.
Pros
Monthly & Years Bonuses
Cons
Salary - Extra unpaid hours that were put in to reach our daily goals
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Professional Managment easy to get along with
s1 Mechanic (Former Employee) –  Kandahār6 January 2017
Work 12 hour days, though doesn't feel like it
I learned a lot about Stryker Vehicles
Management very approachable good open door policy
Co Workers I worked with were skilled professionals
Having to say good bye
Being apart of a very good team of individuals
Pros
Not hurried and very good pay
Cons
Being away from home for protracted periods of time
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High paced manufacturing and gret working environment
Supervisor - Production Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB8 September 2016
Atypical day at work involves start of shift meeting with production floor, production meeting, meetings with other sites, administrative functions, health and safety functions, email correspondence with internal and external customers.
Pros
9/80 Work Week
Cons
Long hours with overtime on weekends
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The worst
Electrical Designer (Former Employee) –  London, ON8 September 2016
If you want to be treated like a slave working 60 hour mandatory weeks then this company is for you.
There is so many reasons to not work here the only reason I took the job as there was very little at he time available in my geographical area and I needed some money
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great pay, horrible company.
Technical Writer (Former Employee) –  London, ON10 March 2016
The pay at this company is very decent. However, depending on the department, they treat their employees as highly expendable. Lots of office politics and behind the scenes shenanigans.
Pros
Decent pay
Cons
Poor management, Employees treated as expendable
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at General Dynamics Information Technology. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 5,577 reviews
51.9K
41.8K
31.2K
2374
1305

Ratings by category

3.7Work/Life Balance
3.9Salary/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.6Culture