GEEP Inc Employee Reviews

Found 22 reviews matching the search See all 91 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dangerous conditions for workers in plant
Office Administrator (Former Employee) –  Barrie, ON27 June 2019
GEEP was by far the WORST company I have ever worked for. There was a problem with cockroaches in the office that was not dealt with for at least a year. There were regular fires in the plant due to dangerous conditions that were not closely monitored. Raises were non-existent, even if you worked through lunches and put in extra hours. The management was condescending and demanding and did not respect the employees. The turnover rate was extremely high as the culture is poor and the conditions in the plant are atrocious. The pay is very low considering what the plant workers are exposed to (heavy metals) when recycling the electronic equipment. I would not recommend working for this company.
Pros
Nothing
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Someone’ Going to die there.
Lugger/Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Barrie, ON16 June 2019
Dangerous place to work fires all the time and drug addicts everywhere. I saw a forklift operator nearly blow himself up and I nearly got bit by a rat on the assembly line.
Pros
Desperate fora job
Cons
Could die
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Scary place to work.
Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Barrie, ON18 April 2019
Poorly run with a culture of bullying to reach goals and management who are more interested in keeping their jobs than leading or assisting their employees.

It is so hard a job to work that you'd think the management would do as much to make it a safe and tolerable environment. But instead, they make it worse. They ignore laws, rules and safety requirements when it suits their goals. They encourage employee fear and discourage employees from bonding or even speaking to each other.

I would avoid this place at all costs.
Pros
Paid moderately well and have benefits
Cons
Everything else.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The good and the bad.
Material Handler (Current Employee) –  Barrie, ON26 March 2019
A typical day at work was go go go, meet your quota as posted on the board and exceed it when possible. Help other employees with things I had a working knowledge of.
I learned that attendance and a solid give it your all work ethic wasn't enough to remain on a sinking ship.
My direct supervisors were wonderful people but above them things were constantly changing and it became difficult to feel secure in your employment.
I worked with some good people, help each other in any way you could to get things done safely and efficiently.
The hardest part of my job was adapting to the climate in there. Extremely hot in the summer and freezing cold in the winter. The temperature outside was better at most times than it was inside.
The most enjoyable part of my job was knowing I was having a direct impact on the environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Forklift driver- worked on the floor
Forklift Operator (Current Employee) –  Barrie, ON19 March 2019
The hardest part of the job is extreme weather temperatures, wearing a respirator.
Typical day at work is unloading 6-7 trucks, help with production related activities
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible Place with Poor Management
Former employee (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB16 October 2018
The workplace culture is very poor. Management spends more time playing golf and drinking than they do in managing the plant. there is lots of bullying that takes place, given the amount of new comers to Canada that work here they really take advantage of the fact that these people are not educated on labour law and being treated fairly in the workplace. The pay is horrible and management is constantly trying to work around the union by using temp workers so they can easily discard them. The people are so scared to speak up in this environment that harassment and bullying is prevalent. Beware this is not a good place to work.
Cons
There are too many cons to list
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very difficult place to stay positive about
Forklift Operator (Current Employee) –  Barrie, ON20 August 2018
I have been a part of this company for 4 years and it has become a time for a change in careers. Drove forklift and then put through continous concerns of sustanability of the company.
Cons
lead exposure, poor supervisory skills on certain shifts, constant what if feeling
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very hard work, low pay, stupid rules
skid wrapping lackey (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB6 March 2018
Worked for one month as a Randstad contractor, heres a summary

1. Threw out my back because first two days did nothing but wrap skids and no one else gave me a break on that work. No wrapping machine onsite, as it broke but they didnt want to spend money to fix it.
2. You have to wear safety glasses no matter where you work or what you are doing, even if there is zero chance of eye injury from your activity. warehouse is hot, glasses fog up and always are slipping off from repeatedly leaning down for your tasks.
3. You have to wear a smock as PPE. No clue why either. just because (again its warm inside the warehouse).
4. only two 30 minute breaks instead of two 15s and a 30. Because they dont want to track who is on break and who isnt as each area had staggered break times. Now hard to get a seat on your breaks as everyone has to go at same time now..
5.If you are a minute late to work you are docked 15 minutes pay.
6. if you take what they consider to be excessive bathroom breaks you are fired (temp contractors).
7. Its the filthiest warehouse I have ever been in, so much dust. Nose gets congested and hard to breathe.
Pros
off at 4:00pm
Cons
long days boring work, and hard labor. low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Summer student - good opportunity
Material Handler (Former Employee) –  Barrie, ON4 April 2017
I made myself available to everyone that needed help. I was given the training to do multiple jobs. Would have liked to go back, but the timing hasn't been right.

Management was OK, didn't really interact with them much.

HR was alright.
Pros
hours
Cons
Hr
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 8Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Really bad place
Forklift operator (Former Employee) –  Barrie, ON29 March 2017
Management is full a double standards.. just went through a huge change with hours and lost a lot of staff... a lot of people got pay cuts.. really not a good or job secure place to work...
Pros
None
Cons
Everything..
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good place to work
Material Handler (Current Employee) –  Barrie, ON9 March 2017
Poor management, no advancement opportunities, not a good place to work, very strict. They say you will be trained for certain things but never do. No appreciation for hard workers, or people that show up everyday to do their jobs.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Lead Hand (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB11 December 2016
productive place, nice people there, I've worked there for three years and have learned very much stuff and different sets of skills, the safety at GEEP is very important but I assume its like that for any company.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 7Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not for everyone
Material handler (Former Employee) –  Barrie, ON19 June 2016
Very Hot and dusty environment. Long hours and repetitive work. On your feet for 12 hours.
Extreamly cold in the winter months.
Pros
Above average Pay, Room for advancement
Cons
Long hours, Repetitive work, continantal shifts, 6 month contract with no job security for over 1 year. No benifits for over 19 months
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a tough environment to work in.
materialhandler (Former Employee) –  Barrie, ON3 March 2016
it was a tough job for a coop but i never give up. people didn't like the job due to its features but that is the kind of job it is. it is a job meant for only hardworking and consistent individuals. i was in charge of dismantling and i was on the group of the auditing team for the company's waste audit.
Pros
i had to work 7 days in two weeks
Cons
it was not the best environment to work in especially for those starting newly
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 3Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy work terrible mangement
General Labourer (Former Employee) –  Surrey,BC10 September 2015
Work is pretty much cut out for you. The lack of direction, organization, and management is really bad. Be aware majority of the staff is non-Asian and African. Management expects you to have warehouse experience on the first day but doesn't say anything. Not sure what management is doing 90% of the time; all they do is sit around the computer section scanning things (it doesn't take 6 people to do this job). Skits are terribly organized to the point no one knows where specific orders are, spent like 10mins looking for an order that did not exist. Not sure how this company is still running with the way the treat staff members, yet alone new people.
Pros
Easy job
Cons
outdated equipment, poor management, racist, lack of people to train, no real motivation to work, no union
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  Barrie, ON14 August 2014
GEEPs great benefits are good. I have learned about recycling
Was this review helpful?YesNo 9Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work at
receiver (Former Employee) –  surrey, BC30 June 2014
This place is a great place to work. The people there are great and have a good time while working.
The services that they do is top noticed. They lease out computer equipment, as well as recycle electronics. The why that they recycle electronics is the best way in BC. They go to the extreme that there waste is only 3 %
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 4Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Team Work
Préposé à la récupération d'appareils électronique (Former Employee) –  Laval, QC29 March 2014
I was a stagiaire at the Geep company, it is very secure, did got paid. Workers are very nice. And 3 days a week, when i get there I put the apparel requirement and glass for safety and recycle electronic objects.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 18Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The work it's self was great but the staff was a nightmare to work for
Skid steer operator (Former Employee) –  Barrie, ON30 July 2013
This company does not have a union so no one's job is safe. They let supervisors and lead hands harass their employees and nothing gets done about it. They are told about unsafe work and problems and nothing gets done about it. The plant manager is the only one that actually gets things done but because every one has to go through chain of command to speak to him, he never hears the complaints so nothing gets dealt with. The supervisors and lead hands treat their workers very poorly and then can't figure out why no one wants to work for them. The HR refuses to help any one or transfer them when there is a serious issue.
Pros
long work hours
Cons
hostile work environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 21No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun... but not secure
General Labourer (Former Employee) –  Barrie, ON19 November 2012
Hard work, but always busy. Management was great, co-workers also.
Standing on your feet for 12 hours took alot to get use to.
Pros
paid lunches
Cons
12 hour continental shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes 14No 2Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at GEEP Inc. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 91 reviews
523
424
319
212
113

Ratings by category

3.3Work/Life Balance
3.3Salary/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.1Culture