GateGourmet Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bad environment
Supervisor Operations Controller (Former Employee) –  Dorval, QC18 April 2017
all that is good is health care, salary reasonable.

company is to be avoided long term. many mental health and phisical issues due to lack of respect and negligence,
Pros
benifats
Cons
everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sucks
Kitchen Staff (Current Employee) –  Halifax, NS10 April 2017
Don't have too much to say about the company itself. Staff are overworked and under appreciated! They are short staffed most days but refuse to hire anyone.
Pros
None
Cons
Not a good company to work for
Was this review helpful?Yes 19No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i really like to work here
Buyer (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON4 March 2017
I am working as buyer in this since 2012.,good place to work. management is very helpful.
workplces culture is very comfetable.
Enjoyable part of job is full fun.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 11Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work with learning oppurtunity
Pricing Analyst (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON23 February 2017
I had been blessed to work at this company. I have learned different softwares and have got oppurtunity to meet different kind of people with different background.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 12Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
Accounts Payable Clerk (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON21 February 2017
in this company i got work placement, everybody very supportive
i learnt and get Canadian experience. due to short span of time i only focus on my day to day work and report to my supervisor. the work schedule was so tight. you have to maintain dead line.
Pros
Multitask
Cons
only no pacement
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace Environment
Refiller (Former Employee) –  Richmond, BC25 January 2017
The thing I enjoyed the most about working at Gate Gourmet was a schedule was given and you had to finish that within 8 hours. Since I am a face pace worker I would finish everything within 4-5 hours and would try to help others as much as possible.
Pros
Finishing Early
Cons
Food wasnt good
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 18Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management requires improvement
1st cook (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON9 November 2016
Need to invest more in staff.

keep cutting budget and forces workers to produce more.

management do not know how to handle problems.

equipment keep breaking and not fixing it.

horrible staff meals.

Pay is not that high.

people who work there long time very lazy.
Pros
good co workers
Cons
bad management with low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 31No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst senior management
Operations, former employee (Former Employee) –  Richmond, BC30 October 2016
One of the way to tell how good a company is to work for is its ability to retain talent. I keep seeing the same job postings coming up for GG over and over again in the last few years. This must make one thinks what they do to employees to make them leave so often, especially when these postings are mid-management positions.

The General Manager was a tyranny, had little knowledge of the food industry and still ran on the 'iron fist' management style from the 70's. Senior management is so focus on labour cost that he does not see other important aspects of running a food business, such a quality, waste, and employee morales.

I would not recommend this place to anyone that already have senior management experience from other progressive companies, it will just leave you frustrated and feel suffocated due to the micromanagement style from the top. However, it can be a good stepping stone for freshly graduates.
Pros
Competitive pay and benefits
Cons
Micromanagement, Silo mentality
Was this review helpful?Yes 32No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
amazing team
BILLING ANALYST (Current Employee) –  Toronto Pearson International Airport, ON26 October 2016
Gate gourmet Canada -Missisauga is a great company to work for. Good team,great work environment.Caring supervisor,Hectic environment and fun co-workers.Free food is a plus point.
Pros
free food
Cons
stress
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I worked on the operations division (Gate Gourmet)
TRANSPORT PLANNER/ TEAM MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON26 September 2016
It's a good company to work at as long as it is on the corporate division (Gate Gourmet).. It was a stressful position. There was too much pressure to get aircraft catered on time..

I was the best at my job. But to get to that level required the basic compliance of any employee, which is to follow and delivery the requirements.

Poorbsenior management.
Pros
Free food(Gate Gourmet)
Cons
(Gate Gourmet) No gratitude, high pressure with no gratitue, unprofessional, english and french are NOT the rpimary language on the operations division
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible management
Truck Driver (Current Employee) –  Richmond, BC18 August 2016
Working here is very rushed. Management would pick on you for any small little thing just to build up your work profile for an excuse to fight the union if needed to be terminated. Seen this happen to many employees that are no longer with the company and now I see it personally,
Pros
free food
Cons
long hours, no breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gate gourmet review
Liquor Handler/ Final Assembly (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON11 May 2016
Great company to work for, excellent management and amazing team to work with. Always looking forward to my next shift. It's a great company to work for
Pros
Provides lunches
Cons
low hours during summer months
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 15Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No time to play around, just concentration at work
Miantenance Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON8 May 2016
Working a Gate a Gourmet it was one of my best experience in life, moving inside of the international airport inspecting and helping the fleet trucks serving food for the different airlines on time. My co-workers all them show all the secret to be an expert in a short time. the hardest part of the job was, when we have a broken truck in the door of one airplane Gate Gourmet have to pay $1,000 for every minute to take off deleted
Pros
The food at any break time was good
Cons
The time at working hours we were busy all day full
Was this review helpful?Yes 16No 12Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly place to work
National Payroll Manager (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON13 April 2016
nice place to work, flexible working hours, friendly staff, meeting people,right next to airport, open door policy with executive management
Pros
on site cafeteria
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great team and friendly people
Operations Excellence Analyst (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON11 April 2016
Great place to start a career as most people are friendly easy to approach and willing to help.
Cafe provides free meals 3 times a day.
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 11Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Live environment
Order Control Analyst (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON21 February 2016
I have learned to give best possible customer service at Gate Gourmet Canada. Because of weather or any occasions, we have busy environment so colleagues and managers are always there to help out each other. Friendly and live environment all the time.
Pros
Free food, milk, coffee, tea as much as you want
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive under stress and fun department.
Foodstore Leadhand Receiver (HACCP) (Current Employee) –  Dorval, QC22 January 2016
learned alot about different aircraft types,
when working with a good group of co-workers, makes a day enjoyable!
responsiblity and leadership.
learned about quality of foods(fruits,veg,meats and fish)
very good experience in the work force.
Pros
good benefits
Cons
some poor managment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 20No 7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place to work very busy place
Central Order Control Team Manager (Former Employee) –  Toronto ON1 December 2015
it was great place to go to work, people are very friendly. Everyone is helpful, free food to eat and close to airport.Everyday you busy with different tasks and some routine work

Shift rotation and 24/7 is the hardest part
Pros
Free food
Cons
rotation shift and 7 days work
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
alright place to work
ware wash (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON27 November 2015
the working environment is very cold, messy because of the leftover food and wet at times depending on which division you work in.
Pros
lunch is provided
Cons
long shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes 16No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Desired place to Work at but can be stressful and hard at times.
Commissary Worker at Pearson Airport (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON9 November 2015
There would be days where work tasks wouldn't be too tedious and were manageable by one person. Other days one person would be expected to do the work-load of 2-3 people by himself. Equipment and elevators sometimes didn't work which complicated work-load for everybody. Staff was properly taken care of and fed in terms of health and safety.
Pros
Free lunches
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 3Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at GateGourmet. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 987 reviews
5276
4215
3240
2119
1137

Ratings by category

3.1Work/Life Balance
3.1Salary/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
3.0Management
3.2Culture