Gap Inc. Employee Reviews

Found 179 reviews matching the search See all 2,340 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Why are they always hiring?
Seasonal Employee (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON10 October 2018
In my opinion, Gap is not a great place to work. Work is too hard for the pay and your efforts is NEVER appreciated. What company on earth keeps 90% of its employees on contract under the guise of "seasonal"? If you can butt lick and you are part of the majority, expect some form of growth otherwise just get a job elsewhere! Its not worth it honestly.
Pros
Discount on merchandise
Cons
Everything else imagineable
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Cashier and Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Vaughan, ON6 October 2018
i liked to work over-there as it was very good workplace everyone was so friendly.this workplace is so interesting . i used to work in lot of downtime.i learnt many things from here.
Pros
good salary
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
loved every second !
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Thornhill, ON28 September 2018
I really don't have any complaints!
this was really an amazing company to work for, and I enjoyed working with all staff. the best time was working during the holidays ( Music was great )
Pros
Staff
Cons
nothing
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Merchandise Handler (Current Employee) –  Brampton, ON18 August 2018
I have learned so many things here. I am working here from last one year. But it is the best experience till now. The environment of this warehouse is really appreciative.
Pros
No
Cons
No
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Official response from Gap Inc.
2 October 2018

We love to hear this. We understand the importance of investing in our employees' future and teaching valuable skills they can use not only at Gap Inc., but where ever their careers take them!

5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
REAL Sellers
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Scarborough, ON11 August 2018
Fun place to work. Always customer focussed. The best teams you will ever work with. Professional and great everyday products. Great work Ethics. Great training
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An okay job for students looking for part time
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Halifax, NS16 July 2018
- Typical day at work was nothing too challenging but it can get very repetitive
- I definitely learned customer service skills
- Unfair treatment from management but it has to do more with the store than the company
- Hardest part was trying to maintain the sales floor on very busy days
- Most enjoyable part of the job were the employees, everybody was friendly
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Tsawwassen, BC23 June 2018
I got to work in a variety of roles within the Banana Republic store from cashing to inventory and everything in between. I was able to interact with the customers on a regular basis.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
busy workplace with lots of great people
Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  Victoria, BC3 June 2018
Super busy job, there's always lots to do. You'll be trained in all aspects of retail store operation from scheduling, hiring, managing people, sales tracking and forecasting, customer service, shipment etc. Always great people to work with! The hardest part of the job is the work schedule. As a full time employee you must have open availablity and though you always get two days off in a week they are not often grouped together and sometimes you'll end up working 1p-10p and then 6a-3p the next day.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Intersting start up operation
Assistant Stocking Department Inventory Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON29 March 2018
Assisted with start up operation
Created many start up procedures
Great opportunity
Fun workplace
Not challenging enough following start up
Great people
Pros
Many fun events
Cons
Compensation
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This is a good place to work
Customer service (Current Employee) –  Brampton, ON14 February 2018
I have worked as a return creditor,handling merchandise.I have learnt to manage multiple tasks at one time.The work culture is good.All colleagues are helpful.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad Training
Forklift / Reach Operator (Current Employee) –  Brampton, ON14 February 2018
Training was very little. They just showed you a job once and then not much support after. The entire workforce has a "me first" attitude. No one really thinks of the next person that has to deal with a situation and tend to make it easy for them selves and harder for the next person
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Clothing organized and on racks
Sales / Stock Associate (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON9 February 2018
I really enjoy organizing and setting up clothes on racks or on show tables, I learned to organize them with the flow of customers coming into the store. The challenge is some customers were hard to understand because of their accent.
Pros
get clothes at discount
Cons
a few hard to please customers
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Staff, Enjoyed my time there
LEAD / Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Fredericton, NB8 February 2018
My typical day was anywhere from 6:30 to 5pm. M-F
Form promo to markdown, merchandizing to organizing the department, to opening the store and closing & Inventory.
Shipping and Receiving was the hardest as there was lost of heavy boxes.
The most enjoyable and relaxing was at the cash when very busy.
Organizing the warehouse.
Pros
I met some great people
Cons
Better management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work
General Manager (Former Employee) –  St. Catharines, ON1 February 2018
The gap is a very well respected brand and well liked. Customers from all backgrounds and ages enjoy their shopping experience with Gap. We pride ourselves on great customer service.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
love this company
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Surrey, BC31 January 2018
Great company to work for. Fun work enviorment and a great way to make new friends and get out of your comfort zone. really helps people come out of their shells.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love fashion? Love this!
running fitting rooms and making sales (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB26 January 2018
Fun not too bad! Can be super competitive and management can be a bit pushy but overall super fun! Organized company to work with :) a lot of staff which is always a plus
Pros
50 percent off
Cons
mall job
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nuetral Workplace
Customer Representative/Stock Worker (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON24 January 2018
- Just trying to get the job done and keep the store clean
- Always ask for emails
- Organize the stockroom
- Try your best to reach sales goals
- Cashier efficiency was great
Pros
breaks
Cons
shift cuts
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work life balance
Business Analyst (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON23 January 2018
It was great working for this company. I enjoyed the challenges that came with the role. My colleagues were very helpful and it was a very collaborative environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good atmosphere
Stocking (Current Employee) –  Brampton, ON17 January 2018
easy if you know all the functions
i have learned how to operate a forklift
Gap have some amazing management
replacing the pallet after ever delivery
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Work Period (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON16 January 2018
I am working part-time as a sales associate at Gap. Based on my three months experience please find below pros and cons of working at Gap :

Pros :
1. The workplace is good and well maintained.
2. Managers are very supportive and helped all the newcomers in understanding the roles and responsibilities.
3. Shift times are flexible and can be changed with prior notice.
4. After every two hours of work, you can take 15 min break.

Cons:
1. Salary is very less not as per minimum wages.
2. Timings and number of hours per day were not fixed, sometimes we worked only for 3 hrs a week in off-season months.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Gap Inc.. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 2,341 reviews
5770
4740
3561
2164
1106

Ratings by category

3.7Work/Life Balance
3.4Salary/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.5Management
3.8Culture