G4S Employee Reviews for Security Officer

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Second worst security company in Canada.
Security Officer (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB18 July 2018
Management is a joke.
If you are white you will never get promoted.
Pay sucks.
Can NEVER get enough hours to get benefits.
They give you USED uniforms.
I could go on but the bottom line is,
this company SUCKS!!!!
Pros
Lol
Cons
long hours low pay. somtimes no washroom piis on a tree.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Oshawa, ON22 June 2018
It was a step up to next employment position There were no benefits and there was no chance of advancement to a better paying position ... It helped me gain necessary skills to move on
Pros
Helped us gain skills
Cons
no beneifts
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
G4S is a good company to work for getting experience.
Security Officer (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON8 May 2018
Its been a roller coaster ride working in G4S. Slowly getting momentum and at the end give you thrill and excitement of achievement. Good days and bad days and always learning new things during job and sites.
Pros
Health benefits.
Cons
Less interaction with management.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workplace environment is friendly!
SECURITY OFFICER (FULL-TIME) (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON7 May 2018
As a full-time employee, I am so happy to work with this company. The great think is perfect combination of multi-cultural people. Most of management team is good except some employee in some cases. However, the team not fulfill the commitment which they committed on recruitment process.
Pros
To meet multi-cultural people, and sharing knowledge & experience.
Cons
Senior employees are suffering because a group of staffs are getting more benefit than others.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The workplace culture with G4S is high morale, motivation and enthusiam
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Kingston, ON and Cornwall ON26 March 2018
G4S is a great company to work for, I worked at both sites, St. Lawrence College Kingston site, and St. Lawrence College Cornwall Campus. The managers are very professionals and promote a healthy work environment, as such it has been a pleasure working for this company, Approximately one year ago, G4S no longer held the contract with St. Lawrence College and it was transitioned over to another company. I will not comment on the other company as they are new to the college and are just starting to get a handle on their new contract, so presently there is allot of stress and chaos in the new company and their expectations.

You have to enjoy working with the many needs of the public carrying out your duties with a high level of customer service.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always work to do
Supervisor Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Oshawa, ON14 March 2018
Very good Training if you're getting into security work will teach you all the ins and outs proper procedure for report writing patrolling and working with a team
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Security at a Condo, Worked a Valet Parking
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Etobicoke, ON21 February 2018
I was working in a condo as Valet Parking, Very Friendly atmosphear. The resident were good and the work was not heavy. The work was not heavy and the work culture was good
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Workplace- If you can obtain a position/site that fits you.
Healthcare Security Officer (Current Employee) –  Kingston, ON18 February 2018
Great experience with opportunity to advance with training and proven reliability. Flexibility for hours to accommodate all schedules. Great entry-level position to begin a career in enforcement/ emergency management.
Pros
Flexible Hours, Wide Range of Workplace Locations
Cons
Lack of Outfitting, In-Demand at All Times
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent team
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB30 January 2018
It's been awhile since I've worked in the Winnipeg office but the core team was a great one !
Great stepping stone and great exposure to jobs within the field
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This company sucks.
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Niagara, ON9 December 2017
This company sucks. Enough said. Now to make up one hundred and fifty characters. I had very, very poor experience with the management. Have I mentioned that I did not enjoy working for this company?
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Responsible in health and safety
Security Officer (Current Employee) –  G4S Office9 November 2017
Traineer and the officers are well behaved and tolerate in their communication, they even help pay some employee with their transportation and lunch when they are being trained.
Pros
Free lunch
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB7 November 2017
good company
sometimes scheduling team forget to send you tell last min
flexible understanding human resources
work is ok
clients is ok
usual work theme
Pros
good company
Cons
schedule sometimes mess up
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and cooperative workplace
Security Officer (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON29 August 2017
It's a good and co operative workplace. Sessions which take part time to time help employees to achieve more and more. a good company to work with. Thank you for giving the opportunity to new candidates.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is a place to learn and advance.
Security officer (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB26 July 2017
Great place learn and advance in your career.Also the management, supervisor and coworkers are considerate and helpful.There are many resources available for learning and advancement.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB16 June 2017
Great company to work for, I really enjoyed my time with the company and my coworkers who I met while on the job. My site supervisor was great as well
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great Security company
Security officer (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON7 May 2017
G4S has provided me with enough experience in the first 2 months i started working for them than other companies, they also provide exceptional service for both employees and clients and is a great company to work for.
Pros
Flexible hours and Break at your own timing
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
More hours
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB7 May 2017
COnvenient and easy location. Front end staff, Great supervisor, always helping and cooperating, Willing to teach, Great training opportunities. Good pay.
Pros
Convenient locations
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive company
Security Officer (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB27 April 2017
A very good experience with this company & I'm a happy fellow to be a part of this company, good working environment makes the difference. Enjoying a lot in Calgary.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its good for part-time, temp work.
Security Officer (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON23 April 2017
Its good for part-time temp work. Generally either sitting or standing for long periods of time. Very flexible scheduling, usually dont have a direct supervisor.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learnt much about safety
Security Officer (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB5 April 2017
I learnt many things about safety of person, property and information.
I developed customer relations, clients focused service.
I developed patience, self-control, keen observatory skills.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at G4S. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 8,743 reviews
52.2K
42.4K
32.2K
2902
11.1K

Ratings by category

3.2Work/Life Balance
3.1Salary/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
3.0Management
3.2Culture