G4S Employee Reviews for Security Officer

Found 78 reviews matching the search See all 10,287 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It paid the bills
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Niagara, ON1 December 2018
That's about it. This is forcing me to write a review. I mean, I sat in my car and made mediocre money doing very little. It was not challenging, but got the bills paid.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always Many Sites To Choose From
Professional Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON29 October 2018
G4S is an amazing company to work for. They treat there employees well and have a wide range of opportunities available to choose from. They are also very supportive.
Pros
They have a great reputation with many opportunities
Cons
Working overnight shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 6Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Projects exciting job opportunities
Pre-Board Security Screening Officer at YXS (Former Employee) –  Prince George, BC11 October 2018
It was an exciting job opportunity working at the airport, interacting with the passengers and knowing what you are doing is so very important in ensuring the safety of everyone, not only in the air, but also on the ground. It could really be a great company to work for if there wasn't so much back biting going on in the work place.
Pros
good pay/ benefits
Cons
2 sets of rules for employees, depending on who you are and who you know.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
G4S is World Wide Company
G4S Security Officer (Current Employee) –  Scarborough, ON24 July 2018
I am working for G4s since 2007. This company provide lot of free courses such as first Aid, Management Training courses. They have lot of different contracts so I gain lot of experiences in g4s while I am working at different back round people.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Second worst security company in Canada.
Security Officer (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB18 July 2018
Management is a joke.
If you are white you will never get promoted.
Pay sucks.
Can NEVER get enough hours to get benefits.
They give you USED uniforms.
I could go on but the bottom line is,
this company SUCKS!!!!
Pros
Lol
Cons
long hours low pay. somtimes no washroom piis on a tree.
Was this review helpful?Yes 15No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Oshawa, ON22 June 2018
It was a step up to next employment position There were no benefits and there was no chance of advancement to a better paying position ... It helped me gain necessary skills to move on
Pros
Helped us gain skills
Cons
no beneifts
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
G4S is a good company to work for getting experience.
Security Officer (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON8 May 2018
Its been a roller coaster ride working in G4S. Slowly getting momentum and at the end give you thrill and excitement of achievement. Good days and bad days and always learning new things during job and sites.
Pros
Health benefits.
Cons
Less interaction with management.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workplace environment is friendly!
SECURITY OFFICER (FULL-TIME) (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON7 May 2018
As a full-time employee, I am so happy to work with this company. The great think is perfect combination of multi-cultural people. Most of management team is good except some employee in some cases. However, the team not fulfill the commitment which they committed on recruitment process.
Pros
To meet multi-cultural people, and sharing knowledge & experience.
Cons
Senior employees are suffering because a group of staffs are getting more benefit than others.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The workplace culture with G4S is high morale, motivation and enthusiam
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Kingston, ON and Cornwall ON26 March 2018
G4S is a great company to work for, I worked at both sites, St. Lawrence College Kingston site, and St. Lawrence College Cornwall Campus. The managers are very professionals and promote a healthy work environment, as such it has been a pleasure working for this company, Approximately one year ago, G4S no longer held the contract with St. Lawrence College and it was transitioned over to another company. I will not comment on the other company as they are new to the college and are just starting to get a handle on their new contract, so presently there is allot of stress and chaos in the new company and their expectations.

You have to enjoy working with the many needs of the public carrying out your duties with a high level of customer service.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always work to do
Supervisor Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Oshawa, ON14 March 2018
Very good Training if you're getting into security work will teach you all the ins and outs proper procedure for report writing patrolling and working with a team
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report

Want to know more about G4S?

Ask a question
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Security at a Condo, Worked a Valet Parking
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Etobicoke, ON21 February 2018
I was working in a condo as Valet Parking, Very Friendly atmosphear. The resident were good and the work was not heavy. The work was not heavy and the work culture was good
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Workplace- If you can obtain a position/site that fits you.
Healthcare Security Officer (Current Employee) –  Kingston, ON18 February 2018
Great experience with opportunity to advance with training and proven reliability. Flexibility for hours to accommodate all schedules. Great entry-level position to begin a career in enforcement/ emergency management.
Pros
Flexible Hours, Wide Range of Workplace Locations
Cons
Lack of Outfitting, In-Demand at All Times
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent team
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB30 January 2018
It's been awhile since I've worked in the Winnipeg office but the core team was a great one !
Great stepping stone and great exposure to jobs within the field
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This company sucks.
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Niagara, ON9 December 2017
This company sucks. Enough said. Now to make up one hundred and fifty characters. I had very, very poor experience with the management. Have I mentioned that I did not enjoy working for this company?
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 4Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Responsible in health and safety
Security Officer (Current Employee) –  G4S Office9 November 2017
Traineer and the officers are well behaved and tolerate in their communication, they even help pay some employee with their transportation and lunch when they are being trained.
Pros
Free lunch
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 3Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB7 November 2017
good company
sometimes scheduling team forget to send you tell last min
flexible understanding human resources
work is ok
clients is ok
usual work theme
Pros
good company
Cons
schedule sometimes mess up
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and cooperative workplace
Security Officer (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON29 August 2017
It's a good and co operative workplace. Sessions which take part time to time help employees to achieve more and more. a good company to work with. Thank you for giving the opportunity to new candidates.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 4Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is a place to learn and advance.
Security officer (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB26 July 2017
Great place learn and advance in your career.Also the management, supervisor and coworkers are considerate and helpful.There are many resources available for learning and advancement.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun working place
Security (Current Employee) –  Tanker Services19 June 2017
As in my interview I have explained that I wanted to be in the army but couldn't so I had an opportunity to serve in uniform at g4s and so far I have been having fun I like to explore a lot but my job im only in one place everyday so I need to go out and explore carry big guns I like that kind of a life challenging life not just wait to nock off
Pros
none
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB16 June 2017
Great company to work for, I really enjoyed my time with the company and my coworkers who I met while on the job. My site supervisor was great as well
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 4Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at G4S. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 10,289 reviews
52.7K
42.8K
32.5K
21.1K
11.2K

Ratings by category

3.3Work/Life Balance
3.1Salary/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
3.0Management
3.2Culture