G4S Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mon avis
Agent de sécurité, affecté sur le site UPS (Current Employee) –  Montréal, QC20 October 2018
Une bonne compagnie, j'ai déja passé 5 bonnes années à y travailler, comme toutes entreprises il y a de bonnes actions envers les employés, mais il y a aussi de moins bonnes. J'ai plus de bon souvenir que de moins de bon. Avec les experiences que j'ai eu avec mes collègues, je conseillerai à quelqu'un d'y postuler
Pros
communication
Cons
pas de constance
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful!!
Screening Officer (Former Employee) –  Richmond, BC12 October 2018
Your breaks are never on time. Passengers are very rude. Managers do not have your back when passengers break rules. You will often be given graveyard shifts.
Pros
Pay
Cons
Everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Projects exciting job opportunities
Pre-Board Security Screening Officer at YXS (Former Employee) –  Prince George, BC11 October 2018
It was an exciting job opportunity working at the airport, interacting with the passengers and knowing what you are doing is so very important in ensuring the safety of everyone, not only in the air, but also on the ground. It could really be a great company to work for if there wasn't so much back biting going on in the work place.
Pros
good pay/ benefits
Cons
2 sets of rules for employees, depending on who you are and who you know.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ancien employer
Agent (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC8 October 2018
Il te promettre des heures il les respecter pendant 2 à 3 semaines et après ses terminé après sa il t'oublie aucun appel dans la semaine deut et la tu les appelle vers la fin de la semaine et la ont te dit ont vous rappel pour vous donné des heures il te fond des promesses mes il les respecte pas leur promesse et il veule que les gars reste disponible pour eu pas fort.
Pros
Habit
Cons
Agence qui ne respecte pas leur emplyer
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a terrible experience
finance (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON28 September 2018
Lots of unpaid overtime. Lack of support in key areas. Worked with a lot of great people.Many departments are understaffed. Lots of managers and not enough workers.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Security Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON27 September 2018
Supervise and oversee security functions in an organization.

Train and schedule programs and functions to security personnel.

Evaluate, assess and analyze performance of security personnel.

Initiate disciplinary measures wherever necessary.

Provide security to office staff, buildings and properties.

Keep the premises free from all kinds of dangers.

Screen visitors before allowing them to enter the premises.

Maintain all security devices and products in good working condition.

Develop and implement preventative measures against accidents, thefts and other risks.

Ensure compliance of applicable policies and regulations while implementing security measures.
Pros
got to see many faces
Cons
pay was very low
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent People on Board
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Windsor, ON25 September 2018
Low pay, poorly organized, no room for advancement, a lot of risks on this job with little or no reward. Hours were all over the place. Training needs to be improved.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Full-Time Job
Badge administrator (Former Employee) –  Peace River, AB24 September 2018
I have previously worked for G4S. They are a great company, the managers were awesome. I love that they have so many contracts up North so I could work up at camp. Lots of hours and great pay. The co-workers were great as well, great team environment. I left to go back to school.
Pros
good wage, lots of hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent pay but an unbalanced/unfair scheduling system
Screening Officer (Current Employee) –  Richmond, BC22 September 2018
The training is just about adequate. there's a lot to learn & remember at first, but the flow comes with time.
The job itself is ok & it pays well for what you do, but the work/life balance and schedule flexibility is very bad. Like all companies, everyone respects the seniority of other employees, but G4S (under contract from Catsa) operate a totally unbalanced & unfair scheduling system.

Employees should not expect a shift including a single Sat OR Sun off for many years and the same for booking a vacation week during the peak seasons of summer and the holidays. Shift modifications & leave of absences are also seldom accommodated for all but the most extreme circumstances.
Sure, they have a shift giveaway/trade system, but it's old-school archaic, slow and getting someone to work a weekend shift is practically impossible.
There is no accommodation for students and people with other jobs, the company will expect you to put them before all else in life.

The union appears to focus on protecting the feelings of the more senior employees.

Immediate management are mostly friendly & try their best to help you out, but can only work within the parameters they have.
Pros
Pay, benefits, a mostly friendly work environment
Cons
Shift and vacation scheduling, An inefficient union
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
experience and hard working
Security Guard (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB18 September 2018
always a nice 12 hours shift with good wage and full of experence in oil and gas refinery and realy with a nice supervisor and safety periority and high responsibility
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report

Want to know more about G4S?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don’t apply if u want a life! Not the best job for stufents or for ppl who wanna work part-time!
Ex employee (Former Employee) –  Yvr17 September 2018
Its an interesting job u meet so many new ppl. You make new friends. The pay isn’t too bad but i do feel like the company should pay their employees more due to the stressful environment. The service delivery managers are awesome!!! the ppl up at the office don’t care about anyone or anything. Your attendance is tracked on a whole new level. If u need time off it’s literally impossible!! Doesn’t matter if family/friend/ or u is getting married, if u have medical reasons or even if u have an all paid vacation u still have to struggle getting time off, most times you’ll be denied!!!! This company has the worst Scheduling ever!! They stalk ur profiles on social media and nail u when u call in sick.
Pros
Make New friends, ok benefits.. tims has better benefits
Cons
Scheduling, no appreciation
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great work place
Western Canada Scheduler (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB13 September 2018
nothing but great things to say about G4S treated with respect. enjoyed my time there and would return in the future if the opportunity was available.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad place to work
"guard" (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC8 September 2018
This company has absolutely no empathy, lie to your face and treat you with disrespect. Only care about getting a new contracts and not care about employee , do yourself a favor don t apply for g4s. They say they will find you sites to work at but that takes awhile. They have their favorites.
Pros
none
Cons
pay new employees more than seasoned employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bad management and area coordinator
Security Guard (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON5 September 2018
the recruiter will say only a lot of things non of what he is gonna say is gonna happens so don't get a high hops other than that the pay is minimum wage. the shifts are long and no one will care if you complain about any thing no room for advancement.
the only good thing the always have extra shifts if you like to get more hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Security Supervisor & Loss Prevention Investigator (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON4 September 2018
provide quality customer service
maintaining security duties
friendly work environment
observing and reporting everything
putting in a full days work
Pros
time and a half
Cons
extra hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall unsupported
Security, Fire and Life Safety Manager (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON31 August 2018
While being a capable individual is an asset, it meant you are largely left to your own devices despite the best intentions of my CSM at the time.


This left little room for a supportive dialog and client relationship building relationship.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice and friendly workplace good management
Security Guard (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB25 August 2018
I work at Walmart Stores as a security guard. My tasks are to prevent theft from the shelves, check purchase bills and many things, but the nice part in this work is the good relations, beautiful smiles and dialogues I have with clients.
My relationship with clients has changed into a friendly relationship and they started to call me by name and I know their names. The relationship has changed from a security guard with a customer to a friends relationship
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Environnement Agréable
Agent de sécurité (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC22 August 2018
l'aspect le plus agréable,c'est de travailler pour eux.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced environment with friendly staff
Security Guard/Back up Assistant Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON16 August 2018
My position was very much enjoyable. I got to meet all types of people and assist them the best way i can. I sometimes went above and beyond to assist them.

Was given some opportunities to move into different positions temporarily. The best part of this job, was seeing my clients smile.
Pros
laid back
Cons
lack of Promotions
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible place to work
Screening Officer (Former Employee) –  Richmond, BC9 August 2018
Been working with G4S for over 2 years at YVR Airport and I absolutely HATED it. Management and Scheduling don't care about you. They treat you like dirt. You want to modify a shift or take a day off? Forget about it. They won't ever approve it even if your dying from cancer.

They've started to doggy tag everyone, tracking everyones moves. CAN I NOT USE THE WASHROOM IN PEACE?

They hire complete idiots, everyone is two faced and A LOT OF DRAMA GOES DOWN. Everyone sleeps around with each other just to make it to the top. You have managers AND coworkers sexually harassing the females. You have everyone spreading rumours about each other and what does management do? ABSOLUTELY NOTHING. They don't care about anyone or the health of their employees
Pros
Health Coverage
Cons
Management & coworkers
Was this review helpful?Yes 21No 3Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at G4S. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 9,043 reviews
52.3K
42.5K
32.2K
2939
11.1K

Ratings by category

3.2Work/Life Balance
3.1Salary/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
3.0Management
3.2Culture