G&K Services Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Environnement de travail en changement
Représentant des ventes (Current Employee) –  Montreal-nord, QC28 January 2018
Changement au sein de l’entreprise qui a été rachetée par Cintas, en somme bonne entreprise avec cependant des difficultés.
Pros
Salaires
Cons
Équipement obsolète
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible Managment
Labourer /Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Cambridge, ON18 January 2018
Every day there was complete bull be it they didn't care of the workers or their safety just wanted it done and if you took a second because you didn't feel safe the supervisors would jump down your neck. They didn't care if someone near to you died wouldn't even let me have a day off for my uncles funeral I would never work there again if I knew they would treat me like that I wouldn't have started even
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Highly sales driven
ROUTE SERVICE REPRESENTATIVE (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON19 November 2017
If you do not enjoy selling products you will not enjoy this job. Pay matches work performed. Corporate culture is good with lots of incentives to help motivate.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Route Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON7 November 2017
Weekly meetings , fast paced, long hours, many customers to service mon- fri , now is called CINTAS as it was recently bought out. Good strong team with great work ethic, would help each other cover and complete routes in bad weather. Lots of prizes to win if performance excellence was achieved. Worked in the winter matt service side. Great for people who enjoy being active and building and maintaining relationships with customers.
Pros
company insentives
Cons
dirty work, long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You make money but you work VERY hard for it
ROUTE SALES REPRESENTATIVE (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON9 October 2017
Most people are hired on a temp basis through the winter, from October to May usually. If you can survive the winter (and I mean literally), then you might have a chance on getting a permanent mats position. Hard to balance work/life unless you're willing to devote your life to the place. Speaking french is a massive game changer, unless you're fluent you might have a hard time fitting in. Spartan attitude required, read between the lines.
Would not recommend unless you have no other options.
Pros
overtime
Cons
too much physical work and sales pressure, benefits (dental) sucks, missing products all the time, horrible management
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
poor management and lack of professionalism
Stockroom Manager (Current Employee) –  Montréal, QC3 August 2017
it is a great company for those who are manual and like to follow the instructions from manager without question it.

benefits are ok, but work environments is toxic.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long hours are expected.
Route Manager (Former Employee) –  Southwestern Ontario5 July 2017
Tough work/life balance. Upper mgmt decisions for profit create daily challenges for RM's. Overall good benefit packages, and mileage reimbursement. Unionized workforce.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Expected hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Correct
Déchargeur de camion (Nuit) (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC27 February 2017
rien n'a ajouter. Je n'a pas de point faiblr ni fort.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Labour intensive company.
Route Sales Representative (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB12 January 2017
A typical day at work would consist of arriving to work and finding out if there are any changes to your route, checking to make sure you have waiting emails or messages from management or clients. Resolve those or figure out how your going to resolve those on top of your work load in the day. Check your route over to make sure you have all your delivery's and bulk items, and if you don't load them up or find out where they are and make plans to deliver them later. Start your delivers for the day and find out what customers need while your on site. Organize the lockers and bulk item areas to make them look neat and tidy. Carry in cloths by hand or with buggy and arrange them by locker number. Collect all soiled garments at each location and check for repairs needing to be done. Take those to the van and hand bomb them in. Speak with the clients and employees trying to up sell products we have available. After the day is done with go back and organize your dirties for the night shift and unload required garments into the the specials carts. Once you have cleaned up your truck organized your paper work and called your customers back. Check to make sure there is no special deliveries to take with you on your way home.
Cons
Long hours, Unacheiveable goals, Extra work expected with personal vehicle
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice employer, employees, neat and clean workplace.
shipping and loading (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB8 January 2017
Very nice management nd employees. Organised plant. Hourly wage. Payment bi-weekly. Safty purpose class every month. Employer tslks to employees once in two weeks.
Pros
birthday celebration of every employee and treats for every occasion
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place
Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Edmonton14 December 2016
It wasnt bad working for this job. Salary was good and management was not bad. The company was in their growth face when I started working with them so it was still developing while I was there. So they were introducing lots of new things and policies.
Pros
Active learning, interacting with people
Cons
Not enough safety. Very physical demanding and stressful
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pay is the only good thing
Route Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB22 September 2016
I worked for G&K for 3 years as an RSR then was promoted to Route Specialist. This job is very hard on the body and mind. Recently i informed my manager that i am suffering from chronic wrist and back pain. The following Monday i was fired without explanation. Turns out they let me go in fear that i would file a WCB claim. I'm currently in the process of applying for ei and dealing with the labour board for wrongful dismissal.

Would only recommend working here short term to save up cash. Long term employment will result in permanent damage to your body as well as stress/ depression.
Pros
pay
Cons
everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Constant pressure, little reward or recognition.
Territory Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Cambridge, ON27 June 2016
Good place to learn about hunting sales. Unfortunately, there is so much pressure to maintain a high level of email / phone call contact that there is a lot of 'garbage' in the data base. Colleagues can be great but everyone is under pressure so it is not unusual for someone to try and take your sale despite if being a territory. Management is under pressure too and if you have a bad day, week, or month - your career there could be over. No loyalty and poor communication between sales, service, and the plant.
Pros
Some autonomy. Pure hunting role with little to no follow-up.
Cons
Constant pressure, poor communication
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work for those that are not scared of putting time in
Regional Service Manager (Current Employee) –  Cambridge, ON10 August 2015
G&K Services is a great employer.

They value their staff, drive the business forward and customer service with it's core values, and provide great rewards for great results.

Though they can be tough on failings, and expect lots of hours when needed, I recommend this company to most. It has the track record and security you rarely find in a company of this size.
Pros
Long term career opportunity
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 17No 10Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job satisfaction will be highly dependent on local management
Manager (Former Employee) –  Ontario, Canada2 July 2015
Very hard to achieve sales quotas, even for top performers.
Little room for advancement unless willing to relocate.
Some branches are more successful than others.
Pros
Fair compensation
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Kind of my first full time experience in Canada
Staff Accountant (Former Employee) –  Mississauga Canada18 June 2015
Great Staff, Good management. At that point was 102 year old company. Learnt using SAP here. I was the Staff accountant responsible for 16 locations within western Canada. My job was to make sure the financials were reported accurately & on a timely basis.
Part of my role also included talking to each of the GM about their forecast & Budget requirements and doing a variance analysis act vs bud vs for
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Office Clark
Administrative Support (Former Employee) –  Cambridge, ON18 May 2015
Prepare reports for the driver to deliver.
Handle office supplies.
Work with Brinks for cash deposits.
Did backup for servers.
Payroll and account payable.
Print holiday schedule for plat and office.
Pros
Not Applicable
Cons
Not Applicable
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Physical
Route Sales Representative (Current Employee) –  ottawa17 April 2015
This job is very hard on the body, mentally aswell. must be physically fit. Must be able to deal with irate customers daily. Co workers are the reason we show up every day.
Pros
None
Cons
very long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 37No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Barbecues , Birthday cakes, promos
RSR (Former Employee) –  Hamilton3 April 2015
A typical work day could be long and the expectations were unrealistic given the work load. Mentally and physically taxing, not for everyone. I learned to be professional when servicing the customer providing a product or service and service issues. As far as management was concerned they were knowledgeable but lacked empathy and did not always communicate to the customer or RSR. The hardest part of the job was dealing with shortages and finding out that the customer had called in to speak to management and not received a call back. The most enjoyable part of the job was seeing the same people week after week and knowing that some of them actually liked you.
Pros
Learning the garment rental business and applying some the things you earned to another job.
Cons
Long hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes 15No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Purchasing Director (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON6 February 2015
Such a good place to work and the management team is so nice and helpful. Definitly enjoyed working here and making great netoworks. Would reccoment this.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 21Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at G&K Services. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 456 reviews
5101
4132
3122
246
155

Ratings by category

3.3Work/Life Balance
3.5Salary/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
3.0Management
3.1Culture