Future Shop Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment, terrible management.
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB23 May 2018
Future Shop awarded a lot of incentives and a great bonus structure for employees but significantly lacked good managers to provide clear direction for employee development.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good introduction into customer service
Customer Support Representative (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON21 May 2018
Learned to receive and count cash, balance till for next shift, and track cash transfers. Management always gave a prep talk before every opening shift, knew how to boost team morale during the day when things started to slow down a bit.
Pros
Great management
Cons
Company shut down
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
commision based. super aggresive
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Barrie, ON11 May 2018
It was great playing with all the new gadgets but the pressure of hitting targets was sometimes annoying. I would work for this company again though as I had a lot of fun at times.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Student Job
Mobile Communications - Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON10 May 2018
Good job for students to make a little cash on the side and learn about tech. Good way to improve customer service skills. Experiences varies heavily based on location of work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked as Computer Technician
Computer Technician (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON8 May 2018
I was on site tech support and found little challenges while I have to reach out to the customer premises. manager was very nice, who guided me for the customer service and other technology.
Pros
good staff; good manager
Cons
N.A
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Technician & Sales associate (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON21 April 2018
Management gave you the ability to be creative in finding solutions to issues & problems. The workplace culture was very inviting and encouraged everyone to do their best. Co-workers made the job fun.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learn lot
Computer Service Support Technician (Former Employee) –  Abbotsford, BC18 April 2018
I learn lot from this company how to manage your work and listen to client and always try to understand client point of view and add my skill to create software for them
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
typical work day
Department Manager (Former Employee) –  Kamloops, BC17 April 2018
mentored many young adults as the company was a beginning for most young adults, provided adequate training to assist them in their positions, worked my way up to closing manager.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
training
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  GTA, ON15 April 2018
lot of training
good salary
big scope to get promoted
Very well organised
Future shop university
job security
Empowering staff
great benefits
great commission
Pros
good salary
Cons
long hrs
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and fast
Computer Technician (Technical Lead) (Former Employee) –  Vernon, BC14 April 2018
It was a good retail environment but only an entry level position. The company is now gone so this really isn't relevant. Best Buy is the appropriate replacement as they acquired Futureshop.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Team work
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON12 April 2018
Future Shop was a daily challenge. Management and staff were very supportive.The most enjoyable part of the job is meeting new people on a daily basis.
Pros
gift cards, free lunches, rewards
Cons
late and long shifts
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful due to commissions.
Sales Associate / Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Burlington, ON10 April 2018
Very competitive sales structure because it was comission and often fellow employees would take the sale when you weren’t there. Management enjoyed pitting us against one another and did little to settle disputes between sales people.
Pros
Staff discounts
Cons
Fighting for commissions
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gone
Sales Associate (commission sales) (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB9 April 2018
Best Buy - Kill this once great company. Now that i am a customer I haven't someone that know anything about the products they sell.

We took pride in being the place for information on New TECH. They are no longer the tech leaders.also got ride of the 90 days no\no that customers loved gave us the edge over the market.
Pros
none
Cons
Best Buy
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
sales sup.
Expert of products (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC9 April 2018
not much to learn. For a student job is very good. not too much responsibility at work. in christmas is the best time to make money because of commision
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Really fun job with an environment I loved working in
Sales associate / Toy Specialist (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB5 April 2018
Every shift consisted of performing presentations of several high-powered flight products such as remote controlled helicopters and drones. Investigated customers wants/needs and helped them find the right product assuring 100% customer satisfaction
Pros
interacting with and helping new customers find what they need
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
does not exist anymore
Retail Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON4 April 2018
no longer a avlid company so i dont have anything to say, at this point i would like to write enough for the min so i can move on to the next screen of my appication.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical Retail Sales
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  New Glasgow, NS23 March 2018
Low wage combined with over staffing combined with lack of customers equaled a recipe for disaster. Future Shop could have stayed open if they had of been proactive instead of reactive and not built giant box stores everywhere when online shopping was increasing year over year.
Pros
Coworkers, fun
Cons
Wage, boring
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company policies and services are unfairly priced
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON21 March 2018
Salespersons were very aggressive and customers were rarely satisfied with the service or the information provided about the services. Customer issues mostly relate to misinformation and misguidance in relation to the overcharged services provided.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales Agent
Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  London, ON19 March 2018
Future Shop was a leader in the sale of electronics, white goods, and other home equipment in Canada. It was an honor to have been employed there as a Sales Agent.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved this place, shame it closed.
Cellular Sales Consultant (Former Employee) –  Courtenay, BC17 March 2018
Was an amazing place to work. If it didn't close I would probably still be there. Worked with amazing employees, great managers, great pay. Best job I've ever had.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport