Fulton Hogan Employee Reviews

Showing all 118 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company to work for it
Practical Completion Inspector/Quality Officer (Former Employee) –  Perth WA28 June 2019
good company to work for it
nice friendly environment
management is willing to listen but not too much action
no opportunity to grow( maybe just me)
I wish to work for them longer but in a different position
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No work life balance
Engineer (Current Employee) –  Adelaide SA3 June 2019
They work you to the bone, no consideration for your personal life, expect long hours that’s not reflected in you salary. Promise you everything, then shift the goal posts on you with no consultation prior making it impossible to meet their requirements
Management do not live n breath the FH values but expect everyone else to
Issues raised get swept under the carpet and the guys on the ground get the blame
Absolutely appalling!
HR and HSE issues go left unanswered and your made to feel intimidated when you ask again
Their uniform allowance is a joke, holes in boots and torn shirts won’t be replaced yet a certain HSE Coordinator is a walking FH uniform catalogue
Double standards through the place
Toxic environment in their main office
Pros
Nothing that I witnessed
Cons
Long hours, unrealistic job expectations, management don’t have a clue
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment
LABOURER (Former Employee) –  Adelaide SA24 May 2019
Great company to work for, very friendly. Hourly rate was exceptional considering my age (17). Management and supervisors were very nice and gained my respect very quickly.
Pros
Salary, Supervisors
Cons
Some manual labor
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 4Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fulton hogan
traffic management (Current Employee) –  Christchurch, Canterbury12 May 2019
great company looking after staff and their welfare.some long hours but you are compensated.Out of town work is interesting,again you are compensated e well when you are away.
Pros
wages and conditions
Cons
some long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It’s like working in the 80’s
HFC (Former Employee) –  Western Australia8 May 2019
The managment are a bunch of bully’s, nothing done by workers was ever good enough, employers were always treated as if they were always doing something wrong.
Dare question them about safety issues or procedures and you would paint a target on your back. Zero training provided and unless you were stroking the egos of managment and supervisors there was no chance of any further progression in the company, no matter what your skill rating was.
Full time isn’t an option, most guys were strung along for 18months.

Unorganised continually and one of the least professional companies I had ever worked for.
Pros
Coworkers.
Cons
Managment made for a toxic work environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I have worked for Fulton Hogan for 7 years
Spray Operator (Current Employee) –  Wellington City, Wellington16 April 2019
Overall they are a very good company to work for , but the culture is very different from region to region. And alot depends on the manager you work under.
Pros
Medical insurance
Cons
The culture changes from region to region
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
We usually socialise with our managers and all the workers
Carpenter (Former Employee) –  Suva17 February 2019
In Fiji we learn more new things in this company,They provide more course ,which help my experience on workplace and our living area.Helps my communication with the managers and supervisors
Pros
They provide meal allowance
Cons
We work not more than 12 hours a day because of fatigued
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good management place
Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Sydney NSW1 February 2019
@ Very bad management style small group has more than 4 managers
@ Not friendly as the company says'we're family'
@ Greatly discrimination and racist
@ Not a nice place for new starter, no training, no communication
Pros
N/a
Cons
Long hours, low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 14No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Workplace
Leading Hand (Former Employee) –  Lower Hutt, Wellington, New Zealand30 January 2019
worked here for 2 and a half years, loved every minute. great company, awesome team work.
The culture within our division of Hutt City Maintenance is outstanding.
Pros
Good Benifits within work and outside of work
Cons
Pay could be better
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a nice place for new employees
Roller Operator (Former Employee) –  Western Australia16 January 2019
My opinion of Fulton Hogan W.A is not a good one. There is a culture of bullying new employees. There is hardly any breathtesting as you are handed a piece of paper that you write 0.00 on and it seems the site boss and supervisors are covering there favourites. The managers don't want to know about labour hire employees as they think they are like an expendable product. We had our safety day last Monday and a speaker there said we should care about each other more.Fat chance of that happening as things just go on the same as allways. Fulton Hogan has a long way to go to attain any sort of high standard in this industry. The Managers are rude,selfish and uncaring like they dont seem to know or care what is going on on the ground. I just thought that considering the guys on the ground do all the physical work that they would be treated better. Come on we work 14 hours a day without a scheduled break so many days you are fatigued after you drive home. Fatigued drivers and operators make mistakes. Everyone makes mistakes and the supervisers are rude to you maybe because they are stressed themselves. I have a fear that one day a serious workplace incident/accident will take place on the job. I hope I a wrong.
Pros
The Money
Cons
Long hours without a sheduled break, rude bosses and a cooking the books regarding fatigue management.
Was this review helpful?Yes 16No 3Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A smsll gatherig at the end of the week kava sesson.
Operator (Former Employee) –  Suva, FJ12 January 2019
You know you're safe, when you follow road management. Begin by identifying the hazards. I learned Traffic management.The most enjoyable part is when you're given a task, finding the solution and completing it.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Intern Engineer here
Student Engineer (Former Employee) –  Auckland10 January 2019
I was an intern engineer here. They provided alot of great opportunities and allowed you to grow and push yourself as much as you wanted. They provided a supportive environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good company
Estimator (Former Employee) –  Auckland City, Auckland28 December 2018
If you work hard and put in the effort, then you will be rewarded. Salaries are not the best but there are good benefits and a good company culture. Worked here 4 years and I would work here again in the future if given the opportunity.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome company
Operator (Former Employee) –  Penrose, Auckland21 December 2018
The people at Fulton Hogan are awesome, including management. Their PPE gear is awesome, they know how to look after their team. Their Health and Safety is very strict, one of the best. I learnt from their most experience operators and you need good ears because they only say it once....lol
Pros
Good hours
Cons
More training
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good poeple to work for
Civil Labourer (Former Employee) –  Melbourne VIC17 December 2018
Good company to work for apart for it needs better management on the paper work side of things. Apart from that the culture is quite good and the work is always veried to make it more interesting .
Pros
Get a free breakfast once every 3 months if we lucky
Cons
Can be a little rushed at times when getting organised in the mornings with the paper work..
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 7Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
HFC project-poor management
Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Dudley Park SA24 November 2018
I came here a couple of years ago and worked hard ,sorry to say baby.SQ over through me.
Let’s just say, they involved a heap of pepperoni and a group of seagulls swarming his room, with hilarious and disastrous consequences.
Pros
free drinks
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 15No 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Double face people
Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Dudley Park SA23 November 2018
Management at NBN Dudly Park is a bunch of crooks ,Project management don't care about any matter between Supervisors ,they can degrade anyone without any investigation , project manager isn't able to resolve internal problems he is a kid.
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 19No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great family orientated company
Civil Engineer (Former Employee) –  Dunedin City, Otago30 October 2018
Great opportunities to learn and advance in your career
safe, positive and encouraging environment to work in and work for
plenty of variety in day to day work
giving opportunities of leadership, project management and a variety of roles of in the civil engineering world (environmental, civil construction, surveying, asphalt and drainage)
Pros
career advancement, management roles, variety
Cons
lack of younger employees in the region
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome company
Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Whangarei, Northland22 October 2018
Fulton Hogan would be the best company I have ever worked for.
The people there are considerate and caring when it concerns family.
Their work ethic is spectacular. I have the utmost respect for this company.
Anybody that decides to work for this company will be well taken care of.
Pros
Everything to medical health to helping a friend in need
Cons
Nil
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not bad
road works labourer (Former Employee) –  Berry NSW22 October 2018
good place to work values health and safety fairly treated good to learn new skills . good pay . good blokes to work with . good place to work if u like construction
Pros
good bbqs
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 13Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Fulton Hogan. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 118 reviews
558
431
313
25
111

Ratings by category

4.0Work/Life Balance
3.7Salary/Benefits
3.6Job Security/Advancement
3.7Management
4.1Culture