FORTIS BC Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
team
Street Team & Ambassador (Current Employee) –  Surrey, BC17 September 2018
fun place to work and develop and grow as an individual and to be a part of a talented group of people room for growth and advancement where one can learn
Pros
team
Cons
hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You always felt you had to watch your back with management.
Customer Service Rep (Former Employee) –  Prince George, BC3 June 2018
I was let go from this company because management said I was not the "right fit". I am a mature woman and I was completely blind sighted by my dismissal. The management was terrible, and they should totally review their managers. They are little empire builders with no concern for the employees. I was treated very unfairly.
Was this review helpful?Yes 16No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was Alright
Customer Care Representative (Current Employee) –  Vancouver Harbour, BC11 April 2018
The job itself is easy and repetitive, the learning and training methods are horrible as the trainers only care about themselves. Your success truly depends only on yourself as the trainers don't stop to help or listen.
When you get on the actual call center floor you are monitored non-stop.
Not enough pay for the work you have to do.
Was this review helpful?Yes 11NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Na
Customer Service Rep (Current Employee) –  Prince George, BC11 April 2018
It is a great place to work, Great benefits
Friendly management,. Room for advancement
Customers are usually good but some can be a real pain in the butt.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great benefits
Meter Reader (Former Employee) –  Kelowna, BC1 March 2018
Fortis has great benefits and work hours. They offer competitive wages and ensure a safe work environment in anything you do. Everyone i've had the pleasure of working with has been exceptionally friendly and helpful.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Richmond, BC6 February 2018
Coworkers are great. Work is challenging and rewarding. Good benefits. Good vacation. Executive leadership team seems disconnected from employees and the work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management and micro-managing.
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Prince George, BC27 September 2017
Management at this job is all about micro managing employees down to second. If you need to go to the bathroom expect to have management ask you to justify it.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for
Team Manager (Former Employee) –  Surrey, BC17 September 2017
Will pay for schooling as long as it can be applied in the workplace.
Excellent Benefits.
Great vacation time.
A lot of room for advancement.
Many different locations throughout BC, Alberta.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
at first it was a great place to work but over time thats changed
Data Entry Clerk (Former Employee) –  Surrey, BC10 August 2017
they used to be a great place to work! extra curricular activities, lunches.. they believed in keeping employees happy.. but now restructuring and reorganizations have changed that and it is slowly becoming less than it once was
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
FortisBC
Customer Service Leader- Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Burnaby, BC19 February 2015
Manage a team of 14 representatives. Coach and develop them, while also dealing with inbound customer service calls and inquiries.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Would not recommend
Customer Services Representative (Current Employee) –  Burnaby, BC17 February 2015
I would not recommend this job. Hours change drastically after being hired to include midnight shifts. Your shifts can change daily as a temp. Your life revolves around work.
Pros
none
Cons
constant changing hours, vacations not approved
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not applicable
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Burnaby, BC10 January 2015
Poor or bad management
Great co-workers
No opportunities for advancement
Pros
New clean office
Cons
poor management
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent salary and benefits.
Emergency Dispatcher (Former Employee) –  Surrey, BC15 April 2013
Even though FortisBC employees are part of the Cope Union it gives you a false sense of security. The probationary period is not the standard 3 months and is based on the 1st 1200 hours of continuous employment. For someone who is part time working 20 hours per week it would take years to complete. I was let go one week before passing my probation. I never called in sick and was never late for work. I was never told I did anything wrong. They do not need a reason to let you go. The salary and benefits are much better than industry standards but you cannot have a mind of your own. You have to learn quickly to adapt and form cliques or more senior employees who don't share your enthusiasm will bad mouth you to everyone and move you out! There are not many opportunities for advancement and when an opportunity comes up and even if you are the most qualified applicant it is given to someone who has 2 minutes seniority over you. The most enjoyable part of the job was talking to customers and solving any problems that they had.
Pros
free gym facilities. excellent salary and benefits.
Cons
lousy union contract. probationary period too long, they don't need a reason to fire you.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 2Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at FORTIS BC. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.2
Based on 14 reviews
52
44
34
23
11

Ratings by category

3.5Work/Life Balance
3.5Salary/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
2.6Management
2.9Culture