Fort McKay Group of Companies Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fort mckay
Heavy Equipment Operator (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB16 March 2018
Fort McKay is a great company to work for. Very reliable work. Great people to work for. They are organized and they pay very well. The training department is also very good.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Pay
General Labourer (Current Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB15 March 2018
This is a good job if you are starting out. Moving up within the company is difficult but with the right attitude not impossible. Management does not micromanage which is nice and they trust their employees to be doing the job they are hired for.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and hard working company
Topps Dredging Crew (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB27 February 2018
Experienced, knowledge company that teaches the skills and development to grow
A typical day consisted of waking early, getting on bus with crew to job site, morning meeting on safety and procedures, preparing your tools for the day.
Pros
good crew and safety
Cons
weather conditions
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and busy
Labourer (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB23 January 2018
you start with a Toolbox talk, get your task for the day. I learned how to place Geo grid, comy grid, and Neo web. management was good and understanding.
Pros
bought us lunch once an a while
Cons
the schedule
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work n friendly management
Heavy Equipment Operator (Former Employee) –  Worked at jack pine, syncrude, and mrm sites11 July 2017
I worked for fort MacKay as my other family members till the layoffs n transfers .Overall it's a great place to work ...I would love to go back and work here again .. it's a great place to work ..
Pros
They have a great work schedule
Cons
There is no negative things to say
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
dinner breaks
Operator ● MMLP (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB29 June 2017
learn how to repond when needed & just do my job, got better with working with others, & haven good communication setting goals. coffee breaks were alway good.
Pros
lunches
Cons
long hrs
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not recommended
WAREHOUSE/PARTS TECHNICIAN (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB9 June 2017
All you hear is hot air from management. They gets er done is the common saying by team leads even though it is the people at ground level doing all of the work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Summer Student Job
Material Handler (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB23 May 2017
For the first 3 weeks, I didn't really know what I was supposed to be doing. Neither did the people I was working with. So i just ended up asking people if they needed help for the time I was working there. Great pay, and a relaxed place, I was never rushed to get anything done.
Pros
Great pay, Long weekends
Cons
Driving out and back into town.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company
Heavy Equipment Operator (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB6 May 2017
Great safety culture. Good Management. Clean equipment. Room for advancement if interested. overtime available. good group of employees to work with...
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Really great bunch of people to work with
Operator (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB28 March 2017
Good company but it's the people that make it great. Didn't get to work there long due to Shell selling out to CNRL. I'd definitely work there again. No complaints from my experience there.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fast paced environment.
Team Lead (Current Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB31 December 2016
The job is extremely busy and everyone works together well.
The most enjoyable part of the job is my coworkers.
Tight deadlines are challenging but are met.
Pros
none
Cons
Reduction of wages & LOA.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company
Heavy Equipment Operator (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB10 August 2016
great people to work for. I was laid off when the fires happened and I wasn't brought back. Great benefits, great shift, great hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
this company has good system for eployees
Labourer (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB12 July 2016
My last shift was 6 days on 6 dsys off, but It depends on positions. while I was working I didn't learn anything from the company. Training system isn't good, but Salary is not bed. Working Safety is good. Specially I like all my co-workers. so I was happy.
Pros
6 days on 6 days off. good safety systems.
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, safe place to work. Employee is number asset.
930-E Haul Truck (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB20 June 2016
Busy, fast pace with a high emphases on safety. Very understanding company to work for as I had a major family emergency and had to return home. They held my job for a couple of months, but unfortunately I was not able to return. I have nothing but positive words for this company.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
was happy at first but things changed
MRM 797 Team Leader/Supervisor, Shell Albian Sands (Former Employee) –  fort mcmurray7 February 2016
initially i was happy with my employment at Fort Mckay but after the downfall of the economy things changed within the company that made it not so pleasant a place to work
Pros
good fellow employees
Cons
bad management
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved my job and was very disappointed to have been laid-off due to a shortage of work. I'm very enthusiastic about returning as an operator.
Heavy Haul Truck Operator (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray2 December 2015
It was a wonderful experience, which I loved doing and can't wait to return too. I would highly recommend others to look into this field of work. I found it truly rewarding.
Pros
I loved the shift work, as it was 6 days on 6 days off. plenty of time with my family.
Cons
Although they were long hours, It was awesome to be making a difference at work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very busy place to work
Accounts Payable Clerk (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB29 October 2015
A very busy and fast environment to work in but the staff and management were informative and clear directions were given in regards to deadlines
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing company
HEO/On-boarder/Maintenance and HSE Admin (Former Employee) –  fort mcmurray18 October 2015
Everyone, including CEO and managers, always had time to sit down with you and explain and answer questions without hesitation
Very welcoming atmosphere
Everyone worked as a team
Every day was fun and exciting
Always had the opportunity to move up and achieve goals
Pros
Perfect company to work for
Cons
Lay-offs were always a worry
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok
General Foreman (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB16 September 2015
to disorganized company, money in the company wasted or lost through bad management. worst part is the company has not reinvested any money back into company. very poor at dealing with bad management and getting rid of them. that is why that company will never succeed.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good experience
Rock Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB28 July 2015
good workers, committed, strong ethnical hiring practice, safety orientated company training programs, communicate with all personal and community involvement.
Pros
Safety Training
Cons
night shift
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Fort McKay Group of Companies. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 48 reviews
514
414
316
24
10

Ratings by category

3.7Work/Life Balance
3.9Salary/Benefits
3.5Job Security/Advancement
3.6Management
3.7Culture

Fort McKay Group of Companies Reviews by Location