Foreign & Commonwealth Office Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
xxxxx
Work Experience (Former Employee) –  Hanslope Park28 May 2018
Very fun kept active doing many activities good workplace and offers lovely refreshments such as free water would definitely work here again if given opportunity
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Working culture..
Expenses Clerk (Former Employee) –  Milton Keynes, Buckinghamshire16 May 2018
Team is very good. Enjoyed thoroughly working there for about 5 years. Very good balance work and personal life. The manger and colleagues used to like to work with me.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Civil Service
Expenses Team Administrator (Former Employee) –  Milton Keynes24 April 2018
Good job security but pay has been heaverly eroded over the last few years. There are no bonuses or perks.
Promotion is slow and very complecated.
working hours per week are 37. You can work anytime between 7:00 and 18:00.
Pros
Flexi time
Cons
low pay and increases
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This is a good place to work. Get to work with other government departments across the world. Work in different departments to learn new skills and ex
office assistant (Former Employee) –  Pakistan16 March 2018
This is a good place to work. Get to work with other government departments across the world. Work in different departments to learn new skills and extremely rewarding.
Pros
good
Cons
nice
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad energy and environment/ Fraud with hiring people. People not hired with qualifications
Entry clearancw assistant (Former Employee) –  Pretoria, Gauteng5 February 2018
Worked as seasonal staff@UKVI & the treatment is bad, there's a lot of fraud with hiring people, its not about UR work but about which manager likes U
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Toxic Working Environment
Trade Policy Officer (Current Employee) –  Pretoria, Gauteng3 October 2017
Staff get fired so easily they have a high staff turn over and the working environment is toxic and sick. Worked there for 6 months and nearly landed in a hospital. Its a very racist environment the company is not diverse and black people are meant to feel as though they are stupid and incapable of making decisions.
Pros
good salaries
Cons
racism, poor line management, no training provided to staff
Was this review helpful?Yes 43NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
General administrative support (Former Employee) –  London, UK21 June 2017
This is a good place to work. Get to work with other government departments across the world. Work in different departments to learn new skills and extremely rewarding.
Was this review helpful?Yes 34No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a part time job i went there once a week.
cleaner (Former Employee) –  Johannesburg, Gauteng13 May 2017
The management team was great and the people i worked with it was fun they made sure i was comfortable always. My payment was very little with no incentives it was tough but I pulled through and everytime i got payed went to checkers to see what i can get with that money.
Was this review helpful?Yes 27No 17Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Occasionally interesting work but awful pay and management, very political.
Vice Consul (Former Employee) –  Seattle, WA14 January 2017
A very hierarchical organization. Most colleagues are there to do the least amount of work they can. Poor work culture, highly political.

The work can be exciting and interesting. Generally, poor managers but there can be exceptions.

Pay for junior staff is poor, even in high-cost locations. Very dangerous set-up with the IRS that can severely damage U.S. individuals, the Brits won't defend your interests.

Foreign Office diplomats can be very interesting but self-serving. Not good business people or business analysts.

Fairly secure job security rating, but most don't stay very long.
Pros
International trade & relations. Ability to meet people.
Cons
Poor management, driven by volatile political demands. Low pay, tax/IRS liability.
Was this review helpful?Yes 50No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people, awful pay
Legalisation Officer (Current Employee) –  Milton Keynes9 January 2017
Lovely people and the job wasn't bad either. However, the pay is terrible (being a Government post), and I found that I was struggling to pay my bills, so time to move on.
Pros
Flexi-time
Cons
Low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 19No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High reputation
Interpreter and Translator (Former Employee) –  Basra, Iraq10 December 2016
I was so proud of my work as interpreter for the 'FCO' office back in Iraq following the 2003 war.

It gave me great favour to rehabilitate my life and find my goals. It was really the one I can clearly say taught me thousands of life lessons.
Pros
Massive advantages
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Current Position
Regional Contract Manager (Current Employee) –  Europe6 March 2016
I have responsiblity for the delivery of Hard and Soft services for the FCO within APAC and Europe. Management of stakeholder relationships and budget responsibility. Development and review of KPI's and SLA's. Audit management and completion, man management, contractor management of TFM contract.

Working in a good environment with good co-workers. The hardest part of my job is delivering messages to stakeholders which are not welcomed. The most enjoyable part is stakeholder relationships and variety of work.
Pros
Luncheon Vouchers, Bonus, Medical Cover and Pension
Cons
Lack of progression
Was this review helpful?Yes 43No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of changes in the past 7 years otherwise pretty good employer
Test Manager/Senior Software Tester (Former Employee) –  Milton Keynes, ENG18 January 2016
Flexible hours for permanent staff which is good, and, support for further education if permanent staff which is also good. Seems to be lots of contract staff about who have been there a very long time, but, quite a reasonable bunch to work with.
Pros
Variable work load. Can be interesting working with other Gov.Dept's.
Cons
Advancement can be slow.
Was this review helpful?Yes 33No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok place to work
Program Officer (Current Employee) –  New York, NY7 January 2016
Good place to start, but limited opportunity for growth. They don't take taxes out of your check so you end up in trouble with the IRS at the end of the year and end up in debt.
Was this review helpful?Yes 86No 19Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You learn a lot
Communications Manager (Current Employee) –  Tunis20 September 2014
Working with IWPR you learn about research and various matters that affects people.
Was this review helpful?Yes 30No 4Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Foreign & Commonwealth Office. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 16 reviews
54
47
33
20
12

Ratings by category

4.1Work/Life Balance
3.0Salary/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.2Culture