Foodland Employee Reviews

Found 453 reviews matching the search See all 457 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workplace was all over the place
Stock Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  Thornbury, ON12 April 2019
Work super hard, always show up to your shifts on time, have small talk with some of the other employees and customers, help a customer find what they need for at home.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
has a name can i stop this
Bakery Assistant (Former Employee) –  Owen Sound, ON12 April 2019
no good it wasnt fun i dont want to right this stupid stuff anymore..why do you make people do this i might have to stop using indeed it kind of sucks with all this stuff
Pros
fg
Cons
fgf
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always enjoy working here
Supervisor/Cashier (Current Employee) –  Milford, NS7 April 2019
I feel very welcomed here at Foodland, and always get along with the people I work with. A typical day at work for me when i work front end is a mix of scanning through customers while balancing other tasks such as inputting invoices, loaning other cashiers money to their registers when needed, and picking up money from the drawers when they get too full.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work environment with team-building skills
Deli Worker (Former Employee) –  Thornbury, ON29 March 2019
Flexible hours and friendly staff, great job for customer service experience. Occasionally a fast-paced environment, but it makes time go by faster. Recommended for students!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
is okee, employees are very nice
Cashier and Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Ayr, ON25 March 2019
what gets me through teh day is my fellow coworkers.They are so nice and generous. I continue to stay at and support Foodland due to the people I work with,
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good staff boss was not an effective communicater
customer service- grocery clerk (Former Employee) –  Ridgetown, ON16 March 2019
Very busy when I used to work there. Amazing staff, still friends with many still. Pay was minimal and no benefits. Often had to work multiple peoples shifts. Good if you are a very quick worker.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and friendly work environment
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Buckhorn, ON14 March 2019
Staff and customers were regularly very friendly.
Good work was regularly rewarded.
All managers and staff had wonderful work ethic.
Everyone worked efficiently as a team player.
Pros
Wonderful work environment
Cons
Irregular hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very friendly environment
Deli Clerk/Bakery Clerk (Former Employee) –  Cookstown, ON11 March 2019
At Foodland of Ontario at Cookstown, you never feel that you are alone. The staff and management always are around to help you.

I am sorry.. English in not my first language and writing 150 is not as easy as you think.
Pros
Very safe and clean environment to work
Cons
Based on Foodland policy, they throw away all food, cans, left over to garbage bins while they could be used to feed homeless people
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment, easy to talk to management..
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Mattawa, ON11 March 2019
Over the 4 years at Foodland, the job has taught me many things such as: counting inventory, placing weekly orders, costumer service. Foodland is also able to train individuals on multiple store areas, like produce, bakery, grocery, and cashier.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Full Time Supervisor & Produce/Grocery Clerk (Former Employee) –  Etobicoke, ON4 March 2019
10/10 would recommend anyone to start working here when in high school and utilize it as a tool to grow as an individual. Taught me many valuable life skills.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun workplace with customers
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON27 February 2019
Worked under store policies and contributed to team success by filling in on cashier duties. Achieved good communication skills to satisfy the needs of customers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful Management
Baker (Former Employee) –  Oshawa, ON17 February 2019
The management was sadly not understanding of my medical needs. I am epileptic and had to call in sick for 3 days, sadly, due to having had seizures. If it were my choice I would have gone in every day I could have, but my doctor advised against this. Due to calling in sick, I was sadly let go without a write-up or a warning beforehand.
Pros
nothing
Cons
the management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Inconsistent
Deli/Salad Clerk (Current Employee) –  Peterborough, ON16 February 2019
Love the job but boss runs hot and cold. Hours cut severely..favouritism. No discounts or benefits. Schedule is for week ahead and is put up on Thursdays...Good luck planning other work etc.
Pros
Deli closes at decent time
Cons
Managemment
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Could be good job
Deli Clerk (Current Employee) –  Peterborough, ON6 February 2019
Good store, working deli interacting with regular customers is nice.
Shifts are given 3 days in advance, favoritism for shifts etc. People leave continually due to this I think. Seeking new work...
Pros
No work past 9
Cons
Poor management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They gave me a job, when no one else would.
Grocery Supervisor Clerk (Current Employee) –  Elliot Lake, ON5 February 2019
Been a huge pleasure being apart of the team.
Would probably still be seeking solid employment, due to my lack of education and lack of work experience since i moved to Ontario 6 years ago
Pros
Usually lots of hours to pick up, when im available
Cons
No benefits.. and fulltime is so hard to achieve
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great temporary job.
CASHIER (Current Employee) –  Greely, ON4 February 2019
It's not the most exciting work but it's a nice environment with straightforward chores. Great as a temporary way to make money.

Management could be better, the scheduling is always wrong.

Cashiers are often bored and left with no real chores to do or customers to serve, but they insist we "keep busy" to look professional.
Pros
50 cents off your coffee.
Cons
Hard to get a lot of hours.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management
Bakery Worker (Current Employee) –  Russell, ON3 February 2019
Management varies, understand what your manager is looking for dependent on the department. Cashiers are more customer service, bakery is more practical skills and the ability to follow instruction.
Pros
Good hours
Cons
Shifts vary greatly
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced, fun coworkers, customer service oriented
Deli Associate/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Haliburton, ON31 January 2019
standing at cash registers for hours is hard, especially when there are belligerent customers. Customers are not always right.
deli was a fun department. got to try new foods I otherwise never would have. enjoyed keeping department clean, checked expiry dates regularly.
Pros
coworkers great, discounts, friendly management
Cons
no benefits, stand for long hours in one spot
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
baker helper (Former Employee) –  Markdale, ON25 January 2019
i dint like it at al

i hate it

people were rude

i hated my manger

i hate the freezer

don't understand why i have to do this at all

i did like the break and the food
Pros
breaks
Cons
the job
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Foodland
Bakery/Deli Manager (Current Employee) –  Beaverton, ON22 January 2019
* Baked breads and buns
* Learned patience and tolerance with people
* People I work with are friendly and helpful
* Decorating the cakes
* Baking cookies
* Baking pastries
* Baking, then decorating the donuts
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Foodland. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 457 reviews
5134
4156
3111
230
126

Ratings by category

3.7Work/Life Balance
2.9Salary/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.5Culture